Originally posted by VagueHart:
But it takes discipline AND effort to excel in ITE.
If you're going to just give little effort in everything you do, it's not only studies that will be the end of you but probably your whole life.
x2.
i'm from ITE and went to Poly. It's much harder to sustain good grades in ITE than in poly. and ITE is another stepping stone, not the end. it's only the end when you want it to be the end.
Originally posted by JJxJJ:go to an ITE campus, you can count the number of people with tucked in shirts with your hand
because now ITE's uniform is tucked out one? ![]()
6 years ago, i used to be in ITE, and it's not the end lah.
here's my experience:
1) not many hot chicks, unlike poly......most girls are actually quite plain jane type.....of course once in a while see pretty girl, but don't get your hopes too high. That's what Japanese porn is for.
2) life is quite slack unlike poly or JC, and the stress is not so much. The learning pace is stable and steady, good for a lot of people
3) ITE students are not as scheming as polys, and especially, JCs. I can't imagine why any sane human would want to enter JCs. that kind of institutes are for snobs, kids of ministers, and animals
4) quite good food. If you go ITE Dover, got one stall selling western food. Die Die also MUST TRY their CHICKEN CUTLET. The taste is totally legendary, and you will never find anything like that again. Botak Jones and Jack's Place, when compared to them, is like dog food. Pizza Hut and McDonald's compared to them is like dog poo. No kidding. Not sure if it's still around, though.
5) if you go ITE, must conduct yourself with honor and discipline. Singaporeans generally don't have good opinion of ITE kids, so you must prove them wrong.
6) ITE life is easy and free, so you must have discipline because it's very tempting and easy to slack your 2 years away there playing the whole time due to the environment.
7) contrary to popular belief, there are few bullies in ITE and even the gangsters (if any) are pretty sensible
Originally posted by Nikar 3:4) quite good food. If you go ITE Dover, got one stall selling western food. Die Die also MUST TRY their CHICKEN CUTLET. The taste is totally legendary, and you will never find anything like that again. Botak Jones and Jack's Place, when compared to them, is like dog food. Pizza Hut and McDonald's compared to them is like dog poo. No kidding. Not sure if it's still around, though.
I remembered the chicken cutlet from ITE Dover! For $2.50 you get a huge plate of bigass chicken cutlet, fries and toast... throw in another 50 cents for coleslaw, but I hate the mayo though, seemed like the uncle added water into it since its so runny. And the malay food stall right at the end of the canteen, shall always be remembered for its humongous fried chicken drumstick. The food's there so good I put on 8kg after the first year, lolWow those were the days man, and it wasn't as bad as I thought. I was an express student in secondary school, but I ended up in ITE because I got D7 for my O level e-maths paper. It was a very harsh reality to face especially when I was the only one from my class who ended up in ITE, but at the same time I gotta stop all these 'its-the-end' mentality and treat it it as a stepping stone for me to work harder. And since most of my classmates were poly rejects, and some were from the express stream like myself, we kind of encouraged each other to get good results and I'm very proud of what I achieved by the time I graduate. I'm not embarrased to tell people that I was from ITE, but sometimes its not uncommon to see people's faces change when I told them where I used to study, but I don't blame them for being shallow lah. So right now I'm waiting for the 2009 Poly registration to start, and seriously I can't wait to go back to school.
Originally posted by DamienSaputra:
wow...good luck dude...
i have to go for NS before i can get into poly...tough luck
thanks for all who replied !
anyone from college east by the way ?
ITE is a place to get the basic "technical" . There will more practical than studying (book). Even the grading for practical is higher than exam.
Get your basic skill well , there will no problem going to poly.
All the best!!
Originally posted by Fureur:thanks for all who replied !
anyone from college east by the way ?
me! graduated from there in 06
Originally posted by Nikar 3:6 years ago, i used to be in ITE, and it's not the end lah.
here's my experience:
1) not many hot chicks, unlike poly......most girls are actually quite plain jane type.....of course once in a while see pretty girl, but don't get your hopes too high. That's what Japanese porn is for.
2) life is quite slack unlike poly or JC, and the stress is not so much. The learning pace is stable and steady, good for a lot of people
3) ITE students are not as scheming as polys, and especially, JCs. I can't imagine why any sane human would want to enter JCs. that kind of institutes are for snobs, kids of ministers, and animals
4) quite good food. If you go ITE Dover, got one stall selling western food. Die Die also MUST TRY their CHICKEN CUTLET. The taste is totally legendary, and you will never find anything like that again. Botak Jones and Jack's Place, when compared to them, is like dog food. Pizza Hut and McDonald's compared to them is like dog poo. No kidding. Not sure if it's still around, though.
5) if you go ITE, must conduct yourself with honor and discipline. Singaporeans generally don't have good opinion of ITE kids, so you must prove them wrong.
6) ITE life is easy and free, so you must have discipline because it's very tempting and easy to slack your 2 years away there playing the whole time due to the environment.
7) contrary to popular belief, there are few bullies in ITE and even the gangsters (if any) are pretty sensible
So JCs are for snobs and animals? Seriously?
Kinda prove what type of people ITE is having.
Originally posted by crimsontactics:So JCs are for snobs and animals? Seriously?
Kinda prove what type of people ITE is having.
No la.JCs are for those hu wanna be Doctors,Lawyers and a shortcut to uni?-ppl presume tat de.
Originally posted by Lee012lee:
Why do people like to make fun of ITE (It is the End, Idiot The End, It is To Enjoy) leh ?Actually, an ITE graduate can earn more than a "A" level graduate hor.
In government job, that's not true.
Not sure about most jobs though.
Originally posted by zero747:
No la.JCs are for those hu wanna be Doctors,Lawyers and a shortcut to uni?-ppl presume tat de.
Im not concerned about what occupations A-level holders want to have. Im just pissed at this little, arrogant ITE loser who thinks those who go JC are snobs.
A question for you son, if those who go JC are animals, what makes of those who goes to ITE? Shit or mentally disabled? Think before you speak boy!
haizx.....
Originally posted by Dead_Man_Inc:nobody want to stuck in ITE, thats why they wanna excel in ITE
i guess you doesn't really mix with people from ITE? because the course i am in now, most of them want to do their best so that they can go into poly.
used to passby simei ite during my train journey everyday then got this kind of impression
between ITEs i think there are 2 worlds apart between Bishan ITE and Simei ITE..
Simei ITE students have got better environment so should score better than their counterparts in Bishan.. (imagine be in a air conditioned class rooms with a sceneric view outside the window of aeroplaces descending from sky.. ,and beautiful girls training on the tracks and of cuz the swimming pool
) also notice that there is quite a significant racial gap in terms of population between ITEs in different areas..
so conclusion,different ITEs varies.. some are not too bad after all..
Originally posted by JJxJJ:go to an ITE campus, you can count the number of people with tucked in shirts with your hand
hmmm actually thats the correct attire.
Either shirt with black pants, or polo tee with black pants for some school. They don't require us to tuck in.
Wrong attire is when the students dye their hair, or wearing their shirt/polo tee with black skinny jean or something