Originally posted by kalez:
ok this i got to voice out... i dont mind the girls to study and work but maid to rise my kids... no way man... that what i dot like about sg girl.... work or no work both parents must help to ake care of the kids....... tht not a maid job...
piazza i think you not going to be a good choice for wife n mother
:P
kalez mate, I said domestic help in maintaining the house, not to throw the kid at the maid. My gripes about having domestic help aside ( I shld let you know I am quite against having domestic help, but frankly have no choice because we are not a welfare state that provides public childcare provision- and I also gotta work as well), I think domestic help is beneficial.
For instance, maids free you from the more time-consuming chores like food preparation, maintaining hygiene and cleanliness, allowing you more quality time with children. Of course, both parents must spend adequate time with the kid - can you not see that having domestic help allows you to do that?
You must recognise that bringing up a kid is not a maid's job, and it isn't solely a mum's job also. What do you mean that's what you don't like about sg girls -sacrificing family for their careers? What about the father? Is it fair that it is assumed that he NEED NOT sacrifice himself for the family? I agree both must contribute to bringing up the kid but let's not point fingers at the mother only if we see a kid brought up by his maid alright?
"piazza i think you not going to be a good choice for wife n mother"
-my bf would disagree though :P
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:kalez mate, I said domestic help in maintaining the house, not to throw the kid at the maid. My gripes about having domestic help aside ( I shld let you know I am quite against having domestic help, but frankly have no choice because we are not a welfare state that provides public childcare provision- and I also gotta work as well), I think domestic help is beneficial.
For instance, maids free you from the more time-consuming chores like food preparation, maintaining hygiene and cleanliness, allowing you more quality time with children. Of course, both parents must spend adequate time with the kid - can you not see that having domestic help allows you to do that?
You must recognise that bringing up a kid is not a maid's job, and it isn't solely a mum's job also. What do you mean that's what you don't like about sg girls -sacrificing family for their careers? What about the father? Is it fair that it is assumed that he NEED NOT sacrifice himself for the family? I agree both must contribute to bringing up the kid but let's not point fingers at the mother only if we see a kid brought up by his maid alright?
"piazza i think you not going to be a good choice for wife n mother"
-my bf would disagree though :P
"food preparation, maintaining hygiene and cleanliness, allowing you more quality time with children."
look at this... you mean that all of the above chores will not allow you not having quality time with your child?
I fact i alway do it together with my mon since i was young.... this are all quality time as i chat with my mom while we do all this :P
" bringing up a kid is not a maid's job, and it isn't solely a mum's job also"i think you misunderstand "work or no work both parents must help to take care of the kids"
i mean both must controbute to it.... maid isn't the ans to the problem to the family......... I think we view things much differently :P
Piazza: happy that you and your BF.....
Originally posted by kalez:"food preparation, maintaining hygiene and cleanliness, allowing you more quality time with children."
look at this... you mean that all of the above chores will not allow you not having quality time with your child?
I fact i alway do it together with my mon since i was young.... this are all quality time as i chat with my mom while we do all this :P
" bringing up a kid is not a maid's job, and it isn't solely a mum's job also"i think you misunderstand "work or no work both parents must help to take care of the kids"
i mean both must controbute to it.... maid isn't the ans to the problem to the family......... I think we view things much differently :P
Piazza: happy that you and your BF.....
Mate, kudos to you spending quality time with your mum doing chores and bonding - I admit I did have plenty of fun talking to my mum whilst doing householdy chores as well. But my mum was a housewife, and she quit her job to take care of me - thereby eliminating the need for a maid and allowing us to be able to bond and do housework concurrently.
For the modern woman, I don't see why this should be the case. My husband and I will probably get off work at 8pm and reach home around 8.30pm - you reckon either him or me will be able to do the whole "housework quality time" bonding with our kids? In our case, I would deem quality time as time spent on bringing the little ones to the zoo or to picnics and stuff, on weekends. and a maid to help me clean up the house on weekends would make it possible. Of course the maid isn't the answer - and that's because there is no problem in the family. It's just a re delegation of tasks, no biggie.
The thing is, as much as I hate to admit it, the maid is a bridge for me to be able to be in employment. Because we still live in a patriarchal society that is evolving very slowly with respect to gender roles alright. If a household doesn't have a maid to mind the kids - then it ultimately becomes mom's job. So justify that "work or no work both parents must help to take care of the kids"
and BOTH parents must help take care of the kids. In an ideal world, sure! But in reality, pray tell me, how long is paternity leave? What, a lousy three days? So who is obliged to take care of the baby? Right from the onset it is implied that caring for the kid is the mum's job - so everything just becomes mum's job, mum's responsibility, mum's fault. It should not be so.
Kalez, my bf sees the maid as a solution, as much as I hate to have domestic help - I have to agree with him. I can't leave my job and we need a dual income household for upward social mobility. Perhaps if my bf hits a higher income scale, I will be a full time housewife. But that's not because it's my rightful job you see, it's because, and I readily admit men have higher chances in the workforce than women so he will probably get to the top scale much faster. It's just matter of opportunity costs. You have no idea what costs to my career I will be taking.... just wanted to tell you that even trying to be an independent woman in this patriarchal soceity has its constraints.
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:Mate, kudos to you spending quality time with your mum doing chores and bonding - I admit I did have plenty of fun talking to my mum whilst doing householdy chores as well. But my mum was a housewife, and she quit her job to take care of me - thereby eliminating the need for a maid and allowing us to be able to bond and do housework concurrently.
For the modern woman, I don't see why this should be the case. My husband and I will probably get off work at 8pm and reach home around 8.30pm - you reckon either him or me will be able to do the whole "housework quality time" bonding with our kids? In our case, I would deem quality time as time spent on bringing the little ones to the zoo or to picnics and stuff, on weekends. and a maid to help me clean up the house on weekends would make it possible. Of course the maid isn't the answer - and that's because there is no problem in the family. It's just a re delegation of tasks, no biggie.
The thing is, as much as I hate to admit it, the maid is a bridge for me to be able to be in employment. Because we still live in a patriarchal society that is evolving very slowly with respect to gender roles alright. If a household doesn't have a maid to mind the kids - then it ultimately becomes mom's job. So justify that "work or no work both parents must help to take care of the kids"
and BOTH parents must help take care of the kids. In an ideal world, sure! But in reality, pray tell me, how long is paternity leave? What, a lousy three days? So who is obliged to take care of the baby? Right from the onset it is implied that caring for the kid is the mum's job - so everything just becomes mum's job, mum's responsibility, mum's fault. It should not be so.
Kalez, my bf sees the maid as a solution, as much as I hate to have domestic help - I have to agree with him. I can't leave my job and we need a dual income household for upward social mobility. Perhaps if my bf hits a higher income scale, I will be a full time housewife. But that's not because it's my rightful job you see, it's because, and I readily admit men have higher chances in the workforce than women so he will probably get to the top scale much faster. It's just matter of opportunity costs. You have no idea what costs to my career I will be taking.... just wanted to tell you that even trying to be an independent woman in this patriarchal soceity has its constraints.
i totally agreed with you that in the working force, it harder for the woman. im happy that your BF see that maid is a solution
I need to highlight to you, like our PM say say in a small room, dont go oversea yearly, the family will pull through with 1 income.
Hear me say... it the MPand PM that make the cost of living so high... a resale flat 3 room cost 270K ...my dad use to by them at 40K... ask them why our new HDB are so XXX they are not able to ans you.... if they are able to control HDB better i think alot of family could live a better life....
there is too many to say... I dont blame you to think as you do now.... but can i ask you if today your BF got 8K income... and you have a kid will you or will you not b at hm to be a full time housewife?
i seen and know many both are high income but they just throw the job to the maid.... they could have landed and go for europe trip yearly... but the job is still the maid job(or mother-in-law) yet i seen many low income family manage to feed a family with their dad working only... Can i ask why is that so... to be frank, i use to have the same thinking as you double income better life bigger house bigger car yearly trip..... but after a four months bagpacking trip my aspect of life have change... i cant tell you whay but i just... maybe i'm nolonger looking out to the world from the island, but looking at the island from the world...
haha life so funny right... Piazza all the best for you and your BF :)
I believe TS should be sent to under developed countries and live there forever.
just my take, before U judge, please don't assume what you saw, heard speaks for the majority.. do dig deeper before your errors cloud ur eyes..
I am answering to the title, that we should all be educated, be it male/female/rich/poor..
just my two cents.
stereotyping thread siol
equal equal better la
everything 50-50 better
or my wife do housework, i masaji her later![]()
TS does not belong the the cosmopolitan world, he belongs to under developing, third world.
Originally posted by gigabyte14:stereotyping thread siol
equal equal better la
everything 50-50 better
or my wife do housework, i masaji her later
so nice u massage after she does housewk.
Originally posted by kalez:i totally agreed with you that in the working force, it harder for the woman. im happy that your BF see that maid is a solution
I need to highlight to you, like our PM say say in a small room, dont go oversea yearly, the family will pull through with 1 income.
Hear me say... it the MPand PM that make the cost of living so high... a resale flat 3 room cost 270K ...my dad use to by them at 40K... ask them why our new HDB are so XXX they are not able to ans you.... if they are able to control HDB better i think alot of family could live a better life....
there is too many to say... I dont blame you to think as you do now.... but can i ask you if today your BF got 8K income... and you have a kid will you or will you not b at hm to be a full time housewife?
i seen and know many both are high income but they just throw the job to the maid.... they could have landed and go for europe trip yearly... but the job is still the maid job(or mother-in-law) yet i seen many low income family manage to feed a family with their dad working only... Can i ask why is that so... to be frank, i use to have the same thinking as you double income better life bigger house bigger car yearly trip..... but after a four months bagpacking trip my aspect of life have change... i cant tell you whay but i just... maybe i'm nolonger looking out to the world from the island, but looking at the island from the world...
haha life so funny right... Piazza all the best for you and your BF :)
Thanks Kalez! And as per your question... nope I wouldn't quit if he is earning a 8k income. Well that's due to a whole host of reasons, chief amongst them being, when we both start working we will probably already have a combined of more than 8k net already - so why have a sole income of 8k when we both can have a dual income of more than 8? Plus we not having kids yet so haha I guess some would say, I have nothing to do might as well work right? :) Secondly, I must also stress that it's not just about the income per se (caveat: below a certain limit of income), I mean, really its such a waste of my education if I quit just after a few years of working - it becomes like a "then I go all the way to Uk to study for what?" question, you know? But of course, let say if he somehow miraculously can hit like 20000k a month while I still have very young kids, then fine ok I quit because I believe in quality time with the kid also. And then I probably wont get a maid and do that whole "housework bonding" thing yeah? :):)
I must agree with you on the HDB issue. I do think that prices are artificially kept high. But of course you must recognise that your dad bought his at 40k but with inflation over the generations of course you can't buy yours at 40k. I mean, my granddad bought a bungalow at 40k too in his time, but now a bungalow would fetch over 5 mil! so prices naturally will increase. I think well, there are some measures put in place to help newly weds get their homes with discounts and waivers so I think if you settle for a small flat first you can get one at say Woodlands or Punggol for less 200k? I think the HDB situation seriously needs sorting out and yeaps definitely will help plenty of families lead a comfortable life :)
I'm glad for you your backpacking trip made you aware of how unimportant and transient material posessions are - I wonder why my trips never yield me such insights - and allowed you to reassess life. But if you are wondering why low income families can get by on dad's one income, whereas middle to upper income households need both incomes, I mean it is easy to conclude that the latter is hankering after the signfiers of status - the car, the condo, the country club membership. Not to deny there are households like that of course, but I think, material possessions aside, some households want their kids to have the best of everything. Not just material goods, but enriching holidays and stuff you know. And for these pricey things, I guess that's why they need a dual income? As for my part, I'm not so much after the material stuff as much as I want to put aside money for my children's education. I want an overseas education for them and I gotta start saving like now, haha.
I mean I guess what I'm trying to say is that there are always many reasons why individuals create different sort of households, or household spending habits etc - I guess there's no such thing as a better way of thinking about life?
Good luck in life too! Let's just try to stay afloat in this crazy world, shall we? :P
Actually, its not the money problem. Parents who have occupations that pays high tend to be much busier than those who recieve average/low pays.
Of course they're able to hire helpers so as to free some time for them to supposedly spend with their children. But honestly, how much time can they really spare? They would be tired out by their workload and would not have the heart to spend quality time with their children. In the end, it all boils down to how the parents manage their time, rather than how much do the parents earn.
About the topic of girls being educated, while I think its rather fair for them to be. It increases our workforce and do pretty much alot of good crap to our economy.
However though, I find that education had made many females rather bitchy -.-
Originally posted by Fantagf:so nice u massage after she does housewk.
but i not married yet ![]()
Originally posted by gigabyte14:but i not married yet
if yr mind tells u you are married, you are, ha ha ha, just kidding
Originally posted by Worcer:I am a guy.
I strongly agree on woman getting more education!
I mean real education!Woman in Singapore can be very highly educated...
But most of them only thinks naive.They dont really think hard when comes to a lot of issue.Put too much emotion on the true work.
For example,teaching ur own children should be puting forth example by using urself.not sending them to tution centre.The real meaning of education has failed in Singapore.
Now u wan to put woman at home and teach ur children next time to be bimbo???
woman at home to cook and clean and pleasure the hubby.
teaching is at schoool
I agree with you that teaching should be in school.
However, if your children don’t understand a single thing in school, you may want to employ a tutor for your kids. Therefore, you will need to spend money on your children. I am not saying that spending money on your children is a bad thing. But, if women are educated, they will be able to coach your children. So, why not save the money instead of employing a tutor?
You mentioned that women should stay at home to cook, raise children and to do house chores. But, do you know that the world is changing? Now, even men are helping women with house chores and the kids. So, I disagree with what you have said about women staying at home to cook, raise children and to do house chores. Women can have the same rights as what men have too.
Women should be educated.
The first reason is what I have mentioned above, which is they can educate their children. I will not further elaborate as it is stated above.
Secondly, women can help to share the family’s burden. If the family is not coping well financially, especially due to the current economy downturn, don’t you think women can also do their part by contributing to the family during such situations? Therefore, this shows that women MUST be educated so that they contribute to the society and family effectively.
Lastly, educated women can help Singapore grow. The workforce in Singapore is shrinking due to the aging population. Thus, educated women can play a part to the workforce. You mentioned that Singapore can always attract foreign talent from the other countries. Do you think these foreign talents will stay in Singapore forever? Foreign talents are willing to come to Singapore because of the attractive packages Singapore offers. These foreign talents will not stay long in Singapore as they will soon find somewhere else that offers them better compensation and benefits.
I totally disagree with what you have said about women staying at home. Educated women can contribute to the society and family in several ways. They can help educate their children, share the family’s burden during economic crisis and also play a part in the Singapore’s workforce. Hence, women should be educated.
Originally posted by NG QIBO AARON AUBREY:Still i feel girls should stay at home and cook and rear children
MCP! seems like education wasted on this guy here. even the women you see as 'lower-class' are smarter than u.
in this time and age, there are still MCPs like you who think "women should stay at home and be slaves"?? excuse me.
broaden ur thinking can?
The females in the Russian army during the Second World War proved their worth on the battlefield. Educate a few divisions of women on warfare, train them, and equip them well, and they can provide results in war. The highest scoring female sniper ever (who was Russian) achieved 309 confirmed kills, including an enemy sniper who had a score well over 500 (snipers) before his end.
Point: Educate female human beings and they can produce results.
I wonder SG Army got female sniper or not... =X
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:The females in the Russian army during the Second World War proved their worth on the battlefield. Educate a few divisions of women on warfare, train them, and equip them well, and they can provide results in war. The highest scoring female sniper ever (who was Russian) achieved 309 confirmed kills, including an enemy sniper who had a score well over 500 (snipers) before his end.
SG no need sniper de lor. country so small, if got sniper..
including an enemy sniper who had a score well over 500 (snipers) before his end.
omg.
Originally posted by L.lawliett79:SG no need sniper de lor. country so small, if got sniper..
including an enemy sniper who had a score well over 500 (snipers) before his end.
omg.
Good for harrassing the enemy at least. And maybe can help find the enemy's chiobus. =X
About the 500... I must say that the quality of the average Russian soldier is well below that of the average German one, in those days at least, due to factors such as training, upbringing, methods, equipment, etc.
Plus, the Russian Army was so big, and sent so many people, sure got a lot chances de.
By the way, you said "if got sniper"... referring to enemy de or our own de?
Originally posted by StrawberryPig:I agree with you that teaching should be in school.
However, if your children don’t understand a single thing in school, you may want to employ a tutor for your kids. Therefore, you will need to spend money on your children. I am not saying that spending money on your children is a bad thing. But, if women are educated, they will be able to coach your children. So, why not save the money instead of employing a tutor?
You mentioned that women should stay at home to cook, raise children and to do house chores. But, do you know that the world is changing? Now, even men are helping women with house chores and the kids. So, I disagree with what you have said about women staying at home to cook, raise children and to do house chores. Women can have the same rights as what men have too.
Women should be educated.
The first reason is what I have mentioned above, which is they can educate their children. I will not further elaborate as it is stated above.
Secondly, women can help to share the family’s burden. If the family is not coping well financially, especially due to the current economy downturn, don’t you think women can also do their part by contributing to the family during such situations? Therefore, this shows that women MUST be educated so that they contribute to the society and family effectively.
Lastly, educated women can help Singapore grow. The workforce in Singapore is shrinking due to the aging population. Thus, educated women can play a part to the workforce. You mentioned that Singapore can always attract foreign talent from the other countries. Do you think these foreign talents will stay in Singapore forever? Foreign talents are willing to come to Singapore because of the attractive packages Singapore offers. These foreign talents will not stay long in Singapore as they will soon find somewhere else that offers them better compensation and benefits.
I totally disagree with what you have said about women staying at home. Educated women can contribute to the society and family in several ways. They can help educate their children, share the family’s burden during economic crisis and also play a part in the Singapore’s workforce. Hence, women should be educated.
dad can tutor the kids
if they are staying at home in the first place, men dun have to clean the house
we can import more bangladeshi to do the work
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:Good for harrassing the enemy at least. And maybe can help find the enemy's chiobus. =X
About the 500... I must say that the quality of the average Russian soldier is well below that of the average German one, in those days at least, due to factors such as training, upbringing, methods, equipment, etc.
Plus, the Russian Army was so big, and sent so many people, sure got a lot chances de.
By the way, you said "if got sniper"... referring to enemy de or our own de?
enemy de, duh~ ;P
Is this bullshit still going on? Un-fucking-believable. Whoever this Aubrey cocksucker is, he seriously needs to get a life. I dunno, maybe go to Changi Point to blow a tranny or something, but anything to get off this lame shite. It's just plain fucking boring, man - I mean, really, can this fetid arsehole stop sucking on his momma's tit or what? Sheesh.
pls go vietnam or cambodia to find the wife that the dumb guys want in this thread
local women are too sophisicated for you guys
Originally posted by Stimulatedfib:The females in the Russian army during the Second World War proved their worth on the battlefield. Educate a few divisions of women on warfare, train them, and equip them well, and they can provide results in war. The highest scoring female sniper ever (who was Russian) achieved 309 confirmed kills, including an enemy sniper who had a score well over 500 (snipers) before his end.
http://www.snipercentral.com/snipers.htm#WWII
Are you sure?
There are only two known snipers with a kill count over 500, with one of them being Ivan, who is from the same nation (USSR) as Pavlichenko.
The other sniper is Simo A.K.A. white death, and that guy who shot him got killed by him before he lost consciousness.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:http://www.snipercentral.com/snipers.htm#WWII
Are you sure?
There are only two known snipers with a kill count over 500, with one of them being Ivan, who is from the same nation (USSR) as Pavlichenko.
The other sniper is Simo A.K.A. white death, and that guy who shot him got killed by him before he lost consciousness.
Hmm, I'll say, not sure. =P
Checked my site again, and seems some data contradict each other. Though the official German scores still pretty high. Should have added a disclaimer... oh wells. Point was made anyway. XD Thanks.