If I remembered correctly, that one shop in Beach Road Army Market sells replicas and shooting accessories, from scopes to holsters.
The airsoft are sold only within their shooting club and maintained by the shooting club persons.
Since the club & the shop are operated by the same persons.......
I remember reading about people shipping these things in, they disassemble it and everything came perfectly except some spring which was confiscated by customs.
I saw cosplay pictures where the replica guns do not have the red tip. I'm quite sure in SG, replica 1:1 scale imitation firearms are ok as long as they do not fire any projectiles, no matter fast or slow velocity. But of course, it's still wise not to get their attention.
Btw this universal red tip to denote airsoft guns is not necessarily a positive thing. I heard in US, the criminals and gang members paint their real firearms with orange tips also to trick the cops into thinking that they are airsoft replicas
mrwonderful so free ah? go study lah
http://www.gopetition.com/petitions/legalize-airsoft-guns-in-singapore.html
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:If I remembered correctly, that one shop in Beach Road Army Market sells replicas and shooting accessories, from scopes to holsters.
The airsoft are sold only within their shooting club and maintained by the shooting club persons.
Since the club & the shop are operated by the same persons.......
Well, thats like what I said eariler:
Originally posted by 4Justice:More likely bought from a HK retailer at club levels, and then sold onto the members, which I don't really consider true retail..
Bought from HK retailer at club level in SG, then sold onto the members. Not true retail.
As for shooting accessories, no reason why those should be illegal, although it's interesting when you say they sell replicas too. What's the name of the shop? Sing Arms? And isn't there any regulations towards buying a replica firearm in singapore? In UK all RIF sales requires the buyer to provide an adequate defence, which means they have to show proof that they're 1) regular skirmishers, 2) valid theatrical needs or 3) MILPO.
Originally posted by mrwonderful:I saw cosplay pictures where the replica guns do not have the red tip. I'm quite sure in SG, replica 1:1 scale imitation firearms are ok as long as they do not fire any projectiles, no matter fast or slow velocity. But of course, it's still wise not to get their attention.
Btw this universal red tip to denote airsoft guns is not necessarily a positive thing. I heard in US, the criminals and gang members paint their real firearms with orange tips also to trick the cops into thinking that they are airsoft replicas
That is a very bad idea. Without an orange tip, instead of the police being cautious and checking your replica out, you might just get shot outright.
And honestly I'm not sure the law in Singapore allows you to bring a replica and walk around with it.
i've seen friends cosplay pictures where they bring a 1:1 replica mp5 for cosplay purposes. Maybe due to the circumstances, police also close one eye. Its obviously for cosplay anyway what.
mrwonderful so free ah? go study lah
yeah O levels coming up liao
Originally posted by mrwonderful:i've seen friends cosplay pictures where they bring a 1:1 replica mp5 for cosplay purposes. Maybe due to the circumstances, police also close one eye. Its obviously for cosplay anyway what.
hopefully. thing is, if the police want to find trouble it's easy also. best to protect yourself from such circumstances.
Even in UK where it is LEGAL to own RIFs and our police don't generally carry guns, we are damned careful not to show any RIF in public...
yeah, because generally Brits have reached a level of maturity and responsibility. Same case as in Japan, HK. However, Sporeans are nowhere near that level yet, maybe because the government pacifies them too much.
If the government dont like it, blanket ban, with hefty penalties if you break it. Thats the only model they know.
Originally posted by Agenda:I remember reading about people shipping these things in, they disassemble it and everything came perfectly except some spring which was confiscated by customs.
Where did u read it from?
Nope, I doubt its just the gahment that resulted in childish folks looking to feel cool for owning a weapon, be it replicas or real.
Most guys in Singapore, after going thru national service, does not wish for more exposure to guns, except to show off that he is cool or can beat the system.
Ask any females around, most of the girly girls will bbe doing the :Eh I dont like guns, its killer blah blah blah...
But come to a boy that can show off that he has a weappon at home, (replicas are shitz) and the girls might look up at the guy with awe (that stupid bimbo & protector shit)
That's silly. If I saw a guy with a gun showing it off, I'd be quite wary of him. In fact, if I know of someone owning a RIF at home in SG, I'd be thinking "you twat" instead of loking at him with awe. Last thing I want, if i was actually into guys, is a bf who might get into trouble with the law over something as pointless as penis-waving. I've always laughed long and hard at those guys who feel a need to compensate for something, whether it's thru cars or guns. Then promptly burst their ego by being better.
I mentioned it a long time ago else when I was in USA and was walking to a cinema when I encountered some kids suddenly running at the carpark.
I turned and found a young man, possibly 14 years old, holding a weapon much like those tv police does, both hands at v-shapr holding the weapon down.
My first reflex was to reach to my waist but there is nothing there.
I subsequently realised tht its a airsoft and that kid was using the airsoft to shoot at his slower fatter schoolmate for fun. One of the boys actually was hit somewhere below the eye.
I continued walking then but it took me a week to get over it. i regretted not throwing something at that boy or order them to stop.
But what is the possibility that the angmoh boy could hurt me worse? I kept thinking about it and still regreted I have not done anything to that big bully.
And if I did acquire a conceal carry in USA, would I have killed that boy because he most likely is too stupid to understand being shot by a small size asian female may not be a simple thing.
Folks without training to shoot have the tendency to romanticise about weapons, but its heck way too dangerous for those with the training to open fire and kill these kids.
That is just dangerous! The kid could have been blinded.
Thats why the VCRA was put in place here to restrict sales of RIFs except to people who can prove a genuine use for it:
1) Regular skirmishers
2) Reenactors
3) Theatre and film
4) MILPO
And it still prohibits sales of RIFs and IFs to under 18s. Any under 18 who is going to own one, will likely have to be gifted one from a responsible RIF owner (ie their parents)