Originally posted by dumbdumb!:and as a student, i'm suppose to shake them by the hand and celebrate? lol.
i know it's a simple fact, i know it's a strategy to widen their profit margin.
but i want to hear them say it, instead of just saying "hi guys, we, the upper management, decide to stop provide refreshment. and nope, school fees aren't gonna drop"
i feel that at the very least, provide a reason.
the post wasnt' directed at you but at those who's opinions are not in line with mine.
n i for one would prefer to hear the brutal honesty than accept some half assed reason.
BTW.. not everyone kpkb about SIM is necessarilly not from that school.. hope that is objective enough and the talk is expensive enough for you. ![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:finally! someone who tries to walk in the student's shoes.
and no, i didn't get that, can explain further?
badzmaro post above you says it all. nth much to explain.
Originally posted by newcomer:talk so many da dao li for wat? can't u just see the simple fact that this is purely a business transaction between sim and her students? only thing is students got one thing lesser to gain.
eh.. nobody owes you anything until they or you have the black and white. you can only have verbal agreements with your close friends but sometimes they also might betray it.
it's true we are outside the issue and we don't have to pay a cent. But obviously we know what it's like and apparently you people aren't accepting the Black and White logic.
All business transactions have to be recorded somewhere. so if you people can't provide the evidence of Refreshments being part of the enrolment package, I suggest you can only buy your own food now..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:all i'm saying is, walk a mile in the afflicted man's shoes before critisizing?
i'm ok with cuddles you know? what he/she said is right, we can't do anything about it.
but she doesn't act like it's not a big deal, that i'm petty to be upset over a few hundred dollars which are now unaccounted for. blah blah.
no, sorry, this is a very flawed way of thinking
if the afflicted man got a strong reason, the rest can feel it in an objective manner, if and only if the afflicted man can communicate the reason strongly
again, ad hominem arguments are pointless
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:finally! someone who tries to walk in the student's shoes.
and no, i didn't get that, can explain further?
by this point, you only want people to agree with you
point proven
Originally posted by cuddles:eh.. nobody owes you anything until they or you have the black and white. you can only have verbal agreements with your close friends but sometimes they also might betray it.
it's true we are outside the issue and we don't have to pay a cent. But obviously we know what it's like and apparently you people aren't accepting the Black and White logic.
All business transactions have to be recorded somewhere. so if you people can't provide the evidence of Refreshments being part of the enrolment package, I suggest you can only buy your own food now..
eh wat is up wif u n ur black n white thing ah?
i am quite shocked
does SIM produced half past six students who couldnt argue their case in an objective convincing way?
from a biz perspective, i couldnt imagine taking up cases likes this to my management and kpkb that my management are not ground workers, therefore do not know my pain
omg, this is shameful for biz students
Originally posted by laurence82:thats only emotional, you need people agree with you, rather than telling you objectively, i am not really interested in that, as i am sure the rest are also not very interested in the topic in this way
by logic, if its not in black and what, they have provided you what you need as contracted
if you feel the fees are not worth it, then why study there? or why not taking it up to the management?
i dont understand the topic
issit wanting people to agree with you, collecting a few people to cry over it, or what?
oh, sure, state your views, but just before you post sweeping remarks about how petty we are over this issue, walk a mile first?
i mean, how can anyone agree that it's justified that sim takes away a priviledge without giving a reason why?
btw, i'm not sure you really understand why i'm annoyed at bold sweeping statements that seem to suggest that students, who are unhappy about this decision, is petty, and lame etc.
Hmmm...from what i gathered so far...i'd say that SIM is not obliged to provide refreshments, whether or not it was free or paid by the students (which there is no official proof) thats besides the point. Actually if you're really feeling its unfair treatment and its a matter to be questioned, shouldn't you be approaching the school directly for a reason?
Originally posted by laurence82:i am quite shocked
does SIM produced half past six students who couldnt argue their case in an objective convincing way?
from a biz perspective, i couldnt imagine taking up cases likes this to my management and kpkb that my management are not ground workers, therefore do not know my pain
omg, this is shameful for biz students
i'm not from business.
last time my university bills oso cost a bomb but i dun remember the university providing us with refreshments in between classes lolz
This is what happens when you pamper the students too much until they take for granted...
The money can be used to do more things, ie improve the campus facilities, for research purposes etc rather than spending in on food that the students can very well get themselves. No time to buy in between classes? Then bring your own food!
Originally posted by newcomer:
eh wat is up wif u n ur black n white thing ah?
I'm not against you all, but I'm stating a fact.
that time I start this new job, I was reading the job contract. the HR person expected me to just sign the contract.
Although u might look like a clown, sometimes it's good to read the prints before you sign anything.
universities are money making institutions. why would they care so much about the students whether they can cope or complaints about the withdrawal of food. the relationship can be seen as a business relationship the student pays school fees to study there end of the day when the student graduates, the relationship is ended. sim never force anybody to apply for their degree courses.
Originally posted by fairlady_xoxo:Hmmm...from what i gathered so far...i'd say that SIM is not obligated to provide refreshments, whether or not it was free or paid by the students (which there is no official proof) thats besides the point. Actually if you're really feeling its unfair treatment and its a matter to be questioned, shouldn't you be approaching the school directly for a reason?
yeah, wrote in their survey lor.
i'm not so much upset about the decision, i just want a reason for it. some sort of accountability and transparency.
if it's valid, may it be price hike or gst or smth, at least it's a reason, but we weren't told a reason why.
i'm more upset about sweeping statements by people who aren't affected by the decision at all. thus thinking it is ridiculous that the students are upset over an unaccounted decision
wtf? this is just one of the many small reasons we find to say "fuck you SIM, thank you very much" followed by a double middle finger. nothing more. need to perform like this is some kinda fucking debate or business presentation?
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:oh, sure, state your views, but just before you post sweeping remarks about how petty we are over this issue, walk a mile first?
i mean, how can anyone agree that it's justified that sim takes away a priviledge without giving a reason why?
btw, i'm not sure you really understand why i'm annoyed at bold sweeping statements that seem to suggest that students, who are unhappy about this decision, is petty, and lame etc.
nope
i walk on the side of objectivity
even the NUS, SMU and NTU students have the fair share of rising sch fees and not seeing the improvements they want
to side with you is walking against objectivity
sorry, i am not morally obliged to do so
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i'm not from business.
pfft
even if you are not biz student you will eventually work or run your own biz
pls dont behave like a small whiny kid
thanks
if somebody wants himself to be heard, he must present his case in an objective and calm manner. when emotions run in, people most likely will say you are being personal and question your motives and principles.
Originally posted by newcomer:wtf? this is just one of the many small reasons we find to say "fuck you SIM, thank you very much" followed by a double middle finger. nothing more. need to perform like this is some kinda fucking debate or business presentation?
its a simply 'sit down and think over it'
i am appalled that its not practised
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:yeah, wrote in their survey lor.
i'm not so much upset about the decision, i just want a reason for it. some sort of accountability and transparency.
if it's valid, may it be price hike or gst or smth, at least it's a reason, but we weren't told a reason why.
i'm more upset about sweeping statements by people who aren't affected by the decision at all. thus thinking it is ridiculous that the students are upset over an unaccounted decision
honestly, the price hike could be simply just getting a new and more expensive contractor to do up some of the facilities management around the school.. or even just intention of buying more courses to host in their school.
one time service aircon for your institution also quite a sum liao lo.. so big! :D
Originally posted by bryanw:if somebody wants himself to be heard, he must present his case in an objective and calm manner. when emotions run in, people most likely will say you are being personal and question your motives and principles.
precisement!
first, no action, only whining
second, refusal to look at the matter objectively, only want to hear opinions from those who are students
third, kpkb on online forum
shocking really
Originally posted by laurence82:nope
i walk on the side of objectivity
even the NUS, SMU and NTU students have the fair share of rising sch fees and not seeing the improvements they want
to side with you is walking against objectivity
sorry, i am not morally obliged to do so
so you agree that it's ok for them to make decisions without accounting to the stakeholders(we paid the fees, we have a stake)? no need to give reasons why certain decisions are made? no need for a certain degree of transparency?
hey, this is sgforums. wat's there to sit down n think abt other than saying fuck you sim in a sim trashing thread?
Originally posted by cuddles:honestly, the price hike could be simply just getting a new and more expensive contractor to do up some of the facilities management around the school.. or even just intention of buying more courses to host in their school.
one time service aircon for your institution also quite a sum liao lo.. so big! :D
then they could say so. as their reason wat. it's the "reason" that most ppl are looking for?