Those indians and bangala there just to fellowship with other another.
You can see how united they are when they hold hands together with one another.
Anyway I think is their way of life. that's all.
On time I ate at an Indian restaurant along Serangoon Road opposite the HDB blocks.... it was DAMNED EXPENSIVE
Lucky they cluster fark over there only... if not, i make sure...
I live here in Singapore for the past 10 years. As you, i have also wondered why so much indians gather there on weekends. I don't know the answer until few months back. Though, i am Indian, we are creamy (call ourselves) layers who does white collar job and would hardly go to Little india except to buy our grocieries. But, the people who gathers there are blue collar workers, Supporting my friends business, i had a chance with them to interact and most of them live in the dormotories in Tuas, Jurong. Most of the week, they eat their self prepared food (though, it will be horrible, they have no choice), during weekends, they can spend few dollars on so called good food from little indian restaurants and most importantly coming there to interact with their own villagers who work here. The reason for gather is to pass on information back to village friends, family , to send electronics good and to gather information about the happening in their and neighbouring villages back in India.
Though, it may seems to be a gathering, if you notice, there will be small pockets of people, most of them are from same villages and neighboring villages.
It is true that it can be irritating when you want to glide through their staring eye (if you are with your wife or girl friend), but, we have no choice unless avoid weekend evenings. This is not the case in India, but, here it is different, because too many singles at a same time.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:On time I ate at an Indian restaurant along Serangoon Road opposite the HDB blocks.... it was DAMNED EXPENSIVE
Then why u stupid go there and eat, better eats in a restaurant and paid 7% Gst to help the poor ya.
Originally posted by AndrewPKYap:On time I ate at an Indian restaurant along Serangoon Road opposite the HDB blocks.... it was DAMNED EXPENSIVE
u went to restaurant, what u expect? $4.50 food?
Originally posted by Devendran:I live here in Singapore for the past 10 years. As you, i have also wondered why so much indians gather there on weekends. I don't know the answer until few months back. Though, i am Indian, we are creamy (call ourselves) layers who does white collar job and would hardly go to Little india except to buy our grocieries. But, the people who gathers there are blue collar workers, Supporting my friends business, i had a chance with them to interact and most of them live in the dormotories in Tuas, Jurong. Most of the week, they eat their self prepared food (though, it will be horrible, they have no choice), during weekends, they can spend few dollars on so called good food from little indian restaurants and most importantly coming there to interact with their own villagers who work here. The reason for gather is to pass on information back to village friends, family , to send electronics good and to gather information about the happening in their and neighbouring villages back in India.
Though, it may seems to be a gathering, if you notice, there will be small pockets of people, most of them are from same villages and neighboring villages.
It is true that it can be irritating when you want to glide through their staring eye (if you are with your wife or girl friend), but, we have no choice unless avoid weekend evenings. This is not the case in India, but, here it is different, because too many singles at a same time.
Ya, most of them are uneducated construction worker. what u expect?
i was there just now.
feels like home.
Originally posted by dalim1966sg:Well it is alway " Black Out" in broad day light every Sunday in little India !
bu hao siao leh. you think funny ah? imagine you kena insult like that lah. even my local indian friend kena called black black black. these indians dark-skinned you heart pain meh? go rot in hell lah. so much for potraying a harmonious neighbour.
Next station, Little India... 下一站,��度。。。
do u all know that indians there is fair skin, even fair skin than most chinese. Those idiots who call them blacks are ignorant fools, because blacks refers to those who are of african origin.
The darker skin indians are called south indians. but there are very fair ones among them.
The causasian kind is called north indian, but not everyone of them is fair.
who cares about the men ( mostly) who gather at little india?
But one thing is that their women are absolutely hot and neat and pawns all our local ladies. If u been to other countries, u can see them indian girls who are very hot and pretty
They have the best eyes, sharp nose and hairstyle. And best thing is that they are like the true female on this planet
South Indians (majority group in SG are of 3 groups)
Tamil - (Both fair and dark)
A good example of a Tamil actress is Aishwarya Rai
Malayalee - Mostly fair
Telegu - Always fair
Go there becoz of Mustafa ..
Originally posted by Devendran:I live here in Singapore for the past 10 years. As you, i have also wondered why so much indians gather there on weekends. I don't know the answer until few months back. Though, i am Indian, we are creamy (call ourselves) layers who does white collar job and would hardly go to Little india except to buy our grocieries. But, the people who gathers there are blue collar workers, Supporting my friends business, i had a chance with them to interact and most of them live in the dormotories in Tuas, Jurong. Most of the week, they eat their self prepared food (though, it will be horrible, they have no choice), during weekends, they can spend few dollars on so called good food from little indian restaurants and most importantly coming there to interact with their own villagers who work here. The reason for gather is to pass on information back to village friends, family , to send electronics good and to gather information about the happening in their and neighbouring villages back in India.
I apologise to u on behalf of racist singaporeans. I assume that u are also from India? U see, here in Singapore, most mountain tortoise have never left this small dot and always think narrow minded, when they see construction workers gather around in little India, they auto think all indians are like that.
Some post racist remarks to stir trouble. But our govt is not tolerant of these things
i know those porr indian workers are really pitiful working in the hot sun to send money back home, Most of them actually eat @ Hindu temples on weekends and they really miss their family at home.
They only find company among themselves as there is no other way they could mix with locals because of cultural differences. Even so , they do not mix with Sgporean indians too . I am not surprised that even sgporean indian shun them
just like the whites in western countries , sgporeans have their ugly side thinking themselves so highly like they are superior beings and shunning those who are not like them. These people grew up in material comfort and will never realise what the poor man goes thru. its of no use blaming them.
Now there is class divide between locals themselves because of elitism mentality. if are a teacher in local schools, u can easily identify wif this in the currrent young generation.
--------------------
-------------------------------