Originally posted by skythewood:divide the 27 balls into 3 groups, A, B, C
Step 1: compare group A & group B
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in set A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in group B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in group C.
divide the group with heavier ball into 3 sets, A, B, C
Step 2: compare set A & set B
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in
group A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in set B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in set C.
divide the set with heavier ball into 3 balls, A, B, C
Step 3: compare ball A & ball B
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in ball A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in ball B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in ball C.
I don't see how this question is 'up-ed'
When you stated the odd ball is heavier.. it already made things easier ![]()
Anyway, back to my original question. Any takers? I'll be back in an hour to reveal the answer!
Originally posted by skythewood:divide the 27 balls into 3 groups, A, B, C
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in set A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in group B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in group C.
divide the group with heavier ball into 3 sets, A, B, C
Step 2: compare set A & set B
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in
group A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in set B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in set C.
divide the set with heavier ball into 3 balls, A, B, C
Step 3: compare ball A & ball B
results/conclusion: if A is heavier. the heavier ballis in ball A.
if B is heavier. the heavier ballis in ball B.
If A and B same weight, ball is in ball C.
eh but 1 gram leh.
how u noe the scale is accurate?
hw u noe u can see a difference?
haha
would've solved it nt for the 1 gram.
lol
the question is, you don't know if the odd ball is lighter or heavier ![]()
so easy lar.
u do 3 steps, den u ask another person to do another 3 steps.
keep the chain going until u get the answer.
There is a weighing balance and 12 balls. The 12 balls all look the same from the outside, but 1 weighs a little different from the other 11.
Using the weighing balance not more than 3 times, find out which is the odd ball and whether it is lighter or heavier :P
-UNSOLVED-
Note: You do not know if the odd ball is lighter or heavier. TS will be back in an hour to reveal the answer!
hmm.. i kind of forgot the answer already. but still remember that the first steps is divide the 12 balls into 3 groups of 4 and then take any 2 groups to have their first reading taken. the rest forgot liao.
Originally posted by Detached:There is a weighing balance and 12 balls. The 12 balls all look the same from the outside, but 1 weighs a little different from the other 11.
Using the weighing balance not more than 3 times, find out which is the odd ball and whether it is lighter or heavier :P
-UNSOLVED-
Note: You do not know if the odd ball is lighter or heavier. TS will be back in an hour to reveal the answer!
not so fast leh. i still trying to recall.
For TS question,
divide the 12 balls into 3 groups, A, B, C
results/conclusion: if A and B is not same weight. conclusion (I)
If A and B same weight, ball is in group C. conclusion(II)
From conclusion (II) the diff weight ball is in C,
Step 2: compare 3 balls from A & 3 balls from C
results/conclusion: if A and C is same, the odd ball is unweighed ball in C.
if A and C is different, the odd ball is in weighed ball in C
take note whether the ball is heavier or lighter
Step 3: compare 2 of the 3 ball in C
results/conclusion: if unequal, one of them is the ball
if equal, the unmeasured is the ball
Originally posted by Detached:By weighing balance, I meant a non electronic scale (imagine the see-saw)
And also, by removing any ball from the balance, it automatically counted as another usage on the balance.
You very ma-fan one.....
Put six balls on each side, remove 3 balls from each side first, then followed by 2 balls if they are still balance, then you know which ball is unbalance.
The key is to keep weighing the unbalance balls, be it 3 on each side or 2 on each side. Remember to keep replacing the balance balls with the unbalance balls and stuff them into Detached's mouth and then continue until you get 1 ball on each side.
Originally posted by parn:
You very ma-fan one.....Put six balls on each side, remove 3 balls from each side first, then followed by 2 balls if they are still balance, then you know which ball is unbalance.
The key is to keep weighing the unbalance balls, be it 3 on each side or 2 on each side. Remember to keep replacing the balance balls with the unbalance balls and stuff them into Detached's mouth and then continue until you get 1 ball on each side.
the very impt thing is 3 tries nia leh
i know the answer...just have to number the balls from 1 to 12...very tiring if post the whole scenarios..
i know the answer riao i think. but quite long winded ![]()
From conclusion (I)
mark the heavier side as H1-H4, light side as L1-4, group C ball as S
Step 2: compare H1, H2, L1 against H3, L2, S
results/conclusion = if all the same, the problem ball is H4 is heavy, L3 or L4 is light (A)
= If H1. H2, L1 is heavier, means H1, H2 heavy or L2 is light (B)
= if H3, L2, S is heavier, means H3 is heavy or L1 is light (C)
From conclusion (A)
Step 3: compare L3 and L4
results/conclusion = if same, H4 is heavy
= if not same, lighter one is lighter
From conclusion (B)
Step3: compare H1 and H2
results/conclusion = if same, L2 is light
-heavier one is heavy
From conclusion (C)
Step 3: compare H3 with S
results/conclusion = if same, L1 is light
= if not, H3 is heavy
not going to check working le, but you guys get the idea.
How difficult is it to weight the balls like 5, 6 times? KNN......
group the balls into 3 groups and name the balls ABCD EFGH IJKL.
compare ABCD with EFGH.
if ABCD = EFGH,
then compare AI with JK.
if AI = JK
L is the odd one out
if AI > JK or AI < JK
compare J with K.
the rest i not sure how. i only know if the first reading balance.
oh. no wonder.
at least i got the 1st step correct.
haha
i post some easier one.
3 guys are buried in the desert to the neck.
they are buried in a row, so guy1 see nothing, guy 2 can see guy 1, guy 3 can see guy 1 and 2
if they shout the colour of their hat, they will be saved.
they know the colour of the hat is either black or white, and that all 3 hats is not the same colour.
who should guess the hat colour?
Originally posted by skythewood:i post some easier one.
they are buried in a row, so guy1 see nothing, guy 2 can see guy 1, guy 3 can see guy 1 and 2
they know the colour of the hat is either black or white, and that all 3 hats is not the same colour.who should guess the hat colour?
if guy 3 nvr shout, guy 2 will know what hat he is wearing.
Originally posted by skythewood:i post some easier one.
they know the colour of the hat is either black or white, and that all 3 hats is not the same colour.who should guess the hat colour?
onli 1 of em can guess and if guess correctly den all 3 will be saved?
or all 3 must guess correctly?
or 3 can guess, but just need 1 correct answer?
freedom is correct....
just one guy shout.
Originally posted by skythewood:freedom is correct....
just one guy shout.
explain the answer leh.
haha i dun rly understand it.
scenario 1:
guy 3 see guy 1 and guy2 same hat colour
solution: guy 3 shout the answer.
scenario2:
guy 3 see guy 1 and guy 2 diff hat colour.
solution: if guy3 never shout, guy 2 knows guy1 and guy2 diff hat colour. guy 2 shout answer.
oh haha i see i see.
maybe i post a question too. this one quite easy.
a mosquito coil can burn for 1 hour. by giving you 2 identical mosquito coils and a lighter, how can u find out a time of 45 mins. you are only allow to use the given items to find the time.