but the impact must have been really massive for the girl to be flung out... was she?
Originally posted by Unknown_X:ferrari, heavy rain and poor visibility = heart attack? lol
No, I didn't aquaplane in the Ferrari.
Originally posted by yamizi:Speeding kills. Hope youngsters understand this and not wait till an accident to happen then realise this. 20yr old got car to drive should count his blessings liao, still chu stunt?
Actually its the sudden deceleration that kills =P
Originally posted by wonderamazement:but the impact must have been really massive for the girl to be flung out... was she?
Assuming an impact at 60km/h, lets do the math.
60km/h is 16.67 m/s
assuming deceleration is over 1 second, the deceleration = (16.67-0)/1
=16.67 m/s^2
We all know earth's gravitational pull is about 9.81m/s^2
so a deceleration experienced in a crash at 60km/h would be 16.67/9.81 = approx 1.7 times more than earth's gravity. Does it hurt when you fall down? If you have a pane of glass, and you fell onto it from a meter above, what are the odds that you WILL break and pass thru the glass at 1 standard gravity? Pretty high right? Imagine falling onto the glass at almost TWO times standard gravity... and thats only at a low speed of 60km/h!
So no, impact doesn't have to be massive for people to be flung out of cars. 50km/h impacts are actually deadlier than you think, it's just that cars have gotten so safe nowadays and seat belt laws are so strict that people survive 50km/h crashes thinking "thats a small impact". The truth is, no, its not.
wah sibeh technical. i failed my math. don't like that leh. i recalled, renault. but imagine inside a ferrari, i think most ppl will be more afraid to crash the ferrari than aquaplanning.
Originally posted by 4Justice:Actually its the sudden deceleration that kills =P
If you don't speed, then you don't need to decelerate suddenly at the bend.
Originally posted by yamizi:If you don't speed, then you don't need to decelerate suddenly at the bend.
I've taken many bends at speed, I didn't decelerate suddenly at the bend. =P
Originally posted by Unknown_X:wah sibeh technical. i failed my math. don't like that leh. i recalled, renault. but imagine inside a ferrari, i think most ppl will be more afraid to crash the ferrari than aquaplanning.
Paiseh la, but I'm just showing that an impact doesn't have to be as massive as most people think to kill.
That said, I've endured an approx 8.33G impact before during my circuit racing days.
I wasn't afraid of crashing the Ferrari because I was in control. When I aquaplaned in the renault, the moment it aquaplaned, I wasn't in control till the tyres gripped again, I just didn't panic that's all.
Originally posted by 4Justice:
I've taken many bends at speed, I didn't decelerate suddenly at the bend. =P
While you may have the skills to do it, it may not necessarily apply to others. Drive safe, at least this is what I learned in school.
If you like to take risk, you have just open up one more condition for accident to happen.
This is the 7th month, good luck =)
Originally posted by yamizi:While you may have the skills to do it, it may not necessarily apply to others. Drive safe, at least this is what I learned in school.
If you like to take risk, you have just open up one more condition for accident to happen.
This is the 7th month, good luck =)
I know. I mean on circuits la. Like I said, road not safe to play on. I have a friend who is a skilled driver, one night he came over to our flat (in UK) after buying his supra. Then we went for a drive and he as showing off, drifting everywhere...
Needless to say, he crashed. Caught out by a patch of tarmac with a different grip level. Luckily, he was skilled like I said, and controlled the crash so that we missed a couple of big trees.
I know. I mean on circuits la. Like I said, road not safe to play on. I have a friend who is a skilled driver, one night he came over to our flat (in UK) after buying his supra. Then we went for a drive and he as showing off, drifting everywhere...Needless to say, he crashed. Caught out by a patch of tarmac with a different grip level. Luckily, he was skilled like I said, and controlled the crash so that we missed a couple of big trees.
My personal experience is that I may be as safe as I can, but I cannot stop other people from been reckless. I can only exercise road-awareness.
I was riding my motorcycle on CTE and there was this car wanted to filter into my lane, he didn't check his blind spot, so I guess he forgot the 'look over shoulder', I saw his wing mirror coming in and I tried my best to evade, I still got hit, but I was fortunate enough not to have fell off from that impact.
So drive safe everyone, and for everyone else's sake, keep a lookout for other motorists (this means all road-users, not only bikers) as well.
Sigh poor thing...RIP =(
Originally posted by yamizi:My personal experience is that I may be as safe as I can, but I cannot stop other people from been reckless. I can only exercise road-awareness.
I was riding my motorcycle on CTE and there was this car wanted to filter into my lane, he didn't check his blind spot, so I guess he forgot the 'look over shoulder', I saw his wing mirror coming in and I tried my best to evade, I still got hit, but I was fortunate enough not to have fell off from that impact.
So drive safe everyone, and for everyone else's sake, keep a lookout for other motorists (this means all road-users, not only bikers) as well.
Orh! speaking of that, last night I almost got run over by a cab! I was crossing the road, and was on the divider bit where its marked by chevrons, and this bloody cab wanted to cut across the chevrons. Worse still I was in my black CQB overalls which were meant to make me hard to see and I'm damn lucky he saw me at the last minute and managed to slow down and avoid me. I was not quite sure which way to jump since he served one way then the other. Geez. He choing the corner so fast and want to cut road divider somemore. >=(
R.I.P.
EG6 got sunlight roof?
Originally posted by wonderamazement:EG6 got sunlight roof?
Ownself cut one. Circular saws are your friends!
Originally posted by 4Justice:Orh! speaking of that, last night I almost got run over by a cab! I was crossing the road, and was on the divider bit where its marked by chevrons, and this bloody cab wanted to cut across the chevrons. Worse still I was in my black CQB overalls which were meant to make me hard to see and I'm damn lucky he saw me at the last minute and managed to slow down and avoid me. I was not quite sure which way to jump since he served one way then the other. Geez. He choing the corner so fast and want to cut road divider somemore. >=(
What's CQB?
Originally posted by yamizi:
What's CQB?
Close Quarter Battle
Why on earth you wearing that on the street?
lol off-duty SOF trooper. ![]()
Paiseh la, but I'm just showing that an impact doesn't have to be as massive as most people think to kill.That said, I've endured an approx 8.33G impact before during my circuit racing days.
I wasn't afraid of crashing the Ferrari because I was in control. When I aquaplaned in the renault, the moment it aquaplaned, I wasn't in control till the tyres gripped again, I just didn't panic that's all.
haha chill. im kidding man. u remind me of an old forumnite. dunno disappear to where liao. anyone here remembers heng@ or @heng?
Originally posted by yamizi:Why on earth you wearing that on the street?
Going home from CQB training.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
haha chill. im kidding man. u remind me of an old forumnite. dunno disappear to where liao. anyone here remembers heng@ or @heng?
Really? How do I remind you of him or her? Might be my long lost twin lol
the speed is damn ridiculous and funny
60kmh will skid so much meh
and also, the keanboon is this izzit?

taken from http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/showthread.php?t=2042129
and 1 more thing, if the victim is not a pretty girl, would this thread go up to 7 pages+?
or will it be just 1 or 2 pages?
the irony