i know my mother still dont understand it.
Just go ROM, do the registration, buy a bouquet and buy 1 table of lunch at a chinese restaurant for the immediate family is a simple wedding.
The important thing is the couple stays together.
Other then that, just get your HDB, pay for renovation. Have your families and friends come by the house and do the solemisation there.
Originally posted by Arkansaw:just go RoM and get cert, simplest
i think 20 dollars for ROM.
it's really the relatives lah.....gets worse if u have extended family and your parents bother with those things
Its the recession.
Most relatives might not even turn up because they have to give ang baos.
I rather the newly weds save the money, just do a small lunch and maybe sponsor the parents for a short trip away.
a 3 nights 4 days trip on a cruise ship will be welcome.
Minimum 20K ba. Dun forget the proposal ring + wedding bands too. ![]()
In restaurant, you can get a table at around 600 but most places would you to have at least 15 tables. And you need to count in the wine and hard liquor price as well. So to be safe, for banquet you need to budget around 20k.
Wedding band will cost around 1k, proposal ring around 1 to 2k if you get it now during sale season. Studio photoshoot can be done in Malaysia if you want it cheap, for around SGD 3k you can get quite a good deal. Then make up and photographer on the day itself will cost around 1k.
So altogether, minus the honeymoon which you can do later when you have more money, you will need around 30k just for a wedding. Better start saving now.
skip the proposal ring.
A wedding does not a marriage make.
Keep that in mind.
Your priority is actually your roof over your head. Settle that, along with renovation, furnishing and electronics first.
Then your shopping for a wedding ring, Maybe$200 a piece and you get a decent gold ones for each of you.
Then the ROM at $26/- and a bouquet of flowers for her.
maybe a miscellanous of angbaos to the helpers and her parents. And also a lunch.
You are wedded, a wedding dont have to cost much if both of you are willing to save for your future.
If I could do it again.
I will still opt for a cheongsum, hair & make up & nice high heels and receive the bouquet of flowers & the gold ring at the solemisation ceremony.
If a spouse choose to host a lunch, its just gravy for me.
There is also break out rooms at the ROM itself such that you can seat the parents on chairs and kneel down to them to receive their blessing. Then finish the signing of the marriage.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:skip the proposal ring.
A wedding does not a marriage make.
Keep that in mind.
Your priority is actually your roof over your head. Settle that, along with renovation, furnishing and electronics first.
Then your shopping for a wedding ring, Maybe$200 a piece and you get a decent gold ones for each of you.
Then the ROM at $26/- and a bouquet of flowers for her.
maybe a miscellanous of angbaos to the helpers and her parents. And also a lunch.
You are wedded, a wedding dont have to cost much if both of you are willing to save for your future.
The banquet is most of the time, to make the parents of both sides happy.
If they are not happy, they will make sure that your married life is not happy as well. I am speaking from experience. Unless you are willing to migrate and move away far, far from them...otherwise the banquet is almost a must.
Get married for what ?
Just live together same as married mah.
Marry marry. wedding wedding... later so leh chey.. have to go through divorce !!
So ah.. no need what ROM what wedding dinner lah.
Don't get married better....
Originally posted by rainee:The banquet is most of the time, to make the parents of both sides happy.
If they are not happy, they will make sure that your married life is not happy as well. I am speaking from experience. Unless you are willing to migrate and move away far, far from them...otherwise the banquet is almost a must.
You tell her also no use lah.
She got married without a dinner... and never believe in having one.
Originally posted by rainee:The banquet is most of the time, to make the parents of both sides happy.
LOL, yes, my mother is not happy that I never hold a banquet for her. I was just gossiping with my sister and she tells me my mother felt that I should hold a banquet, so I wont 'lose out' with my ex hub.
My mother never tells me that. So come to think of it, i guess its true. Parents always want their kids to have banquets for their wedding.
But making life difficult part will go away, usually with the birth of a grandchild.
Though.....that holding banquet thing is, I think we Singaporean spoilt our parents by paying for our own wedding, thats why they demand things of us instead of helping us kids.
The parents were invited to other pple's dinners, so their children marry also must invite others, otherwise they will lose face...
It's just tradition....you should ask your parents how they got married
parents getting married or u getting married
they want this they want that ask them ownself go get married again
and see those times the $$ can do wat
and this times the $$ can oni do wat
Singapore leh...
How many of us can boast that we tell our parents go fly kite and not ganna a 'sky will hit you, lighting will spilt you apart' drama?
Originally posted by jojobeach:You tell her also no use lah.
She got married without a dinner... and never believe in having one.
I'm not just telling her, I am telling everyone here as well.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
LOL, yes, my mother is not happy that I never hold a banquet for her. I was just gossiping with my sister and she tells me my mother felt that I should hold a banquet, so I wont 'lose out' with my ex hub.My mother never tells me that. So come to think of it, i guess its true. Parents always want their kids to have banquets for their wedding.
But making life difficult part will go away, usually with the birth of a grandchild.
Though.....that holding banquet thing is, I think we Singaporean spoilt our parents by paying for our own wedding, thats why they demand things of us instead of helping us kids.
Yea lor...my parents are totally spoilt...they havent been paying anything for me since I was 18.
But, they still brought you into this world.
They love you so much and wish for your best.
So if you dont hold a wedding even to their satisfaction........i think thats about the basic crap about demanding that from the kids.