I have enough of racism in Singapore. Too many incidents - pissing me off..
e.g.
1. a non-chinese comes for interview. when he was leaving, my colleague passed a remark "don't want leh.. eee.. non-chinese one"
2. neighbours making big hoo ha about an indian neighbour (and this with highlighting the word "indian" in their posts. even go as far as making comments such as, who would want to have an indian neighbour if they have the choice? when i complain about my chinese neighbor who is extremely anti-social in behavior (leaves rubbish at the refuse area floor, instead of throwing it into the chute), no one cares. all swarm to the poster with the unpleasant experience of having an indian neighbour (this is in their opinion, not mine)
3. when some smartass starts a topic flaming non-chinese in forums, moderators take long to shut down the thread, sometimes, not at all. but when the mud-slinging turns on the chinese, within a few posts the thread is shut down.
sigh.. feel so disappointed in the state of things in singapore. in the first place we should be preaching racial ACCEPTANCE, not racial TOLERANCE. because with TOLERANCE, it still means lack of understanding and unwillingness to udnerstand differences.
s'pore is a multi-racial society & we must be understanding towards each others race & don't make comments about them..
sad to say
singapore only has racial tolerance but not racial harmony
I agree with what you said in your last paragraph.
However there are people in these forums who stand up and defend minority groups when a racist thread is posted, and at least one threadstarter was reported to the police. The subsequent threads are usually a reaction to the former and that's why they get locked early.
The other two examples happen too regularly, sadly. Racism also takes root when people forget to focus on the rotten individuals and start crying "fucking Chinaman/ang moh/Paki/etc".
yeah...
racism is a a sad thing...
i dun think you have to take it too hard when someone pass remarks about you just becoz of your race...coz these kinds of things aren't worth it...most racist comments are just generalisation...
but you also have to admit that there are more mixed couples around. esp indian+ chinese.
their babies soo cute!
i want babies like that too.
=random=
As long as all live in harmony would be good
Last time malay neighbour oweis cook curry, cook this cook that and share
my downstair malay neighbour oweis sing karaoke, so we dun watch movie during that time to prevent conflict
i noe their timing is weekend afternoon
so i watch my movie after they sing karaoke, around 8+, so i watch from 8+ till midnight
although i also create a lot of noise, we still live in harmony
It is hard to say whether there is racial harmony in singapore, there is and there is not
racism can never be completely eradicated in a society. tink we're doing pretty well liao. look at america or elsewhere and u get the idea.
a friend of mine used to complain about how he can't stand the indian oil's smell. but guess what, his current gf is indian
Originally posted by Adventurer-K:racism can never be completely eradicated in a society. tink we're doing pretty well liao. look at america or elsewhere and u get the idea.
a friend of mine used to complain about how he can't stand the indian oil's smell. but guess what, his current gf is indian
ROFL. pwned.
hohoho...get out of your "own little world"...just because ur life is surrounded by racist people doesnt mean it's the whole of singapore... i saw a show on channel 8(特写) showing a neighbourhood being racial harmonious through gardening...
and of course, i think...in every kind of campaign similar to racial harmony(being environment friendly,etc) theres always the black sheep...cant be helped...
see below
Originally posted by loki_chaos:hohoho...get out of your "own little world"...just because ur life is surrounded by racist people doesnt mean it's the whole of singapore... i saw a show on channel 8(特写) showing a neighbourhood being racial harmonious through gardening...
and of course, i think...in every kind of campaign similar to racial harmony(being environment friendly,etc) theres always the black sheep...cant be helped...
O fcourse they'd show only the good things on tv, since singapore tv often tries so hard about being politically correct, and do you really think bad things get shown on tv?
when i was a schoolkid i used to think there's racial harmony in singapore. but then i realised, just because you don't have uprisings and strikes and riots doesn't mean there is racial harmony. most people (usually the majority) just grind their teeth and bear with whatever they don't like about minorities, but when an opportunities present themselves, they will not hesitate to speak bad about them. i had so enough of these people.
do you know once my colleagues even asked me if my husband smells just because he is of indian origin? if you have never been in that situation before, you would just think that racism is someone else's problem. well, it is not. tensions do run high a lot of times with such insensitive anc closed minds which are willing to learn anything outside of their own cultures and one day, trust me, the social fabric will be torn if things remain the same,.The thing is the majority usually feel racism is something that doesn't happen in that backyard, for a simple reason.. because they are not on the receiving end of it. they will always think places like US, Australia are worse, but are they? to have a really fair perception and balanced view, why not ask the minority in singapore whether they feel more accepted in their homeland or elsewhere?? then only you can get a fair answer.
Originally posted by Quinsy:but you also have to admit that there are more mixed couples around. esp indian+ chinese.
their babies soo cute!
i want babies like that too.
=random=
you can get into an interracial relationship if you want to :)
i think open minded people are able to see beauty beyond their own ethnic group.. those who cant? they're not worth going into a relationship with anyway.
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:As long as all live in harmony would be good
Last time malay neighbour oweis cook curry, cook this cook that and share
my downstair malay neighbour oweis sing karaoke, so we dun watch movie during that time to prevent conflicti noe their timing is weekend afternoon
so i watch my movie after they sing karaoke, around 8+, so i watch from 8+ till midnight
although i also create a lot of noise, we still live in harmony
It is hard to say whether there is racial harmony in singapore, there is and there is not
good on you and your neighbours ..
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:I agree with what you said in your last paragraph.
However there are people in these forums who stand up and defend minority groups when a racist thread is posted, and at least one threadstarter was reported to the police. The subsequent threads are usually a reaction to the former and that's why they get locked early.
The other two examples happen too regularly, sadly. Racism also takes root when people forget to focus on the rotten individuals and start crying "fucking Chinaman/ang moh/Paki/etc".
that was what i did not get when someone posted in renotalk "my INDIAN neighbour...".
Is there really a need to do this? when questioned, she defended herself by saying "how many people want to have indian negihbour.." that's really a racist fu(k
by the way Quinsy, this one's for you:

so long as there are 2 skin colors in this world now..there will be racisim..
and y TS face such problems is because s/he is in a country with the majority of the population being chinese.
in Msia, majority is malay, the chinese and indians get pick on too..
im not racsist..i jus dun like the human race.
Originally posted by domonkassyu:so long as there are 2 skin colors in this world now..there will be racisim..
and y TS face such problems is because s/he is in a country with the majority of the population being chinese.
in Msia, majority is malay, the chinese and indians get pick on too..
im not racsist..i jus dun like the human race.
haha...the humans race are a pitiful race...
damn...talking about race makes me think about her...lol...
yeah...i think racism is alive here, but people still practice tolerance here...
Originally posted by Deino:haha...the humans race are a pitiful race...
damn...talking about race makes me think about her...lol...
yeah...i think racism is alive here, but people still practice tolerance here...
yes indeed humans are pitiful..intelligent but without wisdom.
think about her??ooo hehe =p
racism is everywhere. easy to start. hard to end. people tolerate here bcuz they dare not mess with the law..if the law is jus tweaked a lil on the loose side..we can see much things happening.
stop spamming threads with that pic..![]()
hmm... come to think of it, humans can all be traced back to a common ancestor... Ie. we are all frm the same parents long long ago... we are different, but nt that different.
..... Easier said than done......
I once heard of this white guy who was super racist against blacks but one day he got to know this beautiful sexy black woman and eventually ended up marrying her. From this example I have come to understand that racism is a disease of the less well fucked.
Originally posted by whiskers:hmm... come to think of it, humans can all be traced back to a common ancestor... Ie. we are all frm the same parents long long ago... we are different, but nt that different.
..... Easier said than done......
hmm..common ancestor..u mean the monkeys like so many "brillant" scientists claimed or adam and steve? i meant eve..
Originally posted by foxwalk:do you know once my colleagues even asked me if my husband smells just because he is of indian origin? if you have never been in that situation before, you would just think that racism is someone else's problem. well, it is not. tensions do run high a lot of times with such insensitive anc closed minds which are willing to learn anything outside of their own cultures and one day, trust me, the social fabric will be torn if things remain the same,.The thing is the majority usually feel racism is something that doesn't happen in that backyard, for a simple reason.. because they are not on the receiving end of it. they will always think places like US, Australia are worse, but are they? to have a really fair perception and balanced view, why not ask the minority in singapore whether they feel more accepted in their homeland or elsewhere?? then only you can get a fair answer.
At least that is yr colleagues who asked. My relatives were all offering to introduce some good Chinese guys to me and telling me that Indian men are drunks and beat their wife
and that they are useless as husbands ![]()
I told them if that if they wanna stereotype does that mean that Chinese guys will cheat on their wife and gamble away the family income and drink themselves silly at the same time and then murder the entire family when the debtors come knocking on the door ![]()
Then they started talking about food and diet and what not. Sheez
Originally posted by domonkassyu:
hmm..common ancestor..u mean the monkeys like so many "brillant" scientists claimed or adam and steve? i meant eve..
I mean the Most recent common ancestor ...
adam and steve? gay couple .... hmmmm
i am not racist at all ![]()