Originally posted by tiera:
this guy is funny. can someone dig up the thread where his identity was exposed? I still cant believe that someone like him could be in army. Makes me wonder what kind of people make up the army..
ehhh.. But as far as I remembered from what i saw that "exposed" thread, his nickname IS his full name.. Ng Qibo, Aaron Aubrey... That was stated as his full name in the Mindef site stating his commisioning.. Apparently he got some merit or wat la..
His military life, i dunno what to say la.. But his social life is definitely one big phailure, with that kind of old thinking...
Of course many of you misunderstood as well.
There is a thing called "exaggeration" or "forum trolling" or "entertainment".
When he say, "girls should not be educated" actually he does not really believe it. It is just simply a ploy to attract attention.
Attention seeker is the word.
At most he is half-serious, but not really serious.
There are many people like him. This is called "internet culture".
But I do think I should threaten him. Since he has stupidly exposed himself when he indulge in internet culture.
Anyways, if he make anymore stupid topics, please send a PM to me. I will jolly well commence a series of action that will bring an enormous shock to him.
Normally, something like this would be ignored, but it has opened up into this poor excuse of a debate because he's not the only one; even LKY has gone on record to say that his greatest regret was to grant women almost-equal rights.
i am new, it is my first post in this forum. but i could not comprehend what is the need for this thread?
Or maybe us men are so afraid of women succeses in various fields that we want them to go back to home to cook and clean for us?
Originally posted by Meat Pao:Of course many of you misunderstood as well.
There is a thing called "exaggeration" or "forum trolling" or "entertainment".
When he say, "girls should not be educated" actually he does not really believe it. It is just simply a ploy to attract attention.
Attention seeker is the word.
At most he is half-serious, but not really serious.
There are many people like him. This is called "internet culture".
But I do think I should threaten him. Since he has stupidly exposed himself when he indulge in internet culture.
Anyways, if he make anymore stupid topics, please send a PM to me. I will jolly well commence a series of action that will bring an enormous shock to him.
I do appreciate your thoughtful gesture to bring someone you deem a nuisance to some for justice. However, I do have doubts about such measures, for it amounts to nothing more than censorship and a silencing of a voice.
No idea is a stupid idea until it is fully debated and challenged, accepted by the majority. How dare we preach freedom of speech when we personally deemed other viewpoints an affront to our sensibilities? I do agree on national security and racial harmony and the need to prevent it from raising emotions that may go beyond the control of rational men.
However, if we can hold such discussions responsibly and respectfully, would it not lead to a greater awareness to create a better society? Those who show disrespect are often either ignored or thrashed with total and absolute rationality that their arguments would seem infantile and holds no merit.
We must grow up, be matured and rely on the merit and strengths of our rationality to convince others of a better path to progress. To weld the heavy hand may ultimately lead to underground unfounded and even worse - unchallenged presumed bitterness and it will create further strife and chaos later and get out of hand.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions. We often start out life with the noblest of intentions, but due to our environments and conditions, surrender all that is pure in the end.
Thus we must question our environments and conditions to ensure that we as a society will not fail, give credit where it is due, and bring to light shortcommings where it can be further improve on, and never to fight for the sake of fighting or wanting something new our society may not be prepared for.
Simply put, I asked - would what you do be amounted to censorship - the stifling of a voice? I apologise if you should presume me challenging you personally for it is not the case, but each must live with his conscience at the end of the day.
One person's meat may be another's poison. But if it was not debated, NO one will know if it is actually meat or poison, to a progressive society's loss.
Originally posted by Cyraxin:i am new, it is my first post in this forum. but i could not comprehend what is the need for this thread?
Or maybe us men are so afraid of women succeses in various fields that we want them to go back to home to cook and clean for us?
Now that my friend.. is a load of crock.
Aaron was my primary school friend. I remember him as a very nice and humourous guy and seriously, I don't think this is the same Aaron we are talking about. Probably someone trying to frame him by using his name. If he is, then let me ask him a simple question. Which primary school were you from, "Aaron"?
Originally posted by -Wanderer-:Aaron was my primary school friend. I remember him as a very nice and humourous guy and seriously, I don't think this is the same Aaron we are talking about. Probably someone trying to frame him by using his name. If he is, then let me ask him a simple question. Which primary school were you from, "Aaron"?
Oh, u mean Aaron Kwok ar??
He was from HongKong Police Primary School. His father was a police officer under the british, now i dunno, tho Aaron is old liao, but he still got the look.
Originally posted by xtreyier:
I do appreciate your thoughtful gesture to bring someone you deem a nuisance to some for justice. However, I do have doubts about such measures, for it amounts to nothing more than censorship and a silencing of a voice.
No idea is a stupid idea until it is fully debated and challenged, accepted by the majority. How dare we preach freedom of speech when we personally deemed other viewpoints an affront to our sensibilities? I do agree on national security and racial harmony and the need to prevent it from raising emotions that may go beyond the control of rational men.
However, if we can hold such discussions responsibly and respectfully, would it not lead to a greater awareness to create a better society? Those who show disrespect are often either ignored or thrashed with total and absolute rationality that their arguments would seem infantile and holds no merit.
We must grow up, be matured and rely on the merit and strengths of our rationality to convince others of a better path to progress. To weld the heavy hand may ultimately lead to underground unfounded and even worse - unchallenged presumed bitterness and it will create further strife and chaos later and get out of hand.
The road to hell is paved with good intentions. We often start out life with the noblest of intentions, but due to our environments and conditions, surrender all that is pure in the end.
Thus we must question our environments and conditions to ensure that we as a society will not fail, give credit where it is due, and bring to light shortcommings where it can be further improve on, and never to fight for the sake of fighting or wanting something new our society may not be prepared for.
Simply put, I asked - would what you do be amounted to censorship - the stifling of a voice? I apologise if you should presume me challenging you personally for it is not the case, but each must live with his conscience at the end of the day.
One person's meat may be another's poison. But if it was not debated, NO one will know if it is actually meat or poison, to a progressive society's loss.
full of chilli craps
Originally posted by -Wanderer-:Aaron was my primary school friend. I remember him as a very nice and humourous guy and seriously, I don't think this is the same Aaron we are talking about. Probably someone trying to frame him by using his name. If he is, then let me ask him a simple question. Which primary school were you from, "Aaron"?
If you only have contacts with him during Primary School.....of course a person will change a lot already.
Originally posted by xtreyier:
That's the dream isn't it? However, holding an argument with this much personal surveillance and restrictions would seem to be imbuing every argument with too much political correctness I fear. I like me a good argument and I think everyone's entitled to their own opinions, as long as you follow through. Don't make a point just for the sake of making it - don't do it to seek attention. If you have your opinions voice it out, sure, I'll target the inherent stupidity in them - but I'll admire you if you defend your perspectives. Something, I must add, the TS has failed to do in this thread, which has let me to conclude that he, "Aaron" or whoever, is just seeking attention. So no matter.
You have the right mindset about debates - I just think sgforums may not be quite the place. :P
In any case, after a brief glance at most of the forums and topics here, I am beginning to seriously doubt the ability of sgforums to hold sensible arguments responsibly and respectfully anyway. I'm new here - so do point me in the right direction if you know - but I guess I won't be finding any intellectual uplifting debates any time soon.
Originally posted by angel7030:
Oh, u mean Aaron Kwok ar??
He was from HongKong Police Primary School. His father was a police officer under the british, now i dunno, tho Aaron is old liao, but he still got the look.
Yet another deep insightful comment.
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:That's the dream isn't it? However, holding an argument with this much personal surveillance and restrictions would seem to be imbuing every argument with too much political correctness I fear. I like me a good argument and I think everyone's entitled to their own opinions, as long as you follow through. Don't make a point just for the sake of making it - don't do it to seek attention. If you have your opinions voice it out, sure, I'll target the inherent stupidity in them - but I'll admire you if you defend your perspectives. Something, I must add, the TS has failed to do in this thread, which has let me to conclude that he, "Aaron" or whoever, is just seeking attention. So no matter.
You have the right mindset about debates - I just think sgforums may not be quite the place. :P
In any case, after a brief glance at most of the forums and topics here, I am beginning to seriously doubt the ability of sgforums to hold sensible arguments responsibly and respectfully anyway. I'm new here - so do point me in the right direction if you know - but I guess I won't be finding any intellectual uplifting debates any time soon.
Debate ? Here ?
I tried.. gave up. hahaha
So i post crap instead.
Its challenging to earn the title of Master Debater here.
lol
Originally posted by Meat Pao:If you only have contacts with him during Primary School.....of course a person will change a lot already.
True. But I just want to confirm if it is really the same Aaron. I suspect this is someone else trying to frame him. Then again, it's also very easy to find out one's primary school & all. Just check facebook or friendster! -_-"
If girls are not educated, how they going to teach the children at home?
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:That's the dream isn't it? However, holding an argument with this much personal surveillance and restrictions would seem to be imbuing every argument with too much political correctness I fear. I like me a good argument and I think everyone's entitled to their own opinions, as long as you follow through. Don't make a point just for the sake of making it - don't do it to seek attention. If you have your opinions voice it out, sure, I'll target the inherent stupidity in them - but I'll admire you if you defend your perspectives. Something, I must add, the TS has failed to do in this thread, which has let me to conclude that he, "Aaron" or whoever, is just seeking attention. So no matter.
Haha..I understand what you mean about the quality of debate. But it is no excuse not to challenge it when the opportunity present itself, anywhere in any media. The only way for evil to win is for good persons to do nothing.
I will immodestly claim that i start out with the noblest of intentions, to change stubborn minds and clear misconceptions where i see it, to show a better path to progress, but i will unreservedly admit that perhaps in time, i , an equally flawed human, will falter, succumbed to all that is impure, become corrupted and crumble before temptation and fail humanity.
But the good thing of living in a progressive society is that when one such as i fail, another would stand in my place. This had been how our race had progressed since time began.
We must not fail those who came before us, and who spared us the horror of the mistakes they made in the past, of wars and destruction that almost wiped out civilisation.
Our forefathers had been kept stupid by imperialist masters, and denied education so as not to comprehend or act responsibly for freedom, but now we this generations have access to such luxury, provided by our hardworking ancestors who set aside their income to build schools and funded education.
Their hopes is that we may build a better and matured society than they had lived, not only for us, but for our future generations as well.
Thus it is our responsibility that we leave a better future for our next generations - sons, daughters, nephews, cousins, friends and their children.
There is something that is bigger than ourselves and just making money alone, and it is the future we will create for others as our past had created for us.
A future that i hope will not be too late in the making, in face of natural calamities that will soon engulf us. No calamity can wipe out humanity and a remnant will remain, and it is my hope that they will bring the best of our legacy to rebuild a better new world.
freak you .. You go and rear your chickens lah...
Hope u get bird flu
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:I disagree with everything you said. The homophobic "true man or gay" statement aside, I think you should not be putting Phorum Noob down just because he called for women to do national service.
As a woman, I think if we were to demand for equality between the sexes, then Singapore women should also face the obligations that come with it. We cannot have our cake and eat it. We can't declare ourselves as fiercely independent women and then demand our husbands/boyfriends to be at our beck and call, pay for our everything etc. Have some sense for christ sakes. We cannot claim to want gender equality without extending this equality to all spheres. Equal pay, equal opportunities but I'm still a damsel-in-distress and need a guy to pay for my everything? Give your man a break once in a while! Seriously girls!
As for service to the nation, maybe we can argue that being on the frontline is not the best place for a woman to show hew best capabilities. That is true. But there are many areas in which we can service the nation. Community service, administrative personell and hey, the more gung ho amongst us can even become officers. I don't understand how we can call for equality and then shy away from civic responsibilities by saying
"Why SAF soldier cannot fire and aim correctly ar?? must need women snipers ar??"
Don't be so daft. And plus, if we serve out national service, then there is no more damned reason for wage differentials between men and women. Is that what we are always complaining about? I don't deny the society is still largely gender biased. Want to change this mindset? Then prove yourself equal or even better to the tasks.
Stop appealing to a man's ego or masculine side to shun the tasks that women should take on, if we are to be held in the same regard.
"Demanding for a guy to be a "real man" instead of being free to be who he really is, is just like demanding women to stay in the kitchen and obey his man."
Phorum Noob, you got the real idea. By calling on you to be a real man, angel7030 is subscribing to pre conceived gendered roles. By calling on you to be a real man, she is assuming women to playing the other role - the weak and domestic hapless lady in the kitchen.
Exactly proof of what I have been thinking lately. The only impediment to gender equality is perhaps women themselves.
I agree with what you've said. On top of this, I don't think girls should have the right to demand their ex-husband to give them 1/2 of their savings when they divorce or even a live long supporting allowance for themselves. It'll be reasonable if its for the children though but both should play a part in contributing. Nowadays, both men and women are educated enough to work.
Originally posted by MyPillowTalks:If girls are not educated, how they going to teach the children at home?
sons got school
TS, dun be such a sexist. Fuck off and die.U arent even that educated in the first place, judging from ur replies
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:Thanks kengy. But ah, I rather we both work. More income for bigger homes, and more holidays. Get domestic help to maintain the house... I think the maid would do a better job actually... :P
ok this i got to voice out... i dont mind the girls to study and work but maid to rise my kids... no way man... that what i dot like about sg girl.... work or no work both parents must help to ake care of the kids....... tht not a maid job...
piazza i think you not going to be a good choice for wife n mother
:P
Originally posted by Gabriella:I agree with what you've said. On top of this, I don't think girls should have the right to demand their ex-husband to give them 1/2 of their savings when they divorce or even a live long supporting allowance for themselves. It'll be reasonable if its for the children though but both should play a part in contributing. Nowadays, both men and women are educated enough to work.
the law is oso helping the women.. cant u all see.. there is no equality..
Originally posted by kalez:
ok this i got to voice out... i dont mind the girls to study and work but maid to rise my kids... no way man... that what i dot like about sg girl.... work or no work both parents must help to ake care of the kids....... tht not a maid job...
piazza i think you not going to be a good choice for wife n mother
:P
I agree. Also a lot of kids are allowed to anyhow run around outside and scream but their parents do not do anything or even at least try to control them. Like nowadays it seem there are a growing number of parents who don't care as much for their kids as parents used to?
TS, please go J S
I am a guy.
I strongly agree on woman getting more education!
I mean real education!Woman in Singapore can be very highly educated...
But most of them only thinks naive.They dont really think hard when comes to a lot of issue.Put too much emotion on the true work.
For example,teaching ur own children should be puting forth example by using urself.not sending them to tution centre.The real meaning of education has failed in Singapore.
Now u wan to put woman at home and teach ur children next time to be bimbo???