Originally posted by cuddles:to be honest, this issue and that issue is similar but hostels have been protected by black and white. and you pay for staying there etc..
while the SIM refreshment issue is not stated anywhere in black and white, technically, NTU's hostel thingy is arguable. the SIM food is not.
+1 while the SIM refreshment issue is not stated anywhere in black and white, technically, NTU's hostel thingy is arguable. the SIM food is not.
Originally posted by FirePig:
+1 while the SIM refreshment issue is not stated anywhere in black and white, technically, NTU's hostel thingy is arguable. the SIM food is not.
haha my point isn't really whether it is arguable, or black and white or stuff, it's more of, the issue is impt to the ppl who are most affected by it..
let me put forth another example.. say ninja vans in saf.. saf condones such practices and turns a blind eye to it, and let ppl going for range or stuff get abit of privilege, den one day saf suddenly restricts or totally ban and even arrest ninja van owners, den nobody come sell makan makan.. ppl going for range will kbkb, but other ppl will be saying no big deal..
to girls and ppl who don't know: ninja vans = vans which arrive during range to sell food like chicken rice, can drinks, wanton mee, tidbits to ppl going to range.. dun worry, it's perfectly NOT granted permission and the food hygiene standard is highly questionable lol..
complain to case la. if really not happy then quit school lor. go find 1 institute that provides free snacks but don educate u well.
anyway to be very rude to those studying in SIM, but sorry. from what i know almost any TOM, DICK and HARRY can go in and study. Not that i am saying that you cannot make it, but to me i think most of the people there are just passing time and when they get tired they will drop out.
so those complaining abt this issue are probably just there to take it easy and waste parents' money. those who are serious abt getting their study done there will not care.
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:anyway to be very rude to those studying in SIM, but sorry. from what i know almost any TOM, DICK and HARRY can go in and study. Not that i am saying that you cannot make it, but to me i think most of the people there are just passing time and when they get tired they will drop out.
so those complaining abt this issue are probably just there to take it easy and waste parents' money. those who are serious abt getting their study done there will not care.
woah, tts a very.. heavy judgement man.
also a very bold statement to make, as if you're so sure that students who are concerned abt their studies won't bother about their welfare. or that students who complain about minor issues don't care about their studies.
i suppose you goto work, just concerned about earning your paycheck, and it doesn't matter to you whether you get health benefits or leave or smth?
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:anyway to be very rude to those studying in SIM, but sorry. from what i know almost any TOM, DICK and HARRY can go in and study. Not that i am saying that you cannot make it, but to me i think most of the people there are just passing time and when they get tired they will drop out.
i guess this point will continue to remain as "ur thinking" and nothing else..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:woah, tts a very.. heavy judgement man.
also a very bold statement to make, as if you're so sure that students who are concerned abt their studies won't bother about their welfare. or that students who complain about minor issues don't care about their studies.
i suppose you goto work, just concerned about earning your paycheck, and it doesn't matter to you whether you get health benefits or leave or smth?
nope. it don matter if u get health benefits, or leave or something. my main aim is to work and get my paycheck. i get more pay but less benefits so i plan my own healthcare. holidays are my leaves. and my boss gives me off days when he feels like it.
so maybe students in SIM should start packing their own food. and if snacks are provided for meals WTH are the canteens for?
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i guess this point will continue to remain as "ur thinking" and nothing else..
BTW pleas read carefully, i DID NOT SAY ALL students of SIM.
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:nope. it don matter if u get health benefits, or leave or something. my main aim is to work and get my paycheck. i get more pay but less benefits so i plan my own healthcare. holidays are my leaves. and my boss gives me off days when he feels like it.
so maybe students in SIM should start packing their own food. and if snacks are provided for meals WTH are the canteens for?
if you say so. i'm sure that between your current job now (no leave, no health benefits) and another job which pays the same, but with these benefits, you'll stick to the same job right? after all, it makes more sense because you're going to have to waste effort to apply for the job etc.. and it doesn't matter to you anyway.
the main aim of studying is to get the degree. complete everything within the duration. anything else is secondary.
mostly becos i think is student abusing it.. eat but nv finish
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:
lol that's a great way to protect your backside while making a bold sweeping statement. ok, fine. MOST of the students then are good for nothing retards who only care about their welfare, because apparently that's the unwritten rule of life set by glasswall.
after all, not surprising ah, any tom, dick and harry also can get in.. so obviously MOST are just taking it for granted.
sure.. maybe there are one or two students out there taking this as a 2nd chance to study. the epitome of hardworking students. they should be applauded for rushing to class after work, forgoing dinner, until class ends at 10pm. sure, the break would be a great respite against the hunger pangs, but hey, that's not important right? we're here to study, not to satisfy our comfort.
don't have then don't have lor
i always skip the snacks cos i don't really like them, but the part-time students who always rush to class without dinner are going to suffer =\
edit: oh i forgot the cafe is going to extend operating hours =X
Originally posted by Cz:don't have then don't have lor
i always skip the snacks cos i don't really like them, but the part-time students who always rush to class without dinner are going to suffer =\
is it? the brownies nice ah. gonna miss it. =(
ok, fair enough. i still think SIM is obligated to give a reason la. there must be some kind of accountability.
Damn...I going to study there part time soon.
No food sure suffer..![]()
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:is it? the brownies nice ah. gonna miss it. =(
ok, fair enough. i still think SIM is obligated to give a reason la. there must be some kind of accountability.
i dun like! the only thing i like is the fluffy spongy chocolate fudge cake which is super messy to eat :P
there was once, there was once there was this ... u know the neighborhood cake shop kind of waffle? there was this waffle thing... and when i attempted to take a piece out, it was stuck to the adjacent piece and when i pulled at it, there was this... web-like sticky strands... the kind you see when you eat lor mai kai that's spoilt already =X
Originally posted by 4GlassWall:
thankyou, i read it thoroughly before replying.. u are entitled to ur thinking.. go ahead..
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:is it? the brownies nice ah. gonna miss it. =(
Then in that case, shoot the administration an email (I guess you already have), and wait for a response. Simple as that.
That STOMPer whining in an online forum will not get anything done. The only thing that happens is that people will have a bad view of SIM students. What will every non-SIM student think.... 'Wah.... they got refreshments for lectures? I never got refreshments at all leh!!! Like that also want to whine?!?!'
Hell, I'm inclined to think that way also. I'm just holding my tongue, because I know that not every SIM student will make such a big hoo-ha over this.
Like others have pointed out, unless if it's stated in black and white, refreshments are a privilege, not an entitlement. Sure, it'd be tactful of the SIM administration to explain their stance, but there are proper channels to get them to do so, and STOMP is one of the worst ways to do it.
Originally posted by Troy437:Damn...I going to study there part time soon.
No food sure suffer..
it's ok. you shouldn't think like that. comfort isn't as important as getting your degree. remember, why you studying. it's funny that some people think like a coin, either one side or the other side, you can't have the best of both. but hey, i'm just a young unlearned fool. maybe they know something i don't. shrugs
Originally posted by fudgester:Then in that case, shoot the administration an email (I guess you already have), and wait for a response. Simple as that.
That STOMPer whining in an online forum will not get anything done. The only thing that happens is that people will have a bad view of SIM students. What will every non-SIM student think.... 'Wah.... they got refreshments for lectures? I never got refreshments at all leh!!! Like that also want to whine?!?!'
Hell, I'm inclined to say that kind of comment as well. I'm just holding my tongue.
Like others have pointed out, unless if it's stated in black and white, refreshments are a privilege, not an entitlement. Sure, it'd be tactful of the SIM administration to explain their stance, but there are proper channels to get them to do so, and STOMP is one of the worst ways to do it.
lol, how would i know why she put into stomp? i guess she wanted to "blackmail" them into taking action? that's why anyone does anything in stomp, imo.
but i do notice that things get done quicker and with better sense of accountability when it's threatened to be blown out of proportion by stomp
send email, send letter.. but nothing gets done faster than when the whole world knows about the little molehill becoming a mountain.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:it's ok. you shouldn't think like that. comfort isn't as important as getting your degree. remember, why you studying. it's funny that some people think like a coin, either one side or the other side, you can't have the best of both. but hey, i'm just a young unlearned fool. maybe they know something i don't. shrugs
You are right.
Last time I studied part-time at Temasek Poly, they removed the food halfway during the course. I just recalled the go-to-class-with-empty-stomach feeling
can;t concentrate with a growling stomach
Originally posted by Cz:i dun like! the only thing i like is the fluffy spongy chocolate fudge cake which is super messy to eat :P
there was once, there was once there was this ... u know the neighborhood cake shop kind of waffle? there was this waffle thing... and when i attempted to take a piece out, it was stuck to the adjacent piece and when i pulled at it, there was this... web-like sticky strands... the kind you see when you eat lor mai kai that's spoilt already =X
fluffy sponge choclate sponge cake. i nv eat cake wan la. don't like. i like their chocolate muffin and sandwiches. but most impt.. is the tea and coffee.. precious ah.. like.. life's blood.
Originally posted by Troy437:
You are right.Last time I studied part-time at Temasek Poly, they removed the food halfway during the course. I just recalled the go-to-class-with-empty-stomach feeling
can;t concentrate with a growling stomach
no.. i'm wrong. apparently that's what everyone thinks wat. lol. i hope they decease the fees though. =/
fat chance though haha.
First of all, not all tom, dick n harry can make it in, even if they make in it, it is a funnel system. They may take in alot of students at once but only those few that really work hard make it alive and graduate. If you are so "qualified" and "great" prove it that you can come to SIM and study and get great results.
Regarding the refreshment issues. It makes no biggie a deal. Seriously only certain schools in SIM get these freebies. Do you know that some students get refreshments and some who study full time dun get refreshments, you don't see them making a big hoo ha about it.... Plus as a matter of fact there are students paying a hell load more of school fees and they dun get the refreshments. So just calm down. suggestion would be to write the the admin and you can come up with ideas or suggestions to improve this matter.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:lol, how would i know why she put into stomp? i guess she wanted to "blackmail" them into taking action? that's why anyone does anything in stomp, imo.
but i do notice that things get done quicker in stomp when it's threatened to be blown out of proportion.
send email, send letter.. but nothing gets done faster than when the whole world knows about the little molehill becoming a mountain.
Sure, things might go a bit faster if the whole world knows. But then again, now the whole world might not look too kindly upon SIM students, even if not all SIM students share the sentiments of that STOMPer.
And, if I may ask..... what was your purpose behind placing this STOMP article in sgforums?