Anal Women Anal Rape Eachother. ![]()
*Looks at Andrew*
Yah, pain in the ass alright. ![]()
If I'm the Head HR or CEO of DBS, I'll be having a bad headache right now.
Firstly, one of my VPs is disregarding the company's regulation.
Secondly, this particular VP is now highly unpopular by the general public.
Thirdly, this VP's chance of clarifying herself in Talking Point is but a toot. It seems she just stopped short of saying "I'm against lesbianism and gays, I discriminate them, and this will form a sigificantly part of my new direction in AWARE."
Btw, if I remembered correctly (but my memory is bad) Josie Lau is the one responsible for the ever popular UOB ladies card. This card practically kicks up a storm in the unsecure loans/credit market that she got hunted over by DBS.
Anyway, based on whatever I've read, I hope the new exco gets a no confidence vote.
EXPOSED: AWARE EGM venue moved to EXPO, next to “Transformation Conference 2009″ co-organized by COOS and 40 other Churches!!!
Really despicable. They r really out for a pro christian and anti others stand
Originally posted by airgrinder:If I'm the Head HR or CEO of DBS, I'll be having a bad headache right now.
Firstly, one of my VPs is disregarding the company's regulation.
Secondly, this particular VP is now highly unpopular by the general public.
Thirdly, this VP's chance of clarifying herself in Talking Point is but a toot. It seems she just stopped short of saying "I'm against lesbianism and gays, I discriminate them, and this will form a sigificantly part of my new direction in AWARE."
Btw, if I remembered correctly (but my memory is bad) Josie Lau is the one responsible for the ever popular UOB ladies card. This card practically kicks up a storm in the unsecure loans/credit market that she got hunted over by DBS.
Anyway, based on whatever I've read, I hope the new exco gets a no confidence vote.
Yeah, I think the bank really got a big headache.
As if the economic crisis is not enough, now have to handle bad publicity. ![]()
Originally posted by Nighthawkies:See this:
EXPOSED: AWARE EGM venue moved to EXPO, next to “Transformation Conference 2009″ co-organized by COOS and 40 other Churches!!!
http://sgforums.com/forums/10/topics/357964
ur link no working leh
Originally posted by Bangulzai:
ur link no working leh
p
Originally posted by 4sg:What this govt doing, allowing such "boliao" interest group?
If these women really, if I mean really, meant well by helping the underprivileged, they should explicitly called themselves "Women for lowered income, abused, uneducated, underprivileged" or something like that.
What the fark "action and research" they talking about? These words already sound so elitist. And helping the lower rung?.....smoking who?.
Hi, I have been reading some of the posts from this thread. I am just replying to 4sg’s post out of convenience (so no offense ok, 4sg?) and feel that I should clarify some points about Aware that has been raised by others too.
I am an old Aware member (so sad, now I have to state old or new Aware). Aware is a registered society but it is NOT a charity. It is an advocacy group. This means that its aim is to improve society by advocating changes in law. While doing charity work and giving donations are very valuable, at the same time, law changes can be very powerful agents of change and improvement. Aware pitches at this angle and level.
Aware stands for Association of Women for Action and Research. I know to some people it sounds a bit “cheem” but what this means is that Aware conducts research, collects data and take action by lobbying for changes in law. 3 ex-Presidents of Aware have been appointed Nominated Members of Paliament – Kanwaijit Soin, Claire Chiang and Breama Mathi and have spoken up for women in Parliament.
Many who do not follow Aware closely may not know that it has successfully lobbied for law changes to benefit our women and children. For eg:
1987 – the government wanted to give priority of primary school admission to children of graduate women. Aware, eventhough it has many members who are graduates, opposed this as it felt that the children of all women deserve equal rights and opportunities. The Education Ministry eventually withdraw their proposal.
1994 – Aware proposed successfully for a change to the way police handle rape cases so that victims are treated with more dignity and care
1999 – Prior to this, only Singaporean men who married foreigners can sponsor their spouse's application for PR and citizenship, not Singaporean women. Aware helped changed that. Subsequently in 2004, Aware again lobbied successfully so that Singaporean women (and not just Singaporean men) who married foreigners can apply for Singapore citizenship for their children. If you have women friends, sisters and daughters in this situation, you would appreciate this.
2003 – Aware contributed to the policy change in lifting the quota restricting female intake in the Medical Faculty at NUS so that entry is based on merit.
2005- Aware also contributed to the equalisation of benefits in the medical scheme in the Civil Service for male and female officers. If you have mothers, sisters and wives in the civil service, you would appreciate this too.
More can be found at http://we-are-aware.sg/achievements
So, Aware not so “bo-liao” leh, haha! While charity work has its rightful place in society, and giving someone fish for a day is important, it is just as important to teach someone to fish. That is why for a number of years, Aware has been conducting financial literacy classes for women to help them better manage their finances and plan for retirement. The truth is women generally outlive men, and many women are at a loss when their spouse dies and they are left penniless. So part of Aware’s active programme is also about empowering women, because women who are independent and empowered will be in a better position to help not only themselves but other people in society.
It is true that some people have wondered what does a bunch of educated, privileged women at Aware can do for underprivileged women. But I think we should also remember that there are many rich and powerful people other charities who are active in raising funds and doing charity too eg Jenny Chua, the ex-GM of Raffles Hotel has been a long-time volunteer and Chairwoman of Community Chest. My personal opinion is that only when our bellies are full then we can afford time to look around and see what we can do to help (what some people call kaypoh, hehe). So maybe, the more educated and privileged women in society have more resources to contribute.
Actually, the old Aware leaders are aware of this accusation. Mindful of this, (not because they want to deflect criticism) they decided to set up a helpline in 1991 to help women in crisis and to better understand what women of all walks of life go through. This helpline not only gives emotional support, but also acts as a referral to other sources of help available eg financial assistance or legal aid. Aware also employs a full-time professional counselor who conducts face-to-face counseling. The charges are nominal, based on a sliding scale depending on the woman’s financial ability.
In addition, Aware also provides a free legal clinic once a month, managed by volunteer lawyers, so that women can seek legal advise and explore their options.
Aware members are not men haters! Aware believes that men and women are just as important. That is why, in the last few years, men have been admitted as members so that they can give feedback and be engaged as agents of positive change.
I hope this explains a bit better what the old Aware has been up to. They may not directly give charity to “help the lower rung” but they do help improve women's lives and consequently their children's lives - by advocating changes in law, to eliminate abuse and to ask for equal rights.
I am just sorry that at this time of writing, Aware is going through a very difficult time. As an old Aware member, I really hope to see Aware’s good work and inclusive stance continue.
Thanks for reading.
To poster above: just out of curiosity - did Aware do anything for the whole marital rape immunity issue?
and more generally, is anyone going to vote in the EGM?
Originally posted by la luce nella piazza:To poster above: just out of curiosity - did Aware do anything for the whole marital rape immunity issue?
and more generally, is anyone going to vote in the EGM?
Yes, in 2007 Aware was active in lobbying for a change in the penal code so that marital rape is considered a crime. Prior to that, acts of sexual violence in a marriage was not considered a crime in Singapore. Aware was active in pushing to criminalise offenders so as to protect women from such violence.
Aware was not able to achieve 100% what it wanted, but it was able to succeed to makine some progress in that direction. The penal code was amended so that a rape in a marriage is considered a crime if the wife had a) obtained a decree of judicial separation b) obtained a personal protection order, or c) obtained an injunction against her husband restraining him from having sex with her.
Of course in reality, many wives seldom even move to obtain any of these 3 legal protection so it is really not easy to prosecute a rapist husband. Still, Rome was not built in one day and some progress is better than none.
And for your second question, yes I will be attending the EGM and making my vote count.
Maggie
How would you explain the surge in membership of AWARE from hundreds for years, to over a thousand in just a few weeks?
Which faction the new recruits belong to?
me will b gng!
who else too?
Originally posted by mancha:Maggie
How would you explain the surge in membership of AWARE from hundreds for years, to over a thousand in just a few weeks?
Hi Mancha,
Sorry I don't quite get your question or the intent of your question. Do you mind elaborating? Thanks.
Originally posted by mancha:Maggie
Hi Mancha,
Sorry I don't quite get your question or the intent of your question. Do you mind elaborating? Or is it just rhetorical questions that needs no reply? Thanks.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me will b gng!
who else too?
lol.
You sure you going not? Don't just meow meow over here. ![]()
And thanks Maggi for being here to clear up most of the issues that we for now, could most probably rely through the media.
Anyway, I would like to ask, in your own personal opinion, whom would you prefer to lead AWARE? Are you with the previous ex-co or the new one? And also, what are the values that you agree or disagree with either group should you vote for them?
most of them
dun look like old women
they look like old men
Originally posted by TYING:lol.
And thanks Maggi for being here to clear up most of the issues that we for now, could most probably rely through the media.
Anyway, I would like to ask, in your own personal opinion, whom would you prefer to lead AWARE? Are you with the previous ex-co or the new one? And also, what are the values that you agree or disagree with either group should you vote for them?
Hi TYING,
You are welcome!
And in respond to your question - I am an old Aware member (for at least 3 years) and I am also a Christian. But I support the old leaders at Aware, not the new exco.
I support the old Aware because of its original founding beliefs - which is to be secular and inclusive irrespective of race, religion, gender or sexuality. I support them because they have been liberal, moderate and have made improvements for women over the years.
I do not support the new exco, and would not do so just because they are fellow Christians. Throughout history, fellow Christians have also stolen, raped and murdered (just check out major events in history like the Crusades, the Inquisition and the Salem witch hunts just to mention a few famous ones - all condoned by the religions establishment of the day, all done in the "name of God".)
I judge the new exco base on their actions, and what they have said to the media. Although the new exco members have won their positions constituitionally, they have not done so in a dignified or honorable way. I feel that whoever is giving them moral support from their church to do what they are doing, is doing great disservice to Christianity and to women in general.
I am still not sure if the old Aware members will succeed tomorrow since we may be out-numbered by the new exco's supporters, many whom are likely to be from their church. But if the old Aware does not get enough votes of no-confidence against the new team, it is a sad day for moderates and liberals like me and a very sad day for Christianity and women.
It'd also be a very sad day for civil society if the "might is right" approach comes out tops over dialogue and reasoning. Even if the new ex-co were to expand its size to include some of the veteren members and reinstate the ICs of various projects, it would be a step in the right direction.
Many religious people are such assholes..... and religion should be banned once and for all... and those that cannot cope with reality after the ban should seek psychiatric help.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:It'd also be a very sad day for civil society if the "might is right" approach comes out tops over dialogue and reasoning. Even if the new ex-co were to expand its size to include some of the veteren members and reinstate the ICs of various projects, it would be a step in the right direction.
It will definately be a sad day for civil society.
Actually, the whole saga is quite comic, like a cartoon.
"Once upon a time, a team of would-be new Aware exco members conducted a silent infiltration exercise, followed by a surprise siege and conquer programme. They then retreated into their fortress, changed the locks and threw out the gate-keeper.
Despite all the noise below, they refuse to respond to the petty questions nor engage with the lowly commoners, preferring to keep their “dignified silence” (in the words of President Josie Lau). But the noise got louder, the tower got too claustrophobic and the new conquerors started to get death threats (holy cow! What is the world coming to?).
Finally, they decided to come out and defend themselves. They screamed and cried, threshing their feet like children squealing: “Why don’t people like us? Why do people attack us? We have won it fair and square! (refer to new exco press conference on YouTube) If you bully us, we will tell our mommy! (Dr Thio Su Mien)"
Fearing another battle, they called for reinforcements (other church members). Their sisterhood cried: “We must support our sisters!”. One of their leaders cried: “God has drawn a line and it MUST NOT BE CROSSED!” (the words of Pastor Derek Hong).
Everyday, the new exco try their best to maintain the invisible line (which only they can see because they are the chosen ones) making sure that it is not crossed – as if their lives depended on it. “Anyone who cross this line must be shot!” they tell themselves.
They are waiting for the second battle, they know they will not loose because God is on their side. They believe that if they win, they will be heroines. If they loose, then it is God’s will – but at least, they will still be martyrs. "
ok, just some satirical entertainment on the situation as reported in the papers. Just me being a bit naughty.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:Many religious people are such assholes..... and religion should be banned once and for all... and those that cannot cope with reality after the ban should seek psychiatric help.
And how would atheist Nazis be any different from the religious militants they replace? *Cough* pigs *cough* animal farm *cough*
In case anyone isn't aware of it, there are many Christians and Catholics out there who disapprove of what the new exco and some indie Churches have done and are doing.
Originally posted by Maggie.meepok:
It will definately be a sad day for civil society.Actually, the whole saga is quite comic, like a cartoon.
"Once upon a time, a team of would-be new Aware exco members conducted a silent infiltration exercise, followed by a surprise siege and conquer programme. They then retreated into their fortress, changed the locks and threw out the gate-keeper.
Despite all the noise below, they refuse to respond to the petty questions nor engage with the lowly commoners, preferring to keep their “dignified silence” (in the words of President Josie Lau). But the noise got louder, the tower got too claustrophobic and the new conquerors started to get death threats (holy cow! What is the world coming to?).
Finally, they decided to come out and defend themselves. They screamed and cried, threshing their feet like children squealing: “Why don’t people like us? Why do people attack us? We have won it fair and square!” (refer to new exco press conference on YouTube)
Fearing another battle, they called for reinforcements (other church members). Their sisterhood cried: “We must support our sisters!”. One of their leaders cried: “God has drawn a line and it MUST NOT BE CROSSED!” (the words of Pastor Derek Hong).
Everyday, the new exco try their best to maintain the invisible line (which only they can see because they are the chosen ones) making sure that it is not crossed – as if their lives depended on it. “Anyone who cross this line must be shot!” they tell themselves.
They are waiting for the second battle, they know they will not loose because God is on their side. They believe that if they win, they will be heroines. If they loose, then it is God’s will – but at least, they will still be martyrs. "
ok, just some satirical entertainment on the situation as reported in the papers. Just me being a bit naughty.
They do Christianity a great disservice through their lies, cover-ups and lack of transparency. Pluralism is dead.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:And how would atheist Nazis be any different from the religious militants they replace? *Cough* pigs *cough* animal farm *cough*
In case anyone isn't aware of it, there are many Christians and Catholics out there who disapprove of what the new exco and some indie Churches have done and are doing.
I do agree with you it is not such a simple matter as “those with religion are good/bad and those without are good/bad”. It is not so black and white, so I disagree with AndrewPKYap that religion should be banned.
Karl Marx said that “religion is the opiate (aka opium) of the masses” and he believes that removing religion will give people happiness. But does it? Communism, base on Marx’s idealogy, banned religion but they have created a society that is hollow and sad, and squashed many people’s natural longing for the divine. It is just another dictatorship (animal farm, snort, snort)
So to each his own I say.
But indeed religion and religious people have also contributed a lot to the world, setting up schools, building hospitals, promoting human rights. It’s just that they are other religious people who use religion to abuse. Sad, year?