Yeah, some of those old ads are great. I've got a mate who collects them, mostly Rolex ads, though.
Originally posted by Gedanken:Yeah, some of those old ads are great. I've got a mate who collects them, mostly Rolex ads, though.
oh the rolex ones were really nice, especially those targeted at military personnel during WW2. they even had a take first pay later scheme for POWs in enemy camps!!! those were different times.
Oooh yeah. The letters that accompanied the watches were personally signed by Hans Wilsdorf, and they're priceless these days.
There's a lot of history behind some of those old pieces. One of my fellow collectors is a semi-professional explorer (he's been down to the Titanic a couple of times), and he's had a chance to chat with Sir Edmund Hilary about his Rolex Explorer and with Buzz Aldrin about the Speedmaster he wore on Apollo 11.
Man, my lec in sch is a serious collector of watches.
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:Man, my lec in sch is a serious collector of watches.
What's he got?
My Dad went to vietnam and bought alots of those old rolex and omega claimed to belong to those former dead America soldiers during the vietnam war. Still can work very well, but all must screw first. Antique lor.
Originally posted by seotiblizzard:Man, my lec in sch is a serious collector of watches.
me also serious, me collect hello kitty, mickey mouse, powerpuff, looney tunes and many other trendy watches too...including those $5/watch at bugis
Originally posted by angel7030:Still can work very well, but all must screw first. Antique lor.
No matter how you screw, they're still dead lah. ![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:No matter how you screw, they're still dead lah.
indeed ![]()
now this guy got hold of a hell of a watch. I shudder to think how much he must have paid lol
Originally posted by Gedanken:No matter how you screw, they're still dead lah.
no, they are really unique, when u screw, its hands start to move, some got blood stain on it, some got names craved on it, some got the state they came from...Boston, California, LA, Pittsburg etc etc...hmmm..if can find their relatives or loveones, can sell back to them at a high price. Me go sell at ebay
Originally posted by angel7030:
no, they are really unique, when u screw, its hands start to move, some got blood stain on it, some got names craved on it, some got the state they came from...Boston, California, LA, Pittsburg etc etc...hmmm..if can find their relatives or loveones, can sell back to them at a high price. Me go sell at ebay
hahahahahahaaa
Originally posted by av98m:now this guy got hold of a hell of a watch. I shudder to think how much he must have paid lol
Whoa Nelly. Enter the price tag and a phone somewhere might ring.
That's as close to full provenance as I've seen for a Panny.
Originally posted by angel7030:
You want to find their relatives on Ebay?
Originally posted by Gedanken:Whoa Nelly. Enter the price tag and a phone somewhere might ring.
That's as close to full provenance as I've seen for a Panny.
AND its good to know the original owner died of natural causes. ![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:You want to find their relatives on Ebay?
i can post with the photos of the watches, then start the auction, also i can post in US forums asking for their relatives, hope can fetch a good price.
But then hor, Daddy sure spank me if he found that his collection is getting smaller by the day....
if you are looking for collecting watch that have good value you can go to this link to see some of the collection watches.
http://www.bezel.com.sg/main.htm
The shop is at wheellock place. I go there to get my watches. Very nice watch. And the watch value always maintain at the stable rate.
Worth the value. And you need assistant to maintain the watches they also have the service too.
Last time i went to shanghai hor, on the street, they sell rolex oyster ladies watch for only abt 10 Sing dollars, so cheap, and it look real, so i brought it.
Then I went with friends to Shanghai noon disco...then after dancing, someone asked me what kind of watch am i wearing, i felt it was time to show off my new watch, but to my surprise, only the shell of the watch was left behind, the hands and all the mechanism had all dropped off and spread all over the dance floor..OMG, !!! i pour drink into the empty shell and sip the drink...damn, all my frens laughed until vomit.
AND its good to know the original owner died of natural causes.
OOh yeah. Nothing like a little controversy to play merry hell with prices. Can you imagine how much Che Guevara's GMT would go for?
Originally posted by angel7030:Last time i went to shanghai hor, on the street, they sell rolex oyster ladies watch for only abt 10 Sing dollars, so cheap, and it look real, so i brought it.
Then I went with friends to Shanghai noon disco...then after dancing, someone asked me what kind of watch am i wearing, i felt it was time to show off my new watch, but to my surprise, only the shell of the watch was left behind, the hands and all the mechanism had all dropped off and spread all over the dance floor..OMG, !!! i pour drink into the empty shell and sip the drink...damn, all my frens laughed until vomit.
So it was the laughing that made them vomit?
So I went to buy the rado watch today, called rado florence, for $820. But first, I'll show you my other watches. One a swatch and another a guess.

And now, the watch I just bought a few hours ago. However, it does not run automatic. It runs on battery. I just found out after I bought the watch. Will this affect its value as an investment? Anyhow I like the watch, but I wished it was automatic.![]()

Sorry I used flash for the camera so you cant see the gold parts easily.![]()
The 2nd line from outside is gold in colour.
as long as you like the watch and enjoy wearing it who cares!
I agree with av - if you like it, that's all that matters.
As a rule of thumb, a collector's piece is likely to have:
1) an unusual complication
2) an unusual design
3) some manufacturing quirk or
4) a serious rep for manufacturing quality
Unfortunately, the Rado really doesn't tick any of those boxes, so I'd be hesitant about looking at it as an investment piece - that might just stop your enjoyment of the watch.
me no watch....![]()