I always wanted to travel very much but thought of saving up
for so long and then spending it at 1 go just puts the idea away
because i'll feel heartpain. I'm not very rich, but wonder how can
i do to achieve my dream. I guess saving is just not enough.
Imagine saving a 300 per month
(My income is not alot to save so much, 300 is consider alot to me)
Calculation:
300 * 12 = 3600 (maybe including hotel & airticket)
a trip to turkey = 1 year of savings
come back to SIN = eat grass/soil and save all over again for
another trip
-_-"
In the end, went short trips to malaysia -_-"
Any comments? Your views?
it's not where you go but how much you enjoy yourself and what memories you take back with you...
i dun think u shd be leading a poor life just to save up for a holiday
a holiday shd be in ur mind only when u have extra $$
了�了?
my fren do it this way
whenever he has $1 coins, he will put them in this big bowl
when the big bowl is full, he go count the money
got how much means can go how far
but dun spoil mkt by purposely go and change 2 bags of $1 to put in there
just drop in a few everyday
Short trips to our neibouring countries, think malaysia, indonesia (bali is good) thailand, vietnam, hong kong, etc..
Why you go until turkey? it's very far you know.
Places like taiwan, japan, s.korea, australia are surely worth it.![]()
I've plans to visit turkey too in future, but the airfares and long flights put me off. Im not rich either.![]()
so hard on saving yet still think of holiday....not wise.
Well... it depends on how much you can save. 300 a month eat grass liao then save like 200 lor... if you make your life miserable just by going for holiday then dun go.
it's how much u save as a percentage of your income and not in absolute terms
when IR started go double or nothing your trip
that's how my family has been living for the past 20 years leh. savesavesavesavesave, then SPEND. when we get back to singapore, the one who works starts all over again.
somemore we travel not for holiday one loh.
makes me wish i could turn back time so that i could be a less lousy kid...tsk.
Go work for a company that will post u overseas.
i go on a $100 per month saving ''plan'' on my personal piggy bank. end of the year, i still can afford to go most SEA countries for 3days 2 night, nearer neighbours for 4days 3 night.
last year i went to hongkong, spent around 1k+(inclusive airfare and acommodation). the trip total was 500. and i spend around 600 for 3 days.
so u dunnid to really save alot, but spend within your limits and spend on essential items lor. dun go there shopping, see nice buy liao, den later u realise, theres no need at all.
Originally posted by corebooster:i go on a $100 per month saving ''plan'' on my personal piggy bank. end of the year, i still can afford to go most SEA countries for 3days 2 night, nearer neighbours for 4days 3 night.
last year i went to hongkong, spent around 1k+(inclusive airfare and acommodation). the trip total was 500. and i spend around 600 for 3 days.
so u dunnid to really save alot, but spend within your limits and spend on essential items lor. dun go there shopping, see nice buy liao, den later u realise, theres no need at all.
ok next outing dinner you pay. ![]()
i also want =(
�者有份
Originally posted by bryanw:
ok next outing dinner you pay.
wah liao eh.
my take home pay dun even exceed 1 thousand a month lor
Originally posted by corebooster:
wah liao eh.my take home pay dun even exceed 1 thousand a month lor
nvm..Mac also can =D
less than $6 per meal..Thank u ah..haha..where's TS? will she be joining in?
wah liao. u come for Mingles Ice-Cream outing den i consider kay?
my strategy is wait for ppl treat keep waiting just keep save and invest until u r quite rich like u got net worth of 100k or what then go travel abit far 1 if not my kl genting thailand hk disneyland the cheaper the better. and invest in thing you know like u got 20k in cash or prepare 6mths for emergency fund of your job income then invest!!!! the more the better i read books,follow tv.
learn from warren buffet or a pro learn from them copy their move of success investing,saving etc they walk where you walk where if u think they are wrong u walk other way u believe u will work.
Originally posted by Jackiebaby:I always wanted to travel very much but thought of saving up
for so long and then spending it at 1 go just puts the idea away
because i'll feel heartpain. I'm not very rich, but wonder how can
i do to achieve my dream. I guess saving is just not enough.
Imagine saving a 300 per month
(My income is not alot to save so much, 300 is consider alot to me)Calculation:
300 * 12 = 3600 (maybe including hotel & airticket)
a trip to turkey = 1 year of savings
come back to SIN = eat grass/soil and save all over again for
another trip-_-"
In the end, went short trips to malaysia -_-"
Any comments? Your views?
instead of guided tour, go for free and easy. look for cheap accomodation and places where our SGD is stronger. My last trip of 10 days Sri Lanka was
airfare+fuel tax + airport tax = $1080
food+accomodation+transport >$700
shopping = $0
eg:
hahaz.
for me..i have a diff way....
i have quite alot of savings.
1st is personal saving
2nd is family saving
3rd is holiday saving
4th is contigency saving.
all have de same amt of monthly inputs. i haven include my insurance n stuff.
wow... someone is giving treats ar... let me know leh... saved 1 meal also. :)
Noted corebooster. you have alot of savings, so when can you give us a treat? :)
But if i were corebooster, needed to save so many things.. I think every month after deduction of those expenses (not to forget monthly hp bill, internet bill etc), I'll be eating grass/soil/shit :-{
I wanna go for holidays, I wanna go for exotic places like greece, egypt etc. $$$ is my biggest barrier :(
Originally posted by FireIce:my fren do it this way
whenever he has $1 coins, he will put them in this big bowl
when the big bowl is full, he go count the money
got how much means can go how far
but dun spoil mkt by purposely go and change 2 bags of $1 to put in there
just drop in a few everyday
like this can only go batam
if i earn 2k 1 month, i can save 1k
u cant?
500 for parents, 500 for survival
left 1k to save
everyday eat bread, like i in attachment now
2 dollars+ survive 5 days lunch and breakfast
buy the bonjour chocolate bread lor
Originally posted by corebooster:hahaz.
for me..i have a diff way....
i have quite alot of savings.
1st is personal saving
2nd is family saving
3rd is holiday saving
4th is contigency saving.
all have de same amt of monthly inputs. i haven include my insurance n stuff.
10 bucks each? ![]()
smth point out.
im paying 4 my monthly phone bills, providing home expenses too.
my take home pay, is less than 1k.