21 years is my entire life so far. I'll be spending the rest of my time in Singapore from now on so I'd like to know more.
So according to cuddles, Ah Bengs are gangsters who are hostile?
21 years is my entire life so far. I'll be spending the rest of my time in Singapore from now on so I'd like to know more.
So according to cuddles, Ah Bengs are gangsters who are hostile? Why is
So according to cuddles, Ah Bengs are gangsters who are hostile? Why is it
Why is it that people say certain areas are filled with Ah Bengs? I don't see that many fights in Singapore.
Sorry for the duplicate posts.
Originally posted by Sydney:Why is it that people say certain areas are filled with Ah Bengs? I don't see that many fights in Singapore.
Sorry for the duplicate posts.
oh yes.. the govt should put up signs stating
"warning: fight prone area"
or a general map stating and labelling
"hostile zones: watch where you're going"
wherever you're from, all countries have their own fair share of the underworld la.. but sg wise, they don't wear uniform to tell you..
Ah bengs dun usually fights. They r more vocal than verbal. ![]()
no, hostile ah bengs who shout "stare what stare" or "yo ar yo" are nothing more than oxygen thieves
Thanks. Cuddles has given me a totally different meaning to the term as what i have understood before.
I was always under the impression that Ah Bengs are identified by the places they hangout/the clothes they wear/the way they speak. For example, I was driving along the CTE the other night and a Subaru sped past. Immediately my friend said "wah, ah beng car"
Or a group of teenagers squatting down and smoking outside cineleisure and speaking hokkien vulgarities. "typical ah beng"
I just never knew why.
Originally posted by Sydney:Thanks. Cuddles has given me a totally different meaning to the term as what i have understood before.
I was always under the impression that Ah Bengs are identified by the places they hangout/the clothes they wear/the way they speak. For example, I was driving along the CTE the other night and a Subaru sped past. Immediately my friend said "wah, ah beng car"
Or a group of teenagers squatting down and smoking outside cineleisure and speaking hokkien vulgarities. "typical ah beng"
I just never knew why.
nowadays the term "ah beng" is slapped onto anybody with bad, rude or hostile behavior..
it doesn't necessary means the person is..
Apologies; I just can't help it; had an 'urge' to reply to this thread.
Firstly, Ah Beng and Ah Lian is jus a generalised term given to guys and gals. Different individuals have different definitions of these terms.
In a way, generally, it just simply indicates one who tend to act differently from us.
Take for e.g., a girl may be of demure and studious type, thus when she sees another girl smoking and with outrageous dressing, she may term this girl as Ah Lian.
But the same so-called Ah Lian when viewed by another person who dresses the same, and does similar things, may not be termed as Ah Lian at all; she could be seen as being 'normal'.
The same situation goes for Ah Beng.
This can be adapted into the term 'sexy' as well. For conservative people, a spagetti-strap = sexy, but to most teenagers it's jus simple and normal dressing.
Secondly, you were from the top pri/sec schools in singapore before furthering ur studies overseas? And you said you spent 4 years or less in Singapore in your entire life?
Hrmm.. Pri = 6 yrs, Sec = 4 yrs, total 10 years.
Unless you are an extremely smart person to complete within 4 years or less in pri cum sec, else I don't really see the 'numbers linkage'. If you really did complete a 10 yrs course in 4 yrs, you would have obtained a MBA or even a PHD before the age of 15.
Thirdly, you don't need to specifically indicate that you are from the top schools, what you wrote, kind of gave an impression that there is a possibility that it's cos u are from the top schools, where it's perceived to have no 'Bengs' and 'Lians' thus leading to the possibility of you not understanding these terms.
*No offence*, jus some thots, whatever our background may be, be humble and view each individual as being 'positive', there's no particular necessity to know the definition of 'Bengs' and 'Lians', sometimes knowing more will just make your eyes more 'coloured' than before.
Cheers!
Used to be common to see ah bengs and ah lians around. Nowadays, seems they are coming to extinct soon.
Fireice did ask a gd qus, which sec sch u are from..cos some sec sch hv high rate of bengs,lians...For example: West side goy well know Yuhua sec/Boon Lay sec/Yuan Qing sec/Hongkah Sec,Shu Qun Sec/Pioneer Sec...well know in gangsterisum, ambush ppl..fighting...& always got the Jeffery Ow come sch to gv talks bout gangster..& bring some "potential student" to visit jail...
Its sometimes is also gd if u hv all Good ppl as your friends, cos all will strive for the best for the rest of the life...if u know wat i mean.
If u are 21, tat means u born @1987...let say for a period of 10 years 1997, there are still quite alot of bengs.lians,gangster..BUT u only 10 years old, so.. u might not really get into contact with them...furthermore, if should be in a well to do family, so parents might be abit strick towards you.Its for your own good too.So if u now 21, say 4 years(if i remember correct) u at age of 17 go overseas...you at age of 17 is year bout 2004... the gangsterrisum already die off liao.. can never really see real gangster..which is why i understand why u not so sure how bengz/lians are like.
On how to define them is very subjective...for eg: some regards ppl as a ahbeng, smoke at sec 1, drop out of sch at sec 3,then go in prison/remand prison, having tattoos at a younge age during 90s(now NOT really, some i see bout age 17 got tattoo, but speak fluent english,eat at Billy Bomber)its totally different from the pass bengs..
In 90s, go out die die hv to wear"versace"moschino,roccobarroco"mcm" etc...head to toe cost more then SGD$1k, but wallet inside less then $100-$200...also mostly speck hokkien..wid valgaruities.
Now, old timers all hv to fend for themself,work,find money.So hard to see them act gangster during workint time...
As for now, hard to see real gangster liao.but you can see them at Dragonfly, alot of them go there to relax.(a disco,you can visit it when you back in SG)
EDITED: After seeing again then know so u now age 21, BUT only spend 4 years in sg...it hard to relate to you how ah beng/ lians by typing here to describe to you. Best whn you come back, see for yourself & i believe most of what was typed here all join up = beng/lian.
Originally posted by Sydney:This might be a stupid question. I used to be from one of the top primary/secondary schools in Singapore before I left the country to study. Among my circle of friends, there are no Ah Bengs or Ah Lians.
Originally posted by Sydney:
I am (Singaporean), but my entire life i've not spent more than 4 years in Singapore
Originally posted by HelloKittyFan:Apologies; I just can't help it; had an 'urge' to reply to this thread.
Firstly, Ah Beng and Ah Lian is jus a generalised term given to guys and gals. Different individuals have different definitions of these terms.
In a way, generally, it just simply indicates one who tend to act differently from us.
Take for e.g., a girl may be of demure and studious type, thus when she sees another girl smoking and with outrageous dressing, she may term this girl as Ah Lian.
But the same so-called Ah Lian when viewed by another person who dresses the same, and does similar things, may not be termed as Ah Lian at all; she could be seen as being 'normal'.
The same situation goes for Ah Beng.
This can be adapted into the term 'sexy' as well. For conservative people, a spagetti-strap = sexy, but to most teenagers it's jus simple and normal dressing.
Secondly, you were from the top pri/sec schools in singapore before furthering ur studies overseas? And you said you spent 4 years or less in Singapore in your entire life?
Hrmm.. Pri = 6 yrs, Sec = 4 yrs, total 10 years.
Unless you are an extremely smart person to complete within 4 years or less in pri cum sec, else I don't really see the 'numbers linkage'. If you really did complete a 10 yrs course in 4 yrs, you would have obtained a MBA or even a PHD before the age of 15.
Thirdly, you don't need to specifically indicate that you are from the top schools, what you wrote, kind of gave an impression that there is a possibility that it's cos u are from the top schools, where it's perceived to have no 'Bengs' and 'Lians' thus leading to the possibility of you not understanding these terms.
*No offence*, jus some thots, whatever our background may be, be humble and view each individual as being 'positive', there's no particular necessity to know the definition of 'Bengs' and 'Lians', sometimes knowing more will just make your eyes more 'coloured' than before.
Cheers!

Nicely said, that should keep the troll at bay.
Originally posted by vIn.Warrior:
Haha. Owned =]
I am waiting for TS reply .
Spent less then 4 years can complete PSLE as well as O level ...
maybe they have names like beng seng, beng huat or lian huay
To HelloKittyFan:
I didn't complete Primary cum sec in 4 years. I was born in Singapre, grew up in Hong Kong, came back to Singapore when I was primary 5, and left for Australia at the end of sec 2.
Pri 5 + Pri 6 + Sec 1 + Sec 2 = 4 years.
My apologies for commenting that I was from a top school. I see how there might be a hint of discrimination there. If anyone feels offended, I'm sorry and I take my words back. I do view others positively, and I don't see anything wrong with being an Ah Beng or Ah Lian. I just wanted to find out what defines one as I didn't really know.
I do now. Thanks for the replies.
Originally posted by Unknown_X:
hmm... to simplify it...
Ah Bengs = hooligans/gangsters
Ah Lians = Female hooligans/gangsters![]()
Ah bengs and Ah lians are anything but becoming extinct.
Well, as Mangekyou_Sharingan said, hooligans.
Or Singapore's watered-down version of the Italian Mafia. (Just w/o the expensive suits, cars, weapons and organized crime!)
summary: they are oxygen thieves
Originally posted by thehappybunny:summary: they are oxygen thieves
agree. corner them with more ppl and u win already.
if your name has a "beng" in it, people may call you "ah beng"
e.g. "tan siao kow" may be refered to as "ah kow" by acquaintance.
same for ah lian
Even pple who have been staying in ivory towers all their lives know what ah bengs and lians are like. C'mon.