different countries got diff names. in US is hobo. in HK is gu huo zai. so is possible people don't know about ah beng
Ah Bengs and Ah Lians make up of mostly teens over here.
They fight over small issues like staring incidents. They are very "powerful" when they are in a group. But when they are alone, they are like nothing. When police approach them, all run away.
Thats my opinion of them btw.
Originally posted by cuddles:
eh.. this is the best way to avoid recognising wrong pple for ah beng.. would it be better if he go into an arcade and ask someone while playing his basketball game..."eh you ah beng?"
i've got a better one.
just go around shopping centre singing gang cheers. and challenge ppl to fights.
those who respond, are ah bengs lor, those who call for backup, means you have gaurantee chop stamp ah beng
Originally posted by Sydney:For example, I was driving along the CTE the other night and a Subaru sped past. Immediately my friend said "wah, ah beng car"
I LOL at this. Subaru = Ah Beng Car? Please lah it's the driver not the car. No matter Ah Beng drive what car, Subaru, Toyota, Mercedes, if he truly ah beng he will drive like one, regardless of the car he is driving.
i ah beng, got prob?
asgm?
wah fierce. but really, these 2 places AMK and bishan, alot alot alot beng. can see very clearly one, hang out in big group, funny hairstyle, tattos, smoking, u know is one liao (: often meet them (:
What I can say is Real Ah Bengs and Ah Lians are getting extinct. However, there is a sign of growing Ah Beng and Ah Lian wannabes.
why suddenly clones began to pop up
ah beng ah lian clones ah?
For your information, I am not a clone. *okay this is what a typical clone would say*
I'm just new to this forum.
Instead of claiming me as a clone, why don't you just welcome with open arms.
Welcome. with open arms.
haven't posted since 06, eh?
ah beng = male look like man.. but a child inside
ah lian = female that shout vulgarites with no shame
Originally posted by trifynity:For your information, I am not a clone. *okay this is what a typical clone would say*
I'm just new to this forum.
Instead of claiming me as a clone, why don't you just welcome with open arms.
dec 2006 lol.. u older then me
Originally posted by youyayu:ah beng = male look like man.. but a child inside
ah lian = female that shout vulgarites with no shame
Lol yes, very true.
Originally posted by bo liao:Fireice did ask a gd qus, which sec sch u are from..cos some sec sch hv high rate of bengs,lians...For example: West side goy well know Yuhua sec/Boon Lay sec/Yuan Qing sec/Hongkah Sec,Shu Qun Sec/Pioneer Sec...well know in gangsterisum, ambush ppl..fighting...& always got the Jeffery Ow come sch to gv talks bout gangster..& bring some "potential student" to visit jail...
Its sometimes is also gd if u hv all Good ppl as your friends, cos all will strive for the best for the rest of the life...if u know wat i mean.
If u are 21, tat means u born @1987...let say for a period of 10 years 1997, there are still quite alot of bengs.lians,gangster..BUT u only 10 years old, so.. u might not really get into contact with them...furthermore, if should be in a well to do family, so parents might be abit strick towards you.Its for your own good too.So if u now 21, say 4 years(if i remember correct) u at age of 17 go overseas...you at age of 17 is year bout 2004... the gangsterrisum already die off liao.. can never really see real gangster..which is why i understand why u not so sure how bengz/lians are like.
On how to define them is very subjective...for eg: some regards ppl as a ahbeng, smoke at sec 1, drop out of sch at sec 3,then go in prison/remand prison, having tattoos at a younge age during 90s(now NOT really, some i see bout age 17 got tattoo, but speak fluent english,eat at Billy Bomber)its totally different from the pass bengs..
In 90s, go out die die hv to wear"versace"moschino,roccobarroco"mcm" etc...head to toe cost more then SGD$1k, but wallet inside less then $100-$200...also mostly speck hokkien..wid valgaruities.
Now, old timers all hv to fend for themself,work,find money.So hard to see them act gangster during workint time...
As for now, hard to see real gangster liao.but you can see them at Dragonfly, alot of them go there to relax.(a disco,you can visit it when you back in SG)
EDITED: After seeing again then know so u now age 21, BUT only spend 4 years in sg...it hard to relate to you how ah beng/ lians by typing here to describe to you. Best whn you come back, see for yourself & i believe most of what was typed here all join up = beng/lian.
very true very true
eh i jan 2006 leh :P
i from bukit panjiang garment high inside got ah beng liao lor..
Think nowadays, ah bengs upgraded liao, not easy to spot them.
Upgrade? As in, in terms of dressing?
Last time my sec sch 1 is ah beng... now those i see are wannabes

Originally posted by deathwish:Last time my sec sch 1 is ah beng... now those i see are wannabes
Too many, just too many...
LOL yea. I discovered this forum like during december 06 mentioned above. but another forum caught my attention so. even before posting here i moved to the other forum. hahah =x but now i'm back.
to me ah bengs is those ekin chen that kind.. not those wannabes.
those with tattoos, smoke or pia vulgarities i dont regard them as ah bengs or ah lians. Thats stereotype.
oh yah.
and some ple regard those who dyed their hair are ah bengs/ah lians. thats also stereotype. ![]()