Originally posted by purplejade:Over at my Mum's, they have a bigger worry - snakes!
Your problem would be solved if you lived in the same area, and at least the pythons won't come for me!
snakes/pythons? where's ya mum's place i try to avoid there whenever possible...![]()
let me offer you a better suggestion to be more humane, have a new pet cat, and it will keep the rat at bay
to think of it i have a dead rat at my downstairs since yesterday..seems that being killed by the meow meows...and has been lying there up to now...within one day its whole stomach gone...being makan-ed by the infesting files...
stil remembered that my sec sch D&T teacher told me that chloroform is used for... u noe... always tv shows the hankerchief cover the girl mouth n nose and then she passed out...
i work in a lab. i can give it to you.
Originally posted by Lin Yu:let me offer you a better suggestion to be more humane, have a new pet cat, and it will keep the rat at bay
cats are cruelty to mice .... that's not humane ...... ![]()
Originally posted by Dvon:i work in a lab. i can give it to you.
ether, or chloroform ? ....
this also need to ask
chloroform is just a mixture of chlorine (bleach) and ethanol (drinking alcohol ie whisky/brandy or thermometer alcohol)
go mix it yourself
and i assure you it works. They dont call me pedobear for nothing
just DIY lor. Add dettol into some bleach and it will become chloroform. Dun believe? Try it on yourself lah.
yes yes, I know wikipedia said that ..... ![]()
but please read the entire wiki paragraph on that first ... you want me to die issit ? ....
Buy a snake.......................feed the mice to it
Wow i like purplejade answer sia , erm by the way your mum house gt what kind of snake ar ? python or black cobra ? Sg got alot of such snakes . By the way hor , only cats that have not been neutered will catch mice , those that have been neutered or put it simply castrated will lose their aggresiveness . Trust me my mum seen it before the before and after effect of being neutered .
i pity the rats.
Be careful any in case with chlorofoam... It spontanously becomes phosgene(extremely toxic) in wrong conditions...
Originally posted by jgho83:i pity the rats.
you're very welcome to take in all the rats I catch ......
ok sure.
mousehunt!~!~!
Originally posted by jgho83:ok sure.
great, I'll let you know when the next catch comes in ....
be sure that you're taking them in yah .... not bring to some ulu or forested place and letting them go .....
that way you're either just pushing your rat problem onto someone else, or causing greater ecological damage ....
please keep us updated regularly about how the mice are doing .... ![]()
Simple solution - move to purplejade's mother's neighbourhood. No rats and happy snakes. ![]()
i will just put them back to your home. LOL
Originally posted by jgho83:i will just put them back to your home. LOL
so you just talk and shiok shiok only lah ? ....
anyone who pities the rats ... please, you're welcome to take them in ....
Originally posted by Gedanken:Simple solution - move to purplejade's mother's neighbourhood. No rats and happy snakes.
and purplejade would still be with us ! ... ![]()
Originally posted by purplejade:Yah, but unless discarded food is wrapped up well, it becomes an invitation to the rodents and whatever else that there's a food haven.
Perhaps it's time all the neighbours got to together to tackle the problem.
oh ..... was that what caused the mice infestation at your home the last time ? ... improperly wrapped food ? or was it improperly disposed rubbish ? .....
I think mine's due to the constant availability of pet food and water, 24/7 for my two critters ... the mice seems to particularly like rabbit feed ... ![]()
Originally posted by TWE:Wow i like purplejade answer sia , erm by the way your mum house gt what kind of snake ar ? python or black cobra ? Sg got alot of such snakes . By the way hor , only cats that have not been neutered will catch mice , those that have been neutered or put it simply castrated will lose their aggresiveness . Trust me my mum seen it before the before and after effect of being neutered .
My mum's house is near the nature reserve so lots of animals pop by. In fact, sick , wounded and unwanted animals seem to know they'll be in good hands there. Sadly, people even abandon their cats at her front gate. We had baby pythons and tree vipers and some other types. I'm not into pets of the reptilian kind.
You are spot on about the difference between neutered and unneutered cats. After being neutered, they sort of became "ah kua" cats (pardon the choice).
Originally posted by Fatum:oh ..... was that what caused the mice infestation at your home the last time ? ... improperly wrapped food ? or was it improperly disposed rubbish ? .....
There wasn't an infestation, just the odd mousey around. They were field mice - small, cute ones that you'll find in rice fields. With my mum's method of disposal, the pests will die of fatigue and hunger before they reach the "goodies" within.