Originally posted by mrvictor:i take 6-7 meals a day, high carbohydrates, high protein to enhance my performance in the gym and overall fitness. i believe it is about eating the right food, not eating less food. my diet started from february onwards, by far i have eaten fast food only once and abstain from fried food whenever possible. i have not taken carbonated drinks for almost a year and stick to milk, protein shakes, water, sugar-free green tea. but my diet is of course different from many of you in the sense that my focus is on gaining mass and strength.
in my opinion, those who want to lose weight should eat 3 regular meals a day and juts cut back on high GI, fatty, oily food, not go on anorexic diets. For example: oats, boiled vegetables, steamed chicken, tuna would be a good way to start off. if you go on an anorexic diet, you are threatening your body systems, the way they function and they make you hot-tempered, unable to focus and this increases the urge to eat junk.
many people have this misconception that in order to lose weight, one must run 45 minutes 5 times a week. the truth is the fastest most efficient to lose weight and to build a strong healthy heart is to sprint 3 times a week, do interval training in the following manner: sprint 100m, jog 200m for 7 minutes non stop and a workout is over. so 7 minutes x 3 times a week = 21 minutes you only need to put in to see results. but more importantly, as what the saying goes,"abs are made in the kitchen, not in the gym" . the food you eat is important.
to msshells: you can actually take a high carbohydrate diet yet keep fit, if you burn of the calories through sprinting and swimming. but the high carbohydrate should come from food with low Glycemia Index, i.e. oats, multi-grain wholemeal bread, brown rice not food like spaghetti, white rice, white bread and potato.
to waterfairy206: it is never too late to change for the better. the reason why you have not seen any change in your weight is probably because you have not tried hard enough meaning 1) right nutrition, as stated above, no junkfood, snacks. 2)right training, you probably jogged but have never done sprint training. work hard and you will see results. however a note of caution, dieting the right way and training takes commitment and patience. if everything goes well, you might even lose 1 inch around your waist in 1 month and that is significant.
Whoaa you know a lot!!! i wish i can do sports more. It's just i'm very tired everyday so i don't think can spare some time to do more exercise. The only exercise i'm doing now is walk to office for 30 mins everyday and also walk my dog :)
Originally posted by Ms.shells:Whoaa you know a lot!!! i wish i can do sports more. It's just i'm very tired everyday so i don't think can spare some time to do more exercise. The only exercise i'm doing now is walk to office for 30 mins everyday and also walk my dog :)
30 mins ok mah
but walking not consider intense training
u go to calif gym and work will be better lol
lol low carb diet? in a long run, its self destructive. It's never designed to upkeep in a long run. Mother nature created us to crave for carbs and sugars. Prehistoricially speaking, Man are hunters, they hunt for fruits, animals and herbs for their survival. What do all of them have in common? Carbs, sugar and protein. All naturale~
Fast forward to 21 century which is the present, such nutrients are served in processed, nicely packaged boxes which relates to what you find : Chocolates, biscuits, jam, cereal bar, whatever you can think of.
Then come to marketing strategists noting the trend of low carb, low fat, southbeach diet etc. The result? They include labels and markings to certify their products as "health food"
Suddenly chains of health food stores and cafe starts appearing with labels sticking "Low Fat!, Low GI, No trans fats!" And mindless workaholic gets tricked into the scheme of eating "healthy".
There are good carbs which you can consider.
Sustaining a long term low carb diet is not good for your heart.
i personally do not subscribe to the belief that "eat all sorts of food in moderation". i believe that eating more protein and carbohydrate and taking shakes are healthly and will help me progress better. however, junk food and other oily food should only be taken unless absolutely necessary, i.e. really starving and no other alternatives. it is one's determination that determines the results. though i am afraid in my own situation when i go army and the food there is insufficient, i might have to resort to cup noodles like the other folks.
to msshells: well, actually as what you said, you can afford to walk for 30 minutes a day, hence it would be good if you could spare maybe 5 minutes a day doing sprint intervals - 5 minutes for girls, 7 minutes for guys. as to all those gimmicks or slogans that you see telling you situps give abs, they don't work. abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym. in my situation, i wake up everyday and have to go for work or school etc. and even when i do not feel like hitting the gym, i drag myself down and force myself to give it my all. maybe, you should write down your goals, how you going to achieve them, how much time you willing to spend on them and commit to that.
in fact, during training, normally the mind breaks first before the body, it should be the other way round, your mind willing your body to move on. normally, sprint intervals leave me nauseous and an unimaginable discomfort, as if the food might just come out. but persevere on!
to noahnoah: go clubfitt gym instead. their membership are 8 times cheaper than california fitness. and usually the truly tough people go clubfitt, when you go there, you'll be really inspired.
to mrshadows: i absolutely agree with what you said: beware of what food nutrition companies are claiming. try searching "bsn cheaters' relief". it states that as long as you take that supplement, whatever junk you ingest will not be stored in your body as fat. what do you all think about it? i think we should reduce reliance on such supplements and maybe only focus on the following 3
1) multivitamins
2) fish oil
3) protein shakes
there are many misleading health products in the market capitalizing on the ignorance of the consumer. as a saying goes, "only eat food in the natural form", meaning do not eat things from cans, packets or tins. i myself am unable to stick to his principle as this is only for bodybuilders. but it is a good point of reference.
u can eat whatever food u like......... Lunch, Dinner cum supper at MacDonald's also can......
But u need to sport, SPORT!!!!!!!!! movement for ur body...
that's a very big misconception people always have had. sports help you burn away the fats, but not the poison fast food brings, especially when the fast food are high in sodium and oil. they clog up your arteries and affect various parts of the body. even if you do away with the fat, the poison remains, the damage is already done. prevention is better than cure
Originally posted by Ms.shells:Whoaa you know a lot!!! i wish i can do sports more. It's just i'm very tired everyday so i don't think can spare some time to do more exercise. The only exercise i'm doing now is walk to office for 30 mins everyday and also walk my dog :)
Hey.. you can join me for jogs/gym or if you prefer, we can walk our dogs together.
Originally posted by mrvictor:i personally do not subscribe to the belief that "eat all sorts of food in moderation". i believe that eating more protein and carbohydrate and taking shakes are healthly and will help me progress better. however, junk food and other oily food should only be taken unless absolutely necessary, i.e. really starving and no other alternatives. it is one's determination that determines the results. though i am afraid in my own situation when i go army and the food there is insufficient, i might have to resort to cup noodles like the other folks.
to msshells: well, actually as what you said, you can afford to walk for 30 minutes a day, hence it would be good if you could spare maybe 5 minutes a day doing sprint intervals - 5 minutes for girls, 7 minutes for guys. as to all those gimmicks or slogans that you see telling you situps give abs, they don't work. abs are made in the kitchen, not the gym. in my situation, i wake up everyday and have to go for work or school etc. and even when i do not feel like hitting the gym, i drag myself down and force myself to give it my all. maybe, you should write down your goals, how you going to achieve them, how much time you willing to spend on them and commit to that.
in fact, during training, normally the mind breaks first before the body, it should be the other way round, your mind willing your body to move on. normally, sprint intervals leave me nauseous and an unimaginable discomfort, as if the food might just come out. but persevere on!
to noahnoah: go clubfitt gym instead. their membership are 8 times cheaper than california fitness. and usually the truly tough people go clubfitt, when you go there, you'll be really inspired.
to mrshadows: i absolutely agree with what you said: beware of what food nutrition companies are claiming. try searching "bsn cheaters' relief". it states that as long as you take that supplement, whatever junk you ingest will not be stored in your body as fat. what do you all think about it? i think we should reduce reliance on such supplements and maybe only focus on the following 3
1) multivitamins
2) fish oil
3) protein shakes
there are many misleading health products in the market capitalizing on the ignorance of the consumer. as a saying goes, "only eat food in the natural form", meaning do not eat things from cans, packets or tins. i myself am unable to stick to his principle as this is only for bodybuilders. but it is a good point of reference.
Yar, to make sure we get enough nutrition, we must consider to have multivitamins etc. As advised by my bf, protein shakes is very good to build muscle. I tried and i'm so loving it hehe. Protein shakes also taste so yumm~. My one taste like Milo!!! so yumm~
Well.. after NS I have been like exercising for 6 months and lost 7kg of my record weight....But..I still have another 7kg to go before I reach my desired weight...and I am pretty tired and bored with my current routine....
Furthermore....I am studying and have not been exercising as much as before... Hence... I feel very sian that I am only halfway there.... ![]()
fats are good...
Originally posted by Deino:fats are good...
Certainly.. not all fats are good....
Originally posted by lianamaster:Well.. after NS I have been like exercising for 6 months and lost 7kg of my record weight....But..I still have another 7kg to go before I reach my desired weight...and I am pretty tired and bored with my current routine....
Furthermore....I am studying and have not been exercising as much as before... Hence... I feel very sian that I am only halfway there....
rome was not built in a day, you cannot expect to see overnight changes. if one puts in the effort, significant results can be seen in 1 to 2 years. many people train for 6 months to 1 year, wanting to become arnold schwarzenegger. the truth is arnold took 8 years of training + 4 years of steroid + ultra-good genese + access to Gold's Gym to reach his current level of success.
Originally posted by mrvictor:rome was not built in a day, you cannot expect to see overnight changes. if one puts in the effort, significant results can be seen in 1 to 2 years. many people train for 6 months to 1 year, wanting to become arnold schwarzenegger. the truth is arnold took 8 years of training + 4 years of steroid + ultra-good genese + access to Gold's Gym to reach his current level of success.
On my... 2 years? Ok... I don't want to be like Arnold...I just want to pass my IPPT..that's my goal...So any tips to keep my motivation going?
Originally posted by lianamaster:Certainly.. not all fats are good....
lol...i like to say that coz i just can't simply grow fat so easily...
diet in my dictionary means to eat more healthily...lol
Originally posted by lianamaster:On my... 2 years? Ok... I don't want to be like Arnold...I just want to pass my IPPT..that's my goal...So any tips to keep my motivation going?
1)look at yourself in the mirror everyday. are you contented and happy with the way you look? i guess not. you probably admired your platoon mates doing 20 chinups or running 2.4km under 10 minutes. write down your goal, the steps you will take towards achieving it, and follow a proper diet and training plan. it takes commitment and patience. always visualise the end result of your training. you probably feel best after your training when you are all pumped up.
some tips when lifting weights
1) imagine you are pushing away a negative force - something that you don't want
2)place yourself in a life-threatening situation. if you can't do that chinup, you will fall into that pit of doom or something. anyway chinup is only chin above the bar, not that challenging.
3) sign up with a trainer or gym, preferably Clubfitt.you will be more committed since you paid money for the membership
4) find a training partner who is better than you and train with him. he will motivate you on.
5) train like there's no tomorrow, meaning train till failure, like every set will be your last.
Originally posted by mrvictor:1) i am offering personal training to guaranteed pass in IPPT. i mean pass is just 3 chinups right, 220cm standing broad jump.
2) look at yourself in the mirror everyday. are you contented and happy with the way you look? i guess not. you probably admired your platoon mates doing 20 chinups or running 2.4km under 10 minutes. write down your goal, the steps you will take towards achieving it, and follow a proper diet and training plan. it takes commitment and patience. always visualise the end result of your training. you probably feel best after your training when you are all pumped up.
some tips when lifting weights
1) imagine you are pushing away a negative force - something that you don't want
2)place yourself in a life-threatening situation. if you can't do that chinup, you will fall into that pit of doom or something. anyway chinup is only chin above the bar, not that challenging.
3) sign up with a trainer or gym, preferably Clubfitt.you will be more committed since you paid money for the membership
4) find a training partner who is better than you and train with him. he will motivate you on.
5) train like there's no tomorrow, meaning train till failure, like every set will be your last.
heys mrvictor,
need your advice. hahaa. u mentioned do sprints right? well but i using treadmill, so how many minutes do i do? and what setting? i used to do setting 7.5 running 20 min, but most of the time my stamina and determination not there, ie my lungs wanna burst and i just give up. lol. i ever try setting 10, do 1 minute only T_T. the setting 8.5-9 i can do 10 minute. what is ur advice lehx? [umm btw im a girl, so ur advice would help msshells too =P]
umm yea btw i got PT hahaa. are u a PT at clubfitt? u seem to be promoting/recommending it..
sometimes in gym (my house de, not the PT gym) i just do setting 10, run for like 1 min, shagged, den i do weights, den after doing 20-30 of 1 or 2 exercise, i do the setting 10 until shagged agin den go back to wieght lifting. lol. issit okay? i mean for losing fats as well. XD
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:
actually i'm not a personal trainer, i'm a student but i really like Clubfitt's accessibility, price, faccilities etc. so i'm not really familiar with all aspects of training but i am interested and do research and even experimented with many many various forms of training.
.i think you do not have to overstress yourself by running 20 minutes. how about trying this, for maintaing a good waistline and losing fats: (note: this is only for treadmill training) run at a moderate speed: complete 1km in 5+ minutes. rest for 3 minutes. then do intervals on treadmill. 1 minute sprint, 1 minute fast-paced walk (meaning striding). do this full set 5 times for guys, 3 times for girls. if after this interval running, you do not feel tired or feel that you can still run some more, it means that you have not put in enough effort for the intervals. a saying goes , " if you ran without sacrifice, congratulations, you just jogged.".
normally, i do a 16 or 16.2 for my 1 minute, and a 8 for my fast-paced-walk. i repeat this whole thing 5 times, and it really burns every part of the body, including abs.
i think maybe you should not overtrain by doing weights. if you want to tone up, just focus on this interval running and most importantly, a very stable and healthly diet. anyway, there are many 7 minute weights workouts that are just as effective as 20 minutes. normally, i hit the gym for about 20 minutes, finish my 12 sets, all till failure, only 2 bodyparts, and head home. but then again, this is a workout for guys.
if you are still insistent on weight training, then to train your abs, do not do situps, do only weighted crunches and rope crunches, if you aren't sure what these are, Google them. the most effective workout that works every part of the body is squats. try doing maybe 20kg squats at a public Gym, then start increasing the weight. You might need a spotter though, if you do to failure.
Originally posted by lianamaster:On my... 2 years? Ok... I don't want to be like Arnold...I just want to pass my IPPT..that's my goal...So any tips to keep my motivation going?
Go find a running/jogging buddy la........ 2 of you can encourage each other.........
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:heys mrvictor,
need your advice. hahaa. u mentioned do sprints right? well but i using treadmill, so how many minutes do i do? and what setting? i used to do setting 7.5 running 20 min, but most of the time my stamina and determination not there, ie my lungs wanna burst and i just give up. lol. i ever try setting 10, do 1 minute only T_T. the setting 8.5-9 i can do 10 minute. what is ur advice lehx? [umm btw im a girl, so ur advice would help msshells too =P]
umm yea btw i got PT hahaa. are u a PT at clubfitt? u seem to be promoting/recommending it..
sometimes in gym (my house de, not the PT gym) i just do setting 10, run for like 1 min, shagged, den i do weights, den after doing 20-30 of 1 or 2 exercise, i do the setting 10 until shagged agin den go back to wieght lifting. lol. issit okay? i mean for losing fats as well. XD
I was like u 1yr ago.......... slowly slowly build up my stamina.... If u keen, we can buddy la........ play badminton, swim, jog, walk Mac Ritc also can..........
Originally posted by mrvictor:actually i'm not a personal trainer, i'm a student but i really like Clubfitt's accessibility, price, faccilities etc. so i'm not really familiar with all aspects of training but i am interested and do research and even experimented with many many various forms of training.
.i think you do not have to overstress yourself by running 20 minutes. how about trying this, for maintaing a good waistline and losing fats: (note: this is only for treadmill training) run at a moderate speed: complete 1km in 5+ minutes. rest for 3 minutes. then do intervals on treadmill. 1 minute sprint, 1 minute fast-paced walk (meaning striding). do this full set 5 times for guys, 3 times for girls. if after this interval running, you do not feel tired or feel that you can still run some more, it means that you have not put in enough effort for the intervals. a saying goes , " if you ran without sacrifice, congratulations, you just jogged.".
normally, i do a 16 or 16.2 for my 1 minute, and a 8 for my fast-paced-walk. i repeat this whole thing 5 times, and it really burns every part of the body, including abs.
i think maybe you should not overtrain by doing weights. if you want to tone up, just focus on this interval running and most importantly, a very stable and healthly diet. anyway, there are many 7 minute weights workouts that are just as effective as 20 minutes. normally, i hit the gym for about 20 minutes, finish my 12 sets, all till failure, only 2 bodyparts, and head home. but then again, this is a workout for guys.
if you are still insistent on weight training, then to train your abs, do not do situps, do only weighted crunches and rope crunches, if you aren't sure what these are, Google them. the most effective workout that works every part of the body is squats. try doing maybe 20kg squats at a public Gym, then start increasing the weight. You might need a spotter though, if you do to failure.
Wow... you are a student yet know so much.. so inspirational....
ok.... I see how it goes.... right now I have my exams ongoing.... :(
Originally posted by Ms.shells:Ya lor.. It's very hard to get the non-carb food when we're eating out Y_Y that's why usually i choose western food or just go for mixed rice stall and choose veggie and meat dishes only (without rice).
Eat fats i think ok lar. Just don't take it too much. Eat moderately hor.. Anything if we eat moderately also fine mah ^__^
Well i like unagi too! Taste like fish hor (^0^)v
Unagi in Singapore is usually deep-fried eel, not roasted ee.
i think i rather work my arse off on sport then go dieting.... atleast it give me the freedom to eat almost anything anytime of the day for almost insane amount each time. What is the point of not enjoying one of the best thing life have to offer just to look good the lazy ways. Why cant enjoy life, earn the nice hard tone body and yet eat like a pig?
Beside that, i do get the side effect of being more alert, happier and energetic as well.
It make nua-ing at home during the weekend more enjoyable when guilt isnt ard to interupt.
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
Unagi in Singapore is usually deep-fried eel, not roasted ee.
Unagi from Sakae Sushi also deep-fried meh?