give me 5k usd and i`ll show u around singapore when u come here LOL. cheap cheap .
well..Hong Kong would be a better place to work, society there is more vibrant and friendlier and definitely less stressful, not only that you also have more exposure to china's soaring market
care, welfare and respect accorded to elder citizens are also superior
the working environment in sg is too mundane and no-life, less enjoyable
but again, it's up to individuals
Originally posted by noodle-eater:I am currently in USA, and recently got laid-off. Last year I went to Sinapore and being born in Indonesia, I LOVE Singapore food and weather. But I am not sure If I would like it long term. People whom I know that used to love in Singapore said the place is very small, not very family/ elderly friendly. And it's "suffocating" due to the people's mentality and selfishness.
So should I make the leap and move to Singapore?
Don't come here to add onto the unemployment number....
Originally posted by noodle-eater:I am currently in USA, and recently got laid-off. Last year I went to Sinapore and being born in Indonesia, I LOVE Singapore food and weather. But I am not sure If I would like it long term. People whom I know that used to love in Singapore said the place is very small, not very family/ elderly friendly. And it's "suffocating" due to the people's mentality and selfishness.
This is important....
What makes you think USA is WORSE OFF than Singapore?
Answer this diligently and you can make the leap to move to Singapore.
It's always refreshing to know why other countries are so worse off compared to Singapore. ![]()
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me oly like angmos & sporean chinese.
the rest are rejected coz they r inferior.
no link.
Originally posted by noodle-eater:What do people do for fun? Aside from browsing the malls? I do love the food court though, but I wonder how long my love for hawker food would sustain my life there.
If you come here better make hell of a lot of money. And the world's your oyster.
But chances are you will have just enough money with no surplus.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:
no link.
got link,,,Hello Kitty is a nazi.....
she reads mein kampf and nazi euthanics diligently..
i think you're crazy if you want to move to a place where you might not like the people.
dun come la. you lucky enough to be in the us. stay there la. minimum wage also 8-9 us dollars. tough it out
Thanks all. (Except the Indo-hater). I never felt at home in The US since I moved here, I feel more at home in a more "asian" type of places. Even here, I like to frequent asian markets and communities. I got a call recently from a reqruiter in Singapore interested in foreign skilled worker, it's not for sure yet. But since I am going through a painful divorce now, I feel I have nothing here anymore, I don't even have friends here because of my past arrogance. Going to Singapore I feel will perhaps give me a fresh start and new environment, taking me away from painful memories.
I went to Singapore for vacation many times and so I have always had positive/ fun impression of it. Never spend more than a week however. But from the sounds of it, many of you are unhappy? Is Singapore so mundane and ruthless?
Food Republic is heaven btw...so is Toast Box!
The recruiter told me that the salary for the positions he mentioned is 6-7k$ing/ mo. How is that in Singapore is that ok? How much is the housing and food and transportation cost/ month? Would I be able to save plenty?
Come here if you like to work... as in 12 or more hours a day for 5 days a week... with no OT claim and whatsoever given the current economic situation.
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:well..Hong Kong would be a better place to work, society there is more vibrant and friendlier and definitely less stressful, not only that you also have more exposure to china's soaring market
care, welfare and respect accorded to elder citizens are also superior
the working environment in sg is too mundane and no-life, less enjoyable
but again, it's up to individuals
Tio...
if you have been to hong kong, you would be attracted to there even more
Don't be so impressed by the lifestyle in sg just becos you had a pleasant vacation here, work and holidaying are different altogether
Do find out more about the ungracious, ugly and kiasu culture over in sg before you make the switch
Singaporeans live in a pressure cooker from competitive school to office or business in a society that rates economic growth and accumulation of wealth over social etiquette
for your info, the happiness index in sg is ranked the lowest in whole of southeast asia, most workers here are too stressful, hot-tempered
If you have been exposed enough to singapore forums, the locals in sg are mostly annoyed by the influx of foreigners to compete with them, so do not expect them to be nice to you
Originally posted by noodle-eater:The recruiter told me that the salary for the positions he mentioned is 6-7k$ing/ mo. How is that in Singapore is that ok? How much is the housing and food and transportation cost/ month? Would I be able to save plenty?
6 to 7k, so little, expatriat at least must hv 10k and above...another garang guni job, must be.
food republic & toast box are like shit can.
6-7k SGD is above average.
and srsly, food republic and toast box is shit. real shit.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:6-7k SGD is above average.
and srsly, food republic and toast box is shit. real shit.
ya lor. it's to bluff ang mo one
I have thought about it myself as I have had on-and-off stays of varying length in SG, like now for example. Lived and worked in a number of countries around the world, UK, Canada, USA, and whilst all have their good and bad points, SG (imho) brings a good balance. And yes, the food is brill, and the weather sure beats that of my home country.
wow.
me luv pilots.
are you mad?!
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wow.
me luv pilots.
And people in SG appreciate pilots and our services ;)
Need I say more?
dot dot dot
Parn & No_10,
I live and work in San Francisco, CA in US. The I like tropical weather, also, since I am a foodie, the asian food here is really inferior and way expensive. I do like the fact that here I can afford to own a car and drive around to relieve stress, I know in Spore, I won't be able to due to costs.
No_10, I have heard about the Kia Su culture of Sporeans. And I MIGHT have experienced it during my short time there, if that's true and the majority, then I might reconsider. I am not very agressive, so I get frustrated by mean/ snappy people.
I am chinese BTW, I speak mandarin.
San Fran is a nice place, though fairly expensive like Orange County.
But Sg is terribly hot, humid & as you mentioned, not very friendly. But use a bit of american twang in your speaking....and you can see magic.