ur mean ur 150 is plus frame ah?
mine quoted me 240 for lens nia.
yup, 150 plus frame.
transition got so cheep de meh.
hw u find ur transition lens - gd?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:transition got so cheep de meh.
hw u find ur transition lens - gd?
by right "transition" lens RRP should be 200++ and only in 1.5/1.6/1.67 index, if mid index means not transition but should be photochromatic lens also. "transition" is a brand name like "nike" "adidas"
quality wise most brands i've seen pretty much work around the same(colour changing and uv400 ). if there's a difference it isn't really obvious (unless you have some idea of how your lenses should work).
only problem is whether the multicoat will last if you're going for multicoated ones.
got option of multicoat ah?
hw much more will it cost?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:got option of multicoat ah?
hw much more will it cost?
brochure i read listed transition lenses as $260 with multicoat, $230 without.(1.5 index)
if you're not too particular about which company your lenses come from and just want transition. usually neighbourhood side sell them from $180+/- (real transitions brand 1.5 index with multicoat) there shouldn't be any noticeable difference in quality as "transitions" will only deal with reputable lens companies.
some companies also have their own photochromatic lens products like "seiko".RRP is around the same also(i forgot). never heard of anyone getting those but i guess quality should be around there.
price wise if you're looking for something that doesn't cost an arm and a leg but works the same way you can just ask your optician for a recommendation. like another member here mentioned there are photochromatic lenses that work almost exactly the same, multicoated and mid index but cost maybe around $130+/-.
for the cheapest of the cheap, i've actually heard from a guy in a optical shop telling me he heard rumors of people selling real transitions lenses for only 60++ how true it is i dunno but i think he mentioned either north or east side.
saw your thread on mustafa, if you're not in a hurry to get your glasses you can consider trying mustafa. at least 3-4 indian guys i've met showed me branded frames(funny thing is they all got pradas) they got from from mustafas and at around half of what you see in shopping centers.
so if its branded stuff you want you can try that side.
if not, there's bugis, haven't seen the shop for myself but the girl swears there is a shop there that sells plastic frames and the one she got cost her only $9.90. quality wise looks very plasticky but ok not the type thats going to break or anything.
but these 2 places you can get frames only, lenses have to get elsewhere.
are transition lens thick?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:are transition lens thick?
that depends on your degree, the higher the thicker it would be.
if you're going for a normal plastic frame, for 1.5 index transition lenses the thickness of the frame should be able to cover most of the thickness up till maybe 200-300 degrees, got other factors involve also, like the size of the frame the bigger the thicker unless you're a hyperopic
its thickness is relative, like 1.5 for someone like me would be very very thin since i'm only 25 degrees but 1.67 ultra thin would still turn out to be coke bottle lenses for someone with 900 degrees.
if you're going for plastic frames and your pwr is around 3 to 400 degree it would be thinner if you go for med index like 1.56 or high index like 1.6.
so chim loh.
mine is 200+ nia.
transition cn mk thin anot?
Erm.... Not exactly sure but....
Mine seems to be 1.5...? I have 400 degree on my left and 500 on my right.
The brand of my lense is Sun Active...? Or Active Sun...?
Seems to work pretty well for me... Cause i don't have to squint whenever theres sun light unlike my old specs.
Mine as multi-coat on the lense too..?
And i paid 150 buck for the lense and an 80 buck frame.
For your 200 degree plus eyesight, it will be really thin.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:so chim loh.
mine is 200+ nia.
transition cn mk thin anot?
if you go for sun actives(med index i think is 1.56) they'll be quite thin with plastic frames. those come with multicoats as well.
if willing to pay more sunactives got a hybrid lens or something, dunno the price but a friend who got that showed me his glasses and his glasses was so clear i couldn't see the lenses.
wt is thinner - glass or plastic?
transition oso got hybrid lens?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wt is thinner - glass or plastic?
transition oso got hybrid lens?
glass usually comes in 1.5/1.7/1.8/1.9 index
average is glass thinner but for your degree not much of a diff(you won't be able to tell)
hybrid is only for sunactives(its just another model for the lenses)
what i've seen for transitions so far
1.5+multicoat
1.6+multicoat
1.6+multicoat+impact resistance(polycarbonate material)
1.67 multicoat
go malaysia buy lo. see whether more cheap lo
go for seiko frames..im using one..titanium, ultra light, hypo allergenic and have asian frames.. or u can try lindberg as well..
dis is gettin too technical for me.
me oladi hav silhouette titanium one.
me dunwan go msia; my papa oso dun like.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:dis is gettin too technical for me.
me oladi hav silhouette titanium one.
me dunwan go msia; my papa oso dun like.
index is the higher the thinner but it doesn't matter unless you got high power like 300 and above
HelloKitty, you don't really have to worry because your eyesight isn't that bad... So even if you use a 1.5 index, it will be thin.
Cause basically... The higher your eyesight's degree is, the thicker the lense. But to make the lense thinner, they increase the "index". So your 200 degree eyesight with a 1.5 index lense isn't a problem at all.
So what you can get that, isn't too costly, is a plastic frame specs with a 1.5 index transition lense with multi-coat.
That is the exact same thing as mine. So it will all depend on the cost of the frame you choose.
erm, lealli?
coz for my last pair, me made thinner the lens oso...
OMG for the love of god... We told u like so many times already... Your spectacle degree of 200 is super low... as compared to others... So your lense by right is DAMMMM thin.
no leh.
i made thin liao stil find it beri thick leh.
mabbe our perceptions of thickness are beri diff.
Wait till your 500 degrees...
Seriously i said all i have to say already.? If your really so concern bout the thickness, you can just burn your cash and go for the high index transition lense.
my black plastic flamed spec last me almost 10years and still using it. but dun think it will suit u ba
no, it wun.
me tried my frd's geeky de.
bt no suit my sweet image.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:no leh.
i made thin liao stil find it beri thick leh.
mabbe our perceptions of thickness are beri diff.
if you're going for normal multicoated lenses assuming your pwr is only 2oo and no extra funny stuff. med index is about the thinnest you can get unless you get a really big frame.
the difference between med index and the rest of those super ultra high index is negligible. (those super high index lenses don't come in your pwr range anyway)
for photochromatic you can just go for 1.5 for small plastic frames if not you can take 1.56 sunactives or 1.6 transitions.