I am having ingrown toenail and i had went to a polyclinic for treament and the doctor gave me antibiotics as well as antibiotic ointment to apply on it...it has been a week but the swelling is still dere...i am wondering wad to do now as i dont noe if my local polyclinic can do mini surgery on my toe or shld i jus wait it out for my toe to heal?
it won't heal what... as long as the nail is protruding against the flesh the area will remain inflammed...
done day surg @ SGH
till now crossed finger nothing happen again on the operated side
does it need to be done at sgh?polyclinic cant ar?
no
only hospital
Yes, polyclinics can do it, even GPs can too. The procedure is to cut and remove the ingrown part of the nail. My brother had this procedure done at polyclinic many years ago. Its a simple but painful procedure.
o...painful?dont dey have anesthetic?
so at polyclinic,gp or hospital?
Originally posted by xteehee:I am having ingrown toenail and i had went to a polyclinic for treament and the doctor gave me antibiotics as well as antibiotic ointment to apply on it...it has been a week but the swelling is still dere...i am wondering wad to do now as i dont noe if my local polyclinic can do mini surgery on my toe or shld i jus wait it out for my toe to heal?
You can have it removed at private clinic. ![]()
Originally posted by xteehee:o...painful?dont dey have anesthetic?
I did mine in SGH for both toes. =) They injected 5 injections for each toes. You wan, i can send u the pics. I'm going to remove my stitches tommorrow.
stitches... goodness.
Private clinic very ex leh...i tink i tomolo go polyclinic again bah....but need stiches meh?omg i tot its jus a small surgery?
how bad issit?
i used to have it in my sec sch days...i loved to cut it curved and deep into e sides...then comes e pain and pus...
well i leanrt my lessons...cut e nail straight across....
i jus bear w all e pain and cut e nail on my own whenever i have ingrowns..then...put ching cao you..
Originally posted by xteehee:Private clinic very ex leh...i tink i tomolo go polyclinic again bah....but need stiches meh?omg i tot its jus a small surgery?
Yup. Need. They stitch to "hold" your flesh together. Yeah. Go polyclinic for referral to hospital for operation. It's quite a small operation. Can be done in private clinic as well. Private clinic doesn't need stitches. I done it in private and hospital as well. The one i did in private clinic didn't have stitches. SGH have. =) You wan, i can send u the pics(after the operation). It can be quite gross though. Haha.
Originally posted by alfagal:how bad issit?
i used to have it in my sec sch days...i loved to cut it curved and deep into e sides...then comes e pain and pus...
well i leanrt my lessons...cut e nail straight across....
i jus bear w all e pain and cut e nail on my own whenever i have ingrowns..then...put ching cao you..
Yeah. Same. I did it until one day, my flesh won't heal. Haha. No choice. Got to go see specialist.
its obviously swollen but there is no more pus or waterly discharge...it only hurts when pressure is applied on de area where the nail is in contact with the toe's tissue...
Originally posted by xteehee:its obviously swollen but there is no more pus or waterly discharge...it only hurts when pressure is applied on de area where the nail is in contact with the toe's tissue...
Maybe you can try using a hair pin to dig the nail out from the side and cut it.
Damn...means i gotta go sgh after i go polyclninc?its such a waste of time when u have to wait an hour in the polyclinic before u see the doctor jus to get the referral...but private is expensive lar...dont wanna waste my parents money -.-
Originally posted by xteehee:Damn...means i gotta go sgh after i go polyclninc?its such a waste of time when u have to wait an hour in the polyclinic before u see the doctor jus to get the referral...but private is expensive lar...dont wanna waste my parents money -.-
Yeah. It can be very draggy. I waited for 3 hours b4 it's my turn for operation. Hmmm. Maybe you can try private. I did mine at 100+ for private clinic. Which cost around the same as SGH after subsidised. But i only remove half a side of my toe when i did in private. In SGH, i pulled out my whole toe nail. So i don know whether if there's any price difference between this 2 differences.
http://s245.photobucket.com/albums/gg76/zgsb890/ <--- i've uploaded the pics. It can be quite gross.
use a hair pin?i tink i had enuff of self treatments...i dont tink it will work..later get infection again lyk before den cham liao...
u did 2 times on the same toe?means tat 1 of the treatment did not really work well as the ingrown was back?which one would u suggest den?
Originally posted by xteehee:u did 2 times on the same toe?means tat 1 of the treatment did not really work well as the ingrown was back?which one would u suggest den?
Hmmm. Yup. I did twice on my left toe. 1st time i did was at private clinic. It came back again. 2nd time i did it as SGH. It's only recently. My wound is still recovering. So not very sure whether will it come back again. But what the doctor said it's that they removed the growing tissues at the side of my toe. Which means the possibility of having in grown toe nail again is very low. But still not very sure of the outcome yet. Hmmm. I find that SGH is more professional. But it's very time consuming. You need to have an appointment for your referral letter, after that you need to book a operation day, after that you still need to go back for "check up" of the wound after your operation.
Icic...den i shld jus go to do at sgh huh?the whole toenail?tat would take how long for it to grow back?and was the operation painful or was jus gross?
Originally posted by xteehee:Icic...den i shld jus go to do at sgh huh?the whole toenail?tat would take how long for it to grow back?and was the operation painful or was jus gross?
Hmmm. If you don't mind the waiting process. It can drag for 1-2 months b4 the actual day of your operation. Hmmm. Not sure how long it will take for the nail to fully grow back. Didn't ask the doctor. Hmmm. The pain process is only the injection part. After that, you can't feel a single pain.
Had ingrown toenail for a couple of times. Went for small surgery to cut the nail. Depending on how bad it is, may cut partial or entire nail.
As the toe is inflammed, the injection (usually at least 2) of the anaesthetic is damn painful. Then you wont feel a thing when the doctor cut the nail.
But if it's entire nail removal, after the anaesthetic wears off, GOOD LUCK.
:)