i can speak fluently..
Originally posted by Alan Lee:How many of you guys can speak Hokkien fluently?
Your fluently mean normal hokkien sentances conversation or including those "vocab" for various things like >spatular,hostel,hotel etc?
Hokkien is still quite profound as still got a few variations of "heng hua" > "nam an" > "jiao wan" > "tang wan" > "an quay" etc....same words might sound different.
only the vulgarities....i'm damn fluent
Originally posted by bo liao:
Your fluently mean normal hokkien sentances conversation or including those "vocab" for various things like >spatular,hostel,hotel etc?Hokkien is still quite profound as still got a few variations of "heng hua" > "nam an" > "jiao wan" > "tang wan" > "an quay" etc....same words might sound different.
You have an great knowledge of the hokkien language.
When I say "fluent hokkien", I mean the basic sentence structure is in hokkien while using some borrowed words from other languages is also acceptable.
There are slight differences between �安(nam ua~), 安溪(an khue), �安(tang ua~), �安(tsiau an) �湾(tai uan) etc... Each of them has a different accent. However, they are very similar and mutually comprehensible.
Do you know what kind of accent you have?
Originally posted by Alan Lee:You have an great knowledge of the hokkien language.
When I say "fluent hokkien", I mean the basic sentence structure is in hokkien while using some borrowed words from other languages is also acceptable.
There are slight differences between �安(nam ua~), 安溪(an khue), �安(tang ua~), �安(tsiau an) �湾(tai uan) etc... Each of them has a different accent. However, they are very similar and mutually comprehensible.
Do you know what kind of accent you have?
No lah, i dun hv great knowledge...these are just some of the more well-known variations, jus sharing with others that might not know in your thread...my hokkien is jus normal.. sometimes talking with customers also find my limitations in hokkien vocab..lol
Well, then i consider i still can speak quite fluently bah..there are still got many ppl sometimes talking in hokkien i also blur, especially those "ar mo lou" sai kong..lol
Actually i'm �州人 (based on father>but dunno much,only cursing vocabs & some very simple words)。。mother side is hokkien (�安version) , my fiance or fiancee (dunno which is correct) side is �安version的�建人。but i speak 安溪+ abit of金门version of �建。。
You then hv alot of hokkien knowledge la ....dun humber ler..
Edited:Some variations can be understanded by ppl that already know hokkien..
1 example is >>English is Yes lah >Chinese is 是啦。。
when in different version of hokkien become
>> normal hokkien is "see la"
>> some other version like taiwan's become "hay ah"
When i work in taiwan i hear some words i also blur blur only can smile..untill the ppl there translate for me...just like taiwan's hokkien chinese software, 有一些 is "hokkien chinese words in their type version of æ±‰è¯æ‹¼éŸ³ã€‚。" can type hokkien in chinese word, just like some hokkien songs lyrics.
Jiak sai... ![]()
Originally posted by Q.C.Pak:Jiak sai...
好�。。全部的味�都在一起。。超赞的级�。。![]()
Edited: i believe >Like Devil1976 and many other forumers are able to also speak fluent hokkien base on my brother's description when they go SGF outing.
Originally posted by bo liao:
好�。。全部的味�都在一起。。超赞的级�。。
hou jia. jing wu zu bi, jing hou gai chang ping
No, I am forever struggling to speak fluently. Even colleagues around me laughed at me when I speak. I find hokkien very tough to learn and speak. Unlike cantonese which has so many similarities as Mandarin, Hokkien is tough - one word can have many pronunication, OMG! I give up!