As the name suggested, I went to the shop and purchased some instructional DVDs. Learnt from other forums that they sell pirated DVDs later on!
Was skeptical at first, but realised the truth after doing my own investigation!
&$*@(^#&(@
Thought Singapore is supposed to be free of piracy? Assholes man!
Worst is that they sold me for the price of an original!
Anyone who has bought things from there, please double check! They are freaking cheats!
Think the government offers money for revealing pirated usage from companies right?
Buyers beware!
The shop is located at the concorde hotel and now another new one at plaza sing basement. Of course got money for rent lah! Cheating people's money for selling pirated stuff what!
is for poor ppl
now then u know. Most "speciality" stores are like that. The magic market in small in SG. There are only so many magic stores. Dunno true a not but heard they import the real thing together with the other "rival" magic stores, copy and repackage it, then sell to poor people like us. Doesn't only happen to CDs, DVDs, VCD. A lot of the magic tricks are re-used.
Wah Piang! If sell at 5 dollars, fair enough la...we will just keep quiet...everyone goes home happy...
But why wanna cheat and sell at original price?
I'm a big fan of magic and i always support the art. But this time is really fed up man!
You all just imagine i bought close to 15 dvds from there already man! spent my entire bonus there can!
And the stupid salesman arrogant like shit like that! Keep insisting that they are original! And they say that i demanding when i showed them the evidence! Trust me ah, they mess with the wrong person this time.
Just to let these assholes know if they are reading...Piracy is a CRIMINAL OFFENCE!
now then u know. Most "speciality" stores are like that. The magic market in small in SG. There are only so many magic stores. Dunno true a not but heard they import the real thing together with the other "rival" magic stores, copy and repackage it, then sell to poor people like us. Doesn't only happen to CDs, DVDs, VCD. A lot of the magic tricks are re-used.
If they provide a service that is worthwhile, its fair enough...but they are practically cheating!
Then like that i also open magic shop and sell pirated things loh....
haha...thanks a lot AirGrinder, you made a very good point.
The magic circle in singapore is small, that's why they can get away with it...cos there will always be people they can cheat....
my point here is to let everyone who has ever bought from them to know that they have been cheated...
don't believe? go have a look at your dvds. then go compare them with orginal dvds, don't even have to be magic ones...carrefour 5 dollars movie dvds also can...
then you'll see that its very obvious
i also want people who intends to go there to beware...shit happened to me...it stinks...stay away from that shit place!
anyone can suggest what i else i can do? think the government will reward people who provide information on companies who do piracy right?
Originally posted by Magic hall sucks:
make those cd magically disappear la. . end story
Originally posted by maskedangel:make those cd magically disappear la. . end story
I will make those cd magically appear right up their a**!
I think you're talking about Solomon, the magic Demonstrator at Magic Hall.
Actually, a lot of people already knew that they are doing piracy. Its just that most people will close one eye. They've got nothing to lose anyway.
I used to be a customer of that shop until I too, found out about the piracy. Even then, I still went down to support in terms of buying props.
But to me, the ulitmate was the attitude of Solomon. That really drove me up the wall.
He was extremely arrogant. I just couldn't stand his attitude anymore.
Service at Magic Hall is indeed somewhat ridiculous. They are way too pushy and very impatient. Its like we owed them a living.
Trust me, there are other magic shops here that provide better service and quality items.
Honestly, nothing needs to be done about them. They are falling into their own depths.
Their end is very near.
why dun juz call or report to police
Actually, I don't think its going to do much difference going to the police.
From what I know of the Intellectual Property Rights, you will need the original copyright holder to be filing the report.
Most of the magic videos are from the US, hence it will be pretty touch to bring it all the way up to the authorities.
Like I said, you don't have to do much. What goes around, comes around. I don't think they will survive long.
Hey
I have been doing sleight of hands for a long time and I was actually intending to go down there to get some props for other stuff. Thankfully I read your post.
Anyone here has a better shop to recommend?
Go Chinatown Point and Look for Steven. His shop name is Magic Supreme and he offers really good service! =) Shop is on the 3rd floor I think.
Easy, report to CASE. Since u claim there's also other buyers who bought pirated DVDs unknowingly, i believe the group of you can submit a complain to CASE
Survive long? they even opened up another branch! this just proves how much money they earning from piracy!
they are treating everyone as suckers! think they purposely sell their pirated stuff to newbies atr plaza singapore so they won't suspect
yeah, I've thought of going to case. but how to contact the fellow customers who were victimised?
I can't possibly stand outside the shop and wait....I just have to think of a better solution...
makanyhow, besides supreme magic at chinatown, there are a few more magic shops in singapore
penisular plaza 3rd or 4th floor got one
shaw towers 2nd floor
paramount shopping centre 4th floor
these are the ones i know of...
may not be as big and fancy as magic shit hall, but at lease they are honest and won't
cheat people's money, service is better than solomon provide.
he think he so good eh...ask him to take a look around ah, he is shit compared to good magicians like jeremy pei and jc sum
Erm... Original dvds... all come with license sticker one... 
i think these are more for movies for the public.
oh, when you buy dvds at the stupid shop, trust me, please open the cover and look at the dvd. they are freaking obvious that they are self burnt on their own computer.
and the covers are sealed up, so that means you can't check until the money is paid.
Then why are they called The Media Development Authority?
They are in charged in licensing every media that flows into SG... Thus even music and games goes through them, let alone your instruction dvd...
If you suspect it's fake, you can always call the police and raid the shop.
Originally posted by Magic hall sucks:Survive long? they even opened up another branch! this just proves how much money they earning from piracy!
they are treating everyone as suckers! think they purposely sell their pirated stuff to newbies atr plaza singapore so they won't suspect
yeah, I've thought of going to case. but how to contact the fellow customers who were victimised?
I can't possibly stand outside the shop and wait....I just have to think of a better solution...
makanyhow, besides supreme magic at chinatown, there are a few more magic shops in singapore
penisular plaza 3rd or 4th floor got one
shaw towers 2nd floor
paramount shopping centre 4th floor
these are the ones i know of...
may not be as big and fancy as magic shit hall, but at lease they are honest and won't
cheat people's money, service is better than solomon provide.
he think he so good eh...ask him to take a look around ah, he is shit compared to good magicians like jeremy pei and jc sum
Thanks man. Will check out these shops
Hi there, I chanced upon this forum and saw that you guys were talking about Magic Hall.
I would like to share my personal experience with you all.
I first started going to Magic Hall in late 2007. The shop was very impressive, fully stocked up decorated in such a way that truly represented the term 'Magic Shop'.
I spend quite an amount of time there, hanging out and bringing my friends there.
The owner, Kenneth is a nice guy. However, the other guy, Solomon is nothing close.
He will always express his unhappiness indirectly but very obvious when me and my friends hang out too much in the shop.
Come on man, we were spending huge amounts on their props and DVDs. At least give us a bit of patience.
Selling was the only thing on his mind. Once the sale has been made, he'll treat you like rubbish.
I remembered he treated me like a king when I attended his personal magic course. For S$450, he told me that I will get to master almost all the key moves needed to execute the majority of close-up magic tricks.
He came to my place to teach and it was a 4 hour session and I would have to say that his skills indeed impressed me at that time.
I was a beginner and I knew zero about magic. When I became more versed in the art, I realised that he had been teaching me nonsensical tricks.
Tricks that can be learnt either from youtube or from bookworm kids' books.
Solomon is an extremely dishonest person.
I'm sorry to say this, but he totally destroyed the reputation of magic hall.
I didn't know about their piracy until now. I guess I've been cheated more than once now.
But I'm not a customer of their's anymore.
I keep reminding myself that as long as Solomon is still working in Magic Hall, neither me nor any of my friends will ever enter the place again.
Originally posted by SiMonSezz:Actually, I don't think its going to do much difference going to the police.
From what I know of the Intellectual Property Rights, you will need the original copyright holder to be filing the report.
Most of the magic videos are from the US, hence it will be pretty touch to bring it all the way up to the authorities.
Like I said, you don't have to do much. What goes around, comes around. I don't think they will survive long.
Why don't u start yr own pirate service to rival that stupid shop! U sell 1/4 of their price and they suck thumb la.. LOL!!
Steady la! Haha! Wah lan oy!
See! I'm not the only one who kena suckered by that shit place!
Hello, the guy kenneth is no nice fella. He is as screwed up as that stupid demonstrator!
That guy knows shit about magic and he is super stucked up to the max!
whatever it is, just stay away from that place man! sokomon is looks and probably is a monkey hidden in the uglist costume ever!
But like all pet animals, they're owners are the one that tells them to do.
eat when its time to eat, shit when its time to shit. for this case, cheat when its time to cheat!
can you imagine they cheat you 400 bucks for a course like that, how many already kena from them?
i am no hero, but i will not want others to go through this shit.
Most importantly, i want them to go eat shit!
Haha! cannyong, your idea damn good le! yeah, maybe i should go buy the dvd, burnt myself and sell at pasar malam man!
you interested? we can be partners leh, since i jobless now. we split the profits half then police come and catch, i give you all the money but you go jail for me ok? hehe! joking la!
Hey guys, no point going into personal attacks.
If you do this, you are merely just bringing yourself down as low as them.
Just let the word out for buyers to avoid going to that place. There are lots of other better shops in Singapore where we can really get to learn the art of magic.
Just my 2 cents worth!
its not that i wanna say such things about them.
But you put yourself in my place, when i approached them about their pirated dvds, you have got no idea what they said and they way they said it.
at first, solomon denied about the dvds. then after when i kept inisting, he simply said- you have already bought. there is nothing else you can do. we don't entertain refunds. so what if they are pirated? go and call police ah...
will your blood boil when someone talks to you like that?