Originally posted by novelltie:i have no idea, she just accused me of not giving her a red packet. i do not know if all the red packets are labelled, she just say that all labelled... i just want to ask if it's a common practice.
she joking with you isit?
sadly no, she wasn't joking... she was dead serious... i won't be so upset if she was joking... knew her for almost 7 years
Originally posted by novelltie:sadly no, she wasn't joking... she was dead serious... i won't be so upset if she was joking... knew her for almost 7 years
they forget it... she is money minded.. and surly will dumb u one side and dont' want to know you once she is either going to a higer society, or you are getting poorer
this kind of friends i rather not have.. just 1 ang pow want cry father cry mother.
want people to give ang pow then might as well don't give wedding invitation..
This kind of friend dont want also can .
Originally posted by novelltie:i need a honest opinion and feedback... i'm 27 this year and chinese
when you guys attend a chinese wedding, do you label your names on the red packets? i mean like normally when you arrive, you'll go to the reception area, sign in and drop your red packets into those collection boxes, do you actually label your names at the back of the red packets?
no one actually taught me to do that... but i was questioned by my friend who got married and she accused me of not giving a red packet for her wedding banquet... she said she searched the boxes but didn't found my name and she had difficulties answering to her husband who was disappointed that one of her friends turned up without a red packet. she asked if i labelled my red packet and i was quite surprised... i said no and i told her that no one ever taught me to label my name, even my mum didn't taught me that...
she also said that it's not the money part but as a significance of congratulation... i did include a photoframe which i gave her during the wedding dinner but she said she was disappointed that i gave her that only... she also mentioned that the wedding dinner was very expensive and asked for my understanding. (it was at Raffles Hotel and i did dropped in a red packet without my name labelled behind plus the photoframe)
then she claimed that all her guests labelled their red packets so next time, when my friend attends their weddings, she will know how much to put inside the "ang pow".
i would like to ask if it's a practice to label your red packets for weddings... cos' i was not taught so...
Just give her another serve of the money in your red packet then, if that money is all that she's after, then that amount of money is all that she's worth.
She's chasing after all those money for what? She want to highlight her pubic hairs GOLD is it?
i think its a good practice to write the name..... down in the future? ;D
dont make the same mistake twice.
She held her wedding at high class hotel is her biz, cannot say her wed is expensive and ask for understanding.. Wedding dinner is just for celebration. If she wants to make it grand, she must prepare to fork out more $$ and not pass the cost to the guests.
Like that next time u tell her u will be holding ur wedding at outerspace, make sure she bao a super big ang bao to cover the expenses...![]()
IMO, she is super $$ face, vain and totally no basic manners. Where got ppl ask this type of question 1...
Originally posted by novelltie:sadly no, she wasn't joking... she was dead serious... i won't be so upset if she was joking... knew her for almost 7 years
then tell her straight that u DID give her hong pao... which is unnamed...
It's all about the money.
get another friend.... ![]()
i usually will put name lah... I think sometimes the money (or part of it) goes to the parents of the couple. So they want to know if the money should go to the groom's side or the bride's side. But then hor... if the bride's guests give more money then the groom will be very lak sei right? ![]()
I usually put name.... Anyways i give ang bao according to
Location & How well i know the person/couple
hmm, just tell her your hongbaos design lor.
surely, it should be one of the banks/etc ones and check for that lor.
even though, there are many, it is still feasible to check if they wanted to.
but then, it is pass lor, just maybe during their baby shower or etc, give them something and by hand lor.
how many of the hongbaos got name which one don't have name? isnt it easy to see? didn't you just tell her what design is your hongbao or something? don't they have a checklist or something? i oso don't know got label my hongbaos or not de...moral of the story is to hand to the person personally?
Originally posted by novelltie:i need a honest opinion and feedback... i'm 27 this year and chinese
when you guys attend a chinese wedding, do you label your names on the red packets? i mean like normally when you arrive, you'll go to the reception area, sign in and drop your red packets into those collection boxes, do you actually label your names at the back of the red packets?
no one actually taught me to do that... but i was questioned by my friend who got married and she accused me of not giving a red packet for her wedding banquet... she said she searched the boxes but didn't found my name and she had difficulties answering to her husband who was disappointed that one of her friends turned up without a red packet. she asked if i labelled my red packet and i was quite surprised... i said no and i told her that no one ever taught me to label my name, even my mum didn't taught me that...
she also said that it's not the money part but as a significance of congratulation... i did include a photoframe which i gave her during the wedding dinner but she said she was disappointed that i gave her that only... she also mentioned that the wedding dinner was very expensive and asked for my understanding. (it was at Raffles Hotel and i did dropped in a red packet without my name labelled behind plus the photoframe)
then she claimed that all her guests labelled their red packets so next time, when my friend attends their weddings, she will know how much to put inside the "ang pow".
i would like to ask if it's a practice to label your red packets for weddings... cos' i was not taught so...
Your friend is just being anal, a typical Singaporean kind of attitude. If you really invite people to your wedding, even they don't give any ang pow, by right you cannot do anything also what, you invite them, not asking them to come and eat what they pay. That's the difference.
Your friend does not have the sincerity to invite you. Its so meaningless when they invite you to their wedding just hoping you'll give them ang pows. I thought ang pows should be given from the heart and not upon request?
I do have a similar occasion.
While in NS, my platoon sergeant invited the whole company to his wedding dinner. But months before the dinner, he requested to collect part of the ang pow money from us. And he really go to each bunk to collect $40 from his men, joting down the names of those already made the "1st payment" in a small notebook!
And he said that those who had made the "1st payment", need to given another $20 on the actual day as a full payment. Which makes it $60 in total. And those already given $60 in "1st payment", can give a few more dollars on the actual day.
He claimed that he needed money to pay for his wedding down payment!
Wah, this kind of people ah... made his wedding truly meaningless!
As for me, i just gave him $40 and did not attend his wedding cos i was clearing ORD leave.
So people nowadays hold wedding dinner to earn money? They are just being anal. Holding a wedding dinner is to share the joy, not to have a free meal or earn some profits.
If i hold a house party, is it ethical of me to collect entrance fee?
Zzzz.
Time to get a new friend.
Originally posted by Hawk Eye:
Your friend does not have the sincerity to invite you. Its so meaningless when they invite you to their wedding just hoping you'll give them ang pows. I thought ang pows should be given from the heart and not upon request?
I do have a similar occasion.
While in NS, my platoon sergeant invited the whole company to his wedding dinner. But months before the dinner, he requested to collect part of the ang pow money from us. And he really go to each bunk to collect $40 from his men, joting down the names of those already made the "1st payment" in a small notebook!
And he said that those who had made the "1st payment", need to given another $20 on the actual day as a full payment. Which makes it $60 in total. And those already given $60 in "1st payment", can give a few more dollars on the actual day.
He claimed that he needed money to pay for his wedding down payment!
Wah, this kind of people ah... made his wedding truly meaningless!
As for me, i just gave him $40 and did not attend his wedding cos i was clearing ORD leave.
Ur sergeant is a loser.
Originally posted by motoway:
Ur sergeant is a loser.
X2
Originally posted by motoway:
Ur sergeant is a loser.
I wld have report the case to OC. Don't even need to give a single cent.
Hmm. . . What is the mindset with people nowadays or this custom pratices been set back in the older days? Can anyone clarify me with this?
Couples holding a wedding should not be expecting red packets in
return. It should be done with sincerity. It is their own wedding
afterall. All the invitations were to share the joy and happiness,
making the whole occassion more memorable and grander. If you won't be
able to afford it, don't do it in the first place. Register at ROM and
hold 2 tables at kopitiam.![]()
Anyway, you should count this as your blessing. 7 years of friendship and nothing futher than that. ![]()
true... ever since that incident, i've not spoken to her... also don't know what to say to her... like between us no meaning liao...
noob leh u.
dis is common sense wat.
juz like u gib bei gim lui oso muz write name de.
papa got say before 请客 canot expect to earn ppl's $$$ de.
but if we go weddin dinner, we shud, automatically, pao more than enuff oso.
come on lah...this common sense to label ur red packet...unless u put $10 inside lah....then u pai seh to put ur name.....and she suspect u the one who give that red packet mah......no wonder she get mad lah....
my frd last time one table more than 1k.
den duno who pao the newspaper inside the ang pao.
i told daddy & he said nvm coz sum ppl no $$$ but gib u red paper for gd luck.
Originally posted by Dennee:Hmm. . . What is the mindset with people nowadays or this custom pratices been set back in the older days? Can anyone clarify me with this?
Couples holding a wedding should not be expecting red packets in return. It should be done with sincerity. It is their own wedding afterall. All the invitations were to share the joy and happiness, making the whole occassion more memorable and grander. If you won't be able to afford it, don't do it in the first place. Register at ROM and hold 2 tables at kopitiam.
Anyway, you should count this as your blessing. 7 years of friendship and nothing futher than that.
There should be red packets for giving something red represents giving them good luck. However, it's the amount of monie that in the red packets that matter now.
Nowadays it has evolved into unwritten rule, give the monie according to hotel/restaurant that the wedding dinner is held. 'cos on the hind sight, you won't wish to have your relatives/friends/colleagues to lose monie ma.