Originally posted by Plastic Bag:Had ingrown toenail for a couple of times. Went for small surgery to cut the nail. Depending on how bad it is, may cut partial or entire nail.
As the toe is inflammed, the injection (usually at least 2) of the anaesthetic is damn painful. Then you wont feel a thing when the doctor cut the nail.
But if it's entire nail removal, after the anaesthetic wears off, GOOD LUCK.
:)
Hmmm. I find that it's the dressing of the wound is more painful. Haha. When your blood is dried and stick to the bandange. When they remove.... hohohoho.... High man! Especially when your flesh is still raw(For removal of entire toe nail)!
I have it for 9 years already and its never stops reoccuring. Surgery is the best option i guess.
i agree with alfagal
normally i just dig it out with sharp pins and stuff. i guess u just have to cut ur nails frequently to prevent it from growing =o
Waaaa.....now say untill lyk quite serious sia...how serious den need to remove the nail or stuff?do doctors remove the swollen part too?
Originally posted by xteehee:Waaaa.....now say untill lyk quite serious sia...how serious den need to remove the nail or stuff?do doctors remove the swollen part too?
Hmmm. Got to see. It all depends on the condition and your surgeon. As long as you got in grown toe nail, they will definately remove it. It's just whether is it entire or just cut and remove half of your nail. I don't think they remove the swollen part of your flesh. I might be wrong though. Cause they used a cloth to cover the process of the surgery. After the surgery, they will give u antibiotics and med for swelling. By the way, you can use your parents medisave for the operation fees in SGH. You need their signature if you're below 21 of age for the operation.
What are ingrown toenails? Why do nails "grow inside?"
Ingrown toenails are the most common nail impairment. This happens when your nail has corners or sides which dig painfully into your nail grooves when they grow, causing inflammation.
Most of your toenails grow straight out. But sometimes, their corners and edges can curve inwards. The big toe is the most commonly afflicted.
Ingrown toenails can occur for a number of reasons:
Is there any way to reverse ingrown toenails? Can I make my nails grow straight again?
Ingrown toenails are best treated by a dermatologist. The doctor can resect the ingrown portion of your toenail using chemicals, lasers or other methods.
Originally posted by xteehee:Private clinic very ex leh...i tink i tomolo go polyclinic again bah....but need stiches meh?omg i tot its jus a small surgery?
Then you cut it yourself lor....last time I believed those cavemen also did it themselves. ![]()
i always got. Then it will swell abit and when i squeeze,sometimes got pus or some watery liquid come out. I just dug out the nail poking against the flesh using a pointy object then use a nail clipper to clip the nail away. Then i just let it heal
used to do dat as well too..
well i just came back from the polyclinic and i have an appt at alexandra hospital is 3 weeks time...lets just hope it can heal in tat 3 weeks so i dont have to do the surgery which look gross...
Why never do pedicure one...
lols...how i noe will lyk tat...haix...
Get a pedicure set. U will find the correct tools to cut off those
ingrown nail. I used to cut those ingrown nail myself.
my toe is swollen leh...anw i got an appt at alexandra ler so i tink i shall seek help dere bah...jus kinda scared stitches and pictures from gabrielhrteo's surgery -.-
Originally posted by xteehee:my toe is swollen leh...anw i got an appt at alexandra ler so i tink i shall seek help dere bah...jus kinda scared stitches and pictures from gabrielhrteo's surgery -.-
That's good. Did the doctor from the polyclinic give you antibiotic? Your wound must not be infected. So that the doctors from alexandra are able to give u an operation date. Hmmm. It only the injection that hurts. But once the anesthetic starts to wear off. You will feel pain. But it's only for a night. =) I removed my stitches today at the polyclinic.
i went to the polyclinic twice ler today was the 2nd time....i finished the antibiotics before tis visit and the doctor did not issue any medication except for cleaning thw wound and cream...so u would go to the hospital once to see what the doctor can do before giving u another date for the operation?anw taking out the stitches painful?
Originally posted by xteehee:i went to the polyclinic twice ler today was the 2nd time....i finished the antibiotics before tis visit and the doctor did not issue any medication except for cleaning thw wound and cream...so u would go to the hospital once to see what the doctor can do before giving u another date for the operation?anw taking out the stitches painful?
Hmmm. Yup. The doctor from the hospital will inspect your wound. If it's not infected, they will set a date for your operation day. Hmmm. Removing of stitches is not really painful. =)
I read and read, and somehow didnt see anyone advising the TS that he/she needs to go to the Polyclinics first, see doctor then get the referral to the hospitals.
Or TS knows already?
BTW, those who does pedicures and manicures, a really good salon will recommend a ingrown nail sufferer to the doctor first, have some surgery and help with securing a splint on the toes affected to prevent the skin tissue from closing in and result in ingrown nails again.
Not sure such salons or such kinda work still exists anymore.
Also daily care should help stop further ingrown nails, wearing sandals that free your toes. Maybe a daily routine that after shower, use a wooden cuticle stick to press down on the nail sides, drawing in a groove/drain on the soft tissues to form a nail shape kind work.
I have it for 9 years already and its never stops reoccuring. Surgery is the best option i guess.
You should always leave a bit of toenail out and not to cut your toenail too close to the skin of your toe. ![]()
BTW TS mentioned swelling.
At night sleep or sit down rest, put the feet up with pillows propping your feet up.
And have a ice pack ready to place on your toes gently.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I read and read, and somehow didnt see anyone advising the TS that he/she needs to go to the Polyclinics first, see doctor then get the referral to the hospitals.
Or TS knows already?
BTW, those who does pedicures and manicures, a really good salon will recommend a ingrown nail sufferer to the doctor first, have some surgery and help with securing a splint on the toes affected to prevent the skin tissue from closing in and result in ingrown nails again.
Also daily care should help stop further ingrown nails, wearing sandals that free your toes. Maybe a daily routine that after shower, use a wooden cuticle stick to press down on the nail sides, drawing in a groove/drain on the soft tissues to form a nail shape kind work.
By the time TS had to slip through all these procedures to get his ingrown toenail removed, TS will be removing his ingrown toenail TUMOUR or his toe in the hospital.
I don't see what's so expensive and unaffordable for TS to hop into his nearest friendly neighbourhood private clinic and remove his ingrown toenail.
Unless TS planned to claim some form of insurance for his ingrown toenail? I don't think such policies ever even exists. ![]()
Ok....TS is extremely afraid of the PAIN.
Some clinics dont have those facilities for those procedures lah.
But their referrals means its cheaper to do it at hospitals.
Private hospitals and clincs charge really private prices. Pain wise depends on person too.
Some can tahan, some cannot. Some ingrown nails different ingrown positions too.
I forgot to mention, since TS is doing the ingrown nail surgery. Why not schedule a circumcision at the same time if the TS have not done it.
(After all, the TS will be limping, doing the circumsice part will also induce limping.....so do both together lor.)
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I read and read, and somehow didnt see anyone advising the TS that he/she needs to go to the Polyclinics first, see doctor then get the referral to the hospitals.
Or TS knows already?
Hmmm. Didn't you read my past few posts? Didn't i said need to go polyclinic and get referral letter? And i don't see a point of getting a circum as well. I don't see where you are getting to.
Double post.