Originally posted by novelltie:i need a honest opinion and feedback... i'm 27 this year and chinese
when you guys attend a chinese wedding, do you label your names on the red packets? i mean like normally when you arrive, you'll go to the reception area, sign in and drop your red packets into those collection boxes, do you actually label your names at the back of the red packets?
no one actually taught me to do that... but i was questioned by my friend who got married and she accused me of not giving a red packet for her wedding banquet... she said she searched the boxes but didn't found my name and she had difficulties answering to her husband who was disappointed that one of her friends turned up without a red packet. she asked if i labelled my red packet and i was quite surprised... i said no and i told her that no one ever taught me to label my name, even my mum didn't taught me that...
she also said that it's not the money part but as a significance of congratulation... i did include a photoframe which i gave her during the wedding dinner but she said she was disappointed that i gave her that only... she also mentioned that the wedding dinner was very expensive and asked for my understanding. (it was at Raffles Hotel and i did dropped in a red packet without my name labelled behind plus the photoframe)
then she claimed that all her guests labelled their red packets so next time, when my friend attends their weddings, she will know how much to put inside the "ang pow".
i would like to ask if it's a practice to label your red packets for weddings... cos' i was not taught so...
I do...but its more for the host's "accounting" purposes than my future potential benefits....its not as if I go way over the market rate...I just try to match the rate that's all.
time 4 the impt qns!
1) u pao hw much?
2) when & where was the dinner?
3) wat brand & hw much was the fotoframe?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:time 4 the impt qns!
1) u pao hw much?
2) when & where was the dinner?
3) wat brand & hw much was the fotoframe?
1) u pao hw much? - $200
2) when & where was the dinner? - July 12, Raffles Hotel Ballroom
3) wat brand & hw much was the fotoframe? - Brand, i don't know. bought it at Raffles City, Cards N Such. price should be $29.90, my wife bought it.
ur 200 bucks is for 2 person ah?
yes
den ur ang pao too small le leh.
then how much should i put inside?
You want to sarbo your friend?
Put $10 in the ang pow and write down her name. ![]()
hahaha... nice one...
Originally posted by novelltie:i need a honest opinion and feedback... i'm 27 this year and chinese
when you guys attend a chinese wedding, do you label your names on the red packets? i mean like normally when you arrive, you'll go to the reception area, sign in and drop your red packets into those collection boxes, do you actually label your names at the back of the red packets?
no one actually taught me to do that... but i was questioned by my friend who got married and she accused me of not giving a red packet for her wedding banquet... she said she searched the boxes but didn't found my name and she had difficulties answering to her husband who was disappointed that one of her friends turned up without a red packet. she asked if i labelled my red packet and i was quite surprised... i said no and i told her that no one ever taught me to label my name, even my mum didn't taught me that...
she also said that it's not the money part but as a significance of congratulation... i did include a photoframe which i gave her during the wedding dinner but she said she was disappointed that i gave her that only... she also mentioned that the wedding dinner was very expensive and asked for my understanding. (it was at Raffles Hotel and i did dropped in a red packet without my name labelled behind plus the photoframe)
then she claimed that all her guests labelled their red packets so next time, when my friend attends their weddings, she will know how much to put inside the "ang pow".
i would like to ask if it's a practice to label your red packets for weddings... cos' i was not taught so...
Aiyoh, what a superficial and accusatory friend you have. I will be so ashame to associate with such little people if I were you. Anyway as someone above say if everybody labled theirs then the one that has no lable has to belong to you right? Unless the husband was dishonest and pocket it without telling her. And then to tell you off that the wedding was expensive? What the f..k! No one ask her to hold at such high end establishment and expect every guests to suffer because of her spendthrift way. If I were you I will disassociate myself with such ass. Such people not worth calling friends. ![]()
Anyway whenever I go for wedding dinners, I make sure to hand it personally to the bride or groom.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:den ur ang pao too small le leh.
Hello Kitty says my red packet too small...
Originally posted by novelltie:
Hello Kitty says my red packet too small...
red packet small never mind, money enough inside ok liao
these type of fren can throw away
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:ur 200 bucks is for 2 person ah?
Not small la. Pretty reasonable what no?
That is the price my papa pow for not so close relative though.
Originally posted by novelltie:
1) u pao hw much? - $200
2) when & where was the dinner? - July 12, Raffles Hotel Ballroom
3) wat brand & hw much was the fotoframe? - Brand, i don't know. bought it at Raffles City, Cards N Such. price should be $29.90, my wife bought it.
Considered alot already leh. . . reasonable also. . . nabei. . .
I think next time I would put cum inside for them to sell to sperm bank. ![]()
of coz small lah!
cover ur pax oso nt enuff ah!
then how much should i put inside the red packet?
Originally posted by novelltie:then how much should i put inside the red packet?
4* and above:
for 2 person:
colleague/close friend: $268
superiors: $288
that much?
then seriously, i would have chosen not to go... so expensive. $400 for 2 and we aren't even that close. just saw her once last year and this year once for her wedding, that's all... twice in 2 years.
Nope. Give too much and you're too loaded. Give too little and you're too miserly. Why bother with unnecessary trivalties?
Don't give red packets. Red packets are for seniors and aunties to give lor. You'e 27. buy them a really cool, tasteful gift and save the dilemma.
Originally posted by novelltie:that much?
then seriously, i would have chosen not to go... so expensive. $400 for 2 and we aren't even that close. just saw her once last year and this year once for her wedding, that's all... twice in 2 years.
then say... to her... "u r just an acquaintance to me."
acquaintance: no need to bao so much so quoted above.
usually, the bride just want to make up for the no. of tables for the bride's side. or else lose face.
tolong ah.
dun go gib 挡路 & cheep gifts.
one person mabbe 120, 2 mabbe 250 bah.
anyway, i've learnt my lesson. i will label my red packets in the future and if they hold it at expensive hotels or restaurants and i can't afford $250 for that one dinner, i'll probably not go... save my money and face (é�¢å�)
wat the...
u can pao 200.
but u canot afford 250.
u dis kind so many grouses, who invite u oso suay.
pls hor.
dun say no one tell u ah.
dun go oso muz pao agar 60 per pax de hor.