Food wise, nothing beats home cooked meals.
Consider importing your mother or a real nice asian girl that can cook. Both should be able to satisfy your food cravings for local food in USA.
why move here? i am in the midst of taking over the goverment and it would be bloody.
ya lah. you will regret moving here during noon everyday.
NO
If you are Indonesian or have dark skin colour. You may have a hard time integrating among the locals; unless you hang out with your buddies from Indonesia and form a clique, which is what most of us here learn to do.
Also you will draw flak from locals (including me) for coming over to steal our jobs! Especially if you are not a PR and haven;t done your army time.
Yes it isn't very friendly at all, well mostly not. There is ageism (i read it in the paper i did!), forced cpf savings which you'll never see, and local people can be parochial. But then again it depends on who you'll be mixing with. You haven't really said what job you are hoping to do?
If you want to make money: SIn is the place for elite high tech professional types; doctors, chemical engineers, mechanical engineers, bio-tech people etc. There is no minimum wage and PR is bloody hard to get apparently.
If you must leave USA< i may suggest Australia as a good place; it's currently going through a skills shortage and they'd love immigrants. The only problem is i think they prefer brits or europeans ;)
Good lucK.
LOL to Kitty; Are there really Singaporean girls that WOULD PAY to become American citizens!?!?! That's the most ridiculous thing i've ever heard!!
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:LOL to Kitty; Are there really Singaporean girls that WOULD PAY to become American citizens!?!?! That's the most ridiculous thing i've ever heard!!
Hmmm.....you are kinda true. We mostly hear Asian girls marrying americans to become american pr.
Or Asian men paying to marry a american citizen to get PR.
Not much is heard about Asian females paying american men to become american PR.
But hey, since I ever did tell a female g/f to do just that Like.....maybe....last month. So how about cutting me some slack to be the 0.01 percent of urban myth you now heard about?
Originally posted by AngZangGui:Come here if you like to work... as in 12 or more hours a day for 5 days a week... with no OT claim and whatsoever given the current economic situation.
yes,
especially in local companies and local bosses, be careful of labour exploitations and infringement of human rights, brute-force tactics and tight deadlines that stress the hell out of you, no work-life balance
Here is the most stressful city in the world
http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/349937
as you have already been aware of this tragedy of an indonesian student in a stresspore uni
his fate may not have been so tragic if he has pursued his education in other countries
please tink carefully before you come to stresspore, the lifestyle here will suffocate you until you become bonkers
the education is already enough to drive most students bonkers
disgruntled citizen pouring kerosene on minister, attempting to torch him up
the working life is even worst
Originally posted by No_10_Tomas:http://www.sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/349937
as you have already been aware of this tragedy of an indonesian student in a stresspore uni
his fate may not have been so tragic if he has pursued his education in other countries
please tink carefully before you come to stresspore, the lifestyle here will suffocate you until you become bonkers
the education is already enough to drive most students bonkers
disgruntled citizen pouring kerosene on minister, attempting to torch him up
the working life is even worst
yah yah go to America
there got no depressed students
no
Our friend is from america, but venturing into Asia to work
my advice is to work in Hong Kong
never come to no-life stresspore
give a thought about shanghai, since u are bilingual, u' shld be able to get a pretty decent job there, and china's potential is so great, n working life here is still rather relaxed compared to Singapore. better still, if u can get a job that pays S$ 6-7 k equivalent in china, u'll live very well here. plus there're tons of things u can do in china
minus points are a lack of singapore food if u're such a sg foodie, bad traffic, and zillions of people..
Hmm.. I didn't know so many of you are so critical of your own country. Funny a few years back I watched a show showcasing Singaporean Happiness index and according to it, many Singaporeans are happy and content. Maybe things have changed lately for the worse...
I am of Chinese descendant, and speak mandarin, even a bit of Tio Chiu, which should help, I do speak english with no accent as well..
I am getting a lot warning signs from the forumers about the stress level, which really making me think twice.
I can't stand pushy people and stressfull work environment. I have always worked with white/ caucasian and find some of them very stressful to work with. I have never worked with a Chinese boss which is why I tend to think that chinese working for chinese might be abit better, which obviously may not be true at all.
Ageism is also a big fear of mine, at 37, I am not a stud anymore, and I also don't like places that disrespect the elderly.
My profession is in architecture, city planning / related fields, but I am also open to ALL other jobs. I am ready to start from scratch. I have an Ivy League education, I was hoping to leverage that to my advantage.
My only thing about China is that it's just going to make me live even further than my family, which is in Indo right now.
One question I forgot to ask, what is the cause of the stress? Is it the small proximity? The amount of people? The housing? Are kids born stressed-out?
Ermm....Singapore is kinda over developed with buildings stuff right now.
Most are not stroller/wheelchair friendly places, and chances are, they wont be improving anytime soon.
You could try to interview for jobs, but dont put too much hope in landing one. Unless you are planning to teach, or simply starting something new.