Originally posted by soleachip:And for the sake of comparison, what are your so called examples of an unconventional society?
--- "As for comments from bigots who think that gender directly determines the value/worth of a person's potential in the workforce, imho it screams lack of confidence in their masculinity and it shows they are incapable of negotiating beyond conventional ideas.---
Not from an elite school. Not from an elite debate team so please bear with me.
Conventional refers to traditional gender roles adopted by generations before today, during times when people thought women should not be given education because the workforce has no need for it. In the 21st millenium, this concept is no longer valid. It's sexist to assume that all indivuduals clearly fit into the category of male or female roles in our society - women have characteristics fit for home making, therefore they should be home makers.
To believe that equal education and employment opportunities for women is not the right step for our society, sounds like an idea marred by very obvious suppression. I won't compare it to third world countries, they don't have the advantages we have.
Go conventional and stuff out radical? What's radical? Misandry?
ok back to the point.
If Singapore is waiting for evolutionary confirmation before granting female borns the right education, why are home econs lessons and D & T workshops compulsory for all? Please evolve. Please.
Or nope I get it now, this is not about snuffing out the "weaker sex" in the workforce or denying them equal opportunity for promotion for the good of nature.
It's the secret grief of an abnormal mind.
Alright fair enough. First things first, please do get the definitions "elite" and "good" school striaght. Only shallow people fail to make the distinction between a "good" school and "elite" school. So please, before you associate me with elitism, get your definitions straight.
About the conventional part, there is no basis for the comparison. In no part of my argument did i include conventional or radical societies. I merely included singapore being a conventional society so as to irritate a certain femenist being rather unfriendly in her posts.
"It's
sexist to assume that all indivuduals clearly fit into the category
of male or female roles in our society - women have characteristics
fit for home making, therefore they should be home makers"
-What is sexist about saying a gun is designed to kill, therefore you should use it instead of the stone as it is more effective.
It is however, sexist to deny women the rights to education, which is not what the basis of my argument is. We encourage women to stay as homemakers because men do not make as good ones as women. Please, do read carefully in future.
Now let us review, why is it that our dear femenists are so unhappy about being homemakers? Is it because they find that they do not get enough recognition, or is it because they get paid nothing ? If that is the case, perhaps they should be complaining to the government about it and not calling us "unevolved oppressive extremists" to sum up their, ah, case.
Regarding education, you do realise that D&T, home economics and the like is offered to provide a "wholesome education" . The same reason why art is offered, it is not compulsory, in fact a student can choose to drop this subjects if his parents were to write a letter to the school.
Therefore, I highlight ONCE AGAIN, that homemaking is a worthy job, as noble as any coporate job out there. I do not see anything wrong with it and if women stay on as homemakers, they do not have the need for high education, however they are still welcome to be educated if they wish.
And if women don't look after the children, who will? Sure, men can do it, but not as well as women , on a scientifically proven general basis. Why do you think courts are often prejudiced to give the child to the female side. And again, we must look at the consequence, stop being selfish my dear lady. This benefits society as a awhole. With women staying at home, the birth rates will definitely go up (look at countries such as india and compare and contrast to this hypothesis), thereby solving the workforce problem with women removed.
I would like to remind you that the women are still employed (as home-makers) and I don't see how this is an unfair job opportunity as the minute they have a child, they are employed. Neither are we saying that women cannot enter politics. So please stop making us sound like Nazis.
If you don't like the idea of gender inequalities, I suggest Thailand. They have several good sex change offers available, you might even become asexual and enjoy the benefits of both man and woman! ^^ And yes, this is radical. And no, you are the conventional femenist in todays society, perhaps it is a time to step back and review if we've been doing the right or wrong thing since the 40s. You say evolve? I say look before you leap.
wow 2 days and 28pages! lololol
Originally posted by shade343:wow 2 days and 28pages! lololol
So many so "concern" about the birth rate in sg. ha ha ha.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
So many so "concern" about the birth rate in sg. ha ha ha.
"HOT" topic mah!
Originally posted by crimsontactics:"HOT" topic mah!
"Hot" as someone is firing here. Someone who hates men. Someone without IQ, EQ.
nonono. Someone who likes 30k rings :P
Actually, let's not all lower ourselves to her level, k? ![]()
So allow me to sum up this topic,
Many of us here agree that girls should be allowed access to as less as possible an amount of education as their main job is to be a caretaker. This will save money which could be redistributed to other sections like defenses or recreations.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:nonono. Someone who likes 30k rings :P
You have 30k to buy her diamond ring or not? I suggest if you have, buy for other gal unless you want her to drive you to the grave.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:So allow me to sum up this topic,
Many of us here agree that girls should be allowed access to as less as possible an amount of education as their main job is to be a caretaker. This will save money which could be redistributed to other sections like defenses or recreations.
You talk like that, sure kena fire by her. In these days, education is necessary for all regardless of gender. The more educated the better. Care taking role can be discussed between couples at their own discretion, outsiders not in good position to decide for them.
You have 30k to buy her diamond ring or not? I suggest if you have, buy for other gal unless you want her to drive you to the grave.
ya lor... 30k i rather buy a nice coffin for me to sleep in rather then give that worthless low iq/eq but act like she is very "clever" bitch
Originally posted by youyayu:ya lor... 30k i rather buy a nice coffin for me to sleep in rather then give that worthless low iq/eq but act like she is very "clever" bitch
Actually, this super bitch is really nothing, no work, no IQ, no EQ, come here kpkb to attack people. An empty vessel makes the most noise. I rather guys donate the 30k to the needy than buying a diamond ring for an evil scumbag.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:So allow me to sum up this topic,
Fine, then the men must make sure they are able to support us financially for the rest of their life. Plus all the expenses of the household, kids' education, etc.
It is not that we don't want to help by then, it is because we can't help it since we are not educated.
Sounds fine? ![]()
Originally posted by rainee:Fine, then the men must make sure they are able to support us financially for the rest of their life. Plus all the expenses of the household, kids' education, etc.
It is not that we don't want to help by then, it is because we can't help it since we are not educated.
Sounds fine?
they are still busy with parn to pay attention to you bah...
Originally posted by rainee:Fine, then the men must make sure they are able to support us financially for the rest of their life. Plus all the expenses of the household, kids' education, etc.
Sounds fine?
Make sure your man is educated first. =x
Originally posted by Danielhuang88:Make sure your man is educated first. =x
There are a lot of educated men but they still cant make ends meet. It is because there are simply too many educated men around and competition is stiff, what wif the foreigners and what not.
Originally posted by rainee:There are a lot of educated men but they still cant make ends meet. It is because there are simply too many educated men around and competition is stiff, what wif the foreigners and what not.
Since gt so many educated men, shouldn't we not allow women to be educated to reduce competition and increase wages?
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Since gt so many educated men, shouldn't we not allow women to be educated to reduce competition and increase wages?
That was what happened in the past, most women stayed home, the men were the primary breadwinner. But after a while, the men couldn't cope and had to ask the women to go out and work as well to support the family.
And the competition will always be there...not primarily from women...
Originally posted by crimsontactics:Since gt so many educated men, shouldn't we not allow women to be educated to reduce competition and increase wages?
if we not allow women to be educated, they will not be able to contribute to one area of work that they will be sorely needed.. education. the very nature of the job will require them to be of high enough calibre to teach the next generation.
if we cut competition for the sake of increasing competition, the output of the country will be halved. that is no good for the economy, as we reduce production.
I know of professional men earning well yet want their wives to work to help support the families. These are doctor, engineer, sales director.
high education does not equate higher salary
same goes with past performance does not indicate future performance
however, the probability of past performers maintaining their high performance level in the future is higher, provided that one do not get competent.
umm . . . .. those professional men I mentioned are earning well. I am referring them earning well yet want the wives to support family. I did not mention in general. Please read properly.
Originally posted by skythewood:if we not allow women to be educated, they will not be able to contribute to one area of work that they will be sorely needed.. education. the very nature of the job will require them to be of high enough calibre to teach the next generation.
if we cut competition for the sake of increasing competition, the output of the country will be halved. that is no good for the economy, as we reduce production.
Yea...most guys do not want to be teachers...that's why you see so many girl teachers rather than guys. I know because I am a teacher myself, and the ratio of guys to girls in some of my classes are like 1:4?
I mentioned before that girls and guys are good in their own area. Educating both only serves to make sure that all areas have enough manpower to carry out the jobs.
Originally posted by Fantagf:umm . . . .. those professional men I mentioned are earning well. I am referring them earning well yet want the wives to support family. I did not mention in general. Please read properly.
actually im refering to rainee's post haha...
I'll commment yours anyway. There are 2 reasons.
1) Earn a lot but never live within their means, need to support their private housing, expensive cars. At the end of the day, they are broke with limited cashflow.
2) Don't want wives to stay at home doing nothing. ![]()
Originally posted by rainee:Yea...most guys do not want to be teachers...that's why you see so many girl teachers rather than guys. I know because I am a teacher myself, and the ratio of guys to girls in some of my classes are like 1:4?
I mentioned before that girls and guys are good in their own area. Educating both only serves to make sure that all areas have enough manpower to carry out the jobs.
Yes, both genders have their own strong points and good in different aspects. I see no end to the argument on the education for women and birth rate. This topic can go on and on yet reach no consensus. Both genders are made up differently. Both genders to appreciate each other will reduce friction, avoid misunderstanding.