Parents are being dumped in old folk homes.Is filial piety still important today?
Yes.
Originally posted by Vendettus:Yes.
Then why do parents still dumped in old folks home?
Tat's for individual to decide.
U cant determind a definate ans for everybody..in Vendettus' case, filial piety is important.
In my opinion, i dun care if filiah piety is important or not, all i care is i shld take care of my parents after they hav taken such great efforts & sacrifies to bring me up.
If u really want to know if filial piety is important, u shld ask the ones who brought their parents to the ol' folks home.
i think.. it's hard to judge la.
i used to think that leaving someone at the old folks home = unfilial, but we never know the real situation.
like my gf's grandfather is in the old folks home, 96 years old, brain function reduced to basic motor function only. but her mum goes down there 3 days a week at least, cook salmon porridge etc for him.
is that being filial or unfilial?
i think... there's alot of factors to consider also before you start labelling others.
Filial piety hardly rings a bell to people nowadays..
Look at the numerous court cases fought b/w parents & children over $$ issues?
Look at those poor old folks picking up used cans, cardboards..
Look at those poor folks who lived alone by themselves..have to rely on miserable amounts of subsidies..
I wonder if it pricked these ppls' conscience when they see the sadden plight of their own parents? They are the ones who brought u to this world, feed u, care for u & u ditched them once u are able to fend for yourself..
Always remember the word : KARMA
Originally posted by miNty`:Filial piety hardly rings a bell to people nowadays..
Look at the numerous court cases fought b/w parents & children over $$ issues?
Look at those poor old folks picking up used cans, cardboards..
Look at those poor folks who lived alone by themselves..have to rely on miserable amounts of subsidies..
I wonder if it pricked these ppls' conscience when they see the sadden plight of their own parents? They are the ones who brought u to this world, feed u, care for u & u ditched them once u are able to fend for yourself..
Always remember the word : KARMA
i know what you mean.
i myself can be guilty of that also. i'm always out most of the time, etc, mum eat alone at home.. so sometimes i try to spend time with her, go out together for lunch etc.
i try to have family meals on sunday, after church.
but i get really torn. my own convenience vs my conscience.
My mum'side sent my grandfather to the old folks home..
we did hired a nurse and take care of him in the house.. but he like to run away and got lost and we can't find him untill police found him..
my grandfather ofcos have some mental illness
so we belive that putting in an old folk home will be the best decision.
of cos we visit him every week..
karma...
how assuming.
if got old man old woman in old folks home = being dumped?
how u know is dumped?
do u know the situation why they are in there?
more like u are being dumb
Let's not judge them.
What I understand from people that I know is that the elderly parents become very sick and nobody can take care of them (eg. everybody in the family is working in the day). I mean, they are so sick that they need full time caregiver. Some lucky ones are able to hire good foreign maid to do the job while some not so lucky. So the children have no choice but to get ppl in old folks home to care for the elderly parents. But they don't just leave them there. They constantly visit the parents with the grandchildren so that the elderly folks won't feel abandoned or lonely. This is speaking from my relatives' experience lah. They initially got a maid who is lousy one. But no choice lah cuz the son dun wan to abandon the father to old folks home. But as days went by, the father became really sick and weak and one day he collapsed. Since then, he became bedridden and needed to be fed on tubes. It's become beyond the family and the maid liao. So they sent him to old folks home, though they very sad and relunctant.
It's really not easy to quit your job and fulltime take care of the parents. Even if you don't need to work, do you think you know how to take care of an old and sick person who is bedridden? Very difficult one lor. But of course, if there is a way without sending the parents away, that will be best lor. I hope when the time comes for my parents to need caregiver, my family can afford a private nurse (private nurse how much ah, btw?) for my elderly folks. If cannot afford, at least I hope to get a reliable maid to help.
After watching Money No Enough II, I also hope I dun have to send my parents away. Very sad one.
Originally posted by youyayu:My mum'side sent my grandfather to the old folks home..
we did hired a nurse and take care of him in the house.. but he like to run away and got lost and we can't find him untill police found him..
Side track a bit... how much did you all pay for the nurse ah?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Side track a bit... how much did you all pay for the nurse ah?
$700
Things may not be wad it seem on the surface, u idiot.
Originally posted by FireIce:how assuming.
if got old man old woman in old folks home = being dumped?how u know is dumped?
do u know the situation why they are in there?
more like u are being dumb
for a moment i thought u calling me. lol
Originally posted by youyayu:My mum'side sent my grandfather to the old folks home..
ya.. so i feel it is too quick to judge la. lots of factors come into play.. especially it's singapore we're talking about.

Originally posted by Melovefireice:Then why do parents still dumped in old folks home?
Perhaps because it's better than being bored in their homes? You do know that dumping parents in old folk's homes is better than dumping them on the streets, right?
my grandmother requested to go.
she didn't want to live with her kids.
my parents have already told us kids they want to go to one too. just make sure we send them to the same one. hehe

Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i know what you mean.
i myself can be guilty of that also. i'm always out most of the time, etc, mum eat alone at home.. so sometimes i try to spend time with her, go out together for lunch etc.
i try to have family meals on sunday, after church.
but i get really torn. my own convenience vs my conscience.
at least u made an attempt to spend time with her mah..this goes to show that u have conscience..
Originally posted by youyayu:$700
oh? that's quite alright. where you got the nurse from?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:oh? that's quite alright. where you got the nurse from?
no idea
Originally posted by Melovefireice:Parents are being dumped in old folk homes.Is filial piety still important today?
Depends on the motive of why old folks are sent to the old folks home. As far as I am concern I would rather have them at home.
( I am super hungry now and if you are touched please pray for food) I am going to praise a youth who take care of his wheelchair bound mother in Jurong East Int who is selling tissue paper to earn a living.He is a model of filial piety.