Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:rofl.
I wont even bother writing much. The racist guy sounded more american than Australian. I really hate how you people lump everyone together into "Asian" and "western". None of you are Asian, you are Singaporean, Chinese, Vietnamese etc or whatever you are. It's a really narrow category.
So far i think we have not seen ANY good arguements here. Most critics can always find good arguements to insult anothers culture; some fo you have good points in pointing out that the majority of noble prize recepients and PHDs intellectuals are non Asian, although Kishore Mahbubani will certainly disagree and even quote numbers, but then the Japanese make good technology and the developing countries will develop.
But i personally believe we "westerners" or "europeans" or (if i go more specific) "west european bloc" (even more specific) "Brits" have a right to feel superior only for past glories or past technologies or achievements. I believe europe has a monopoly on liberal ideas and human rights, back when "asia" (to use your own terms) did not have similar ideas; (with the exception of some classical Chinese philosophers; China is a great culture). And we can feel superior; (well the Americans can haha) for inventing stuff like microchips and modern education and the rule of law; which many asian states are trying to emulate. But these issues are a matter of historical fact and are in the past, they can be used by people to "feel superior" and to make others feel inferior.
But you guys should know that all that stuff does not matter... what matters is here and now. America is not all-powerful, USA cannot fight or take on all other states in war, nor can it survive on its own in the global economy, therefore, it makes no1 more superior or inferior. American soft power in itself does not make America superior. There is no genetic basis to claim one ethnicity is superior to another... yet =) But you get the idea right?
I do think that the Singaporean school system is lacking in fostering creative thinking and decent sportsmanship. I remember PE in local schools was just army training, a lot of running and no games. Whilst in british schools PE were games and a lot of playing, fun, strategies and just simple playing the game; whatever it was basketball, rugby etc. PE in Singapore was just toiling training to prepare for IPPT and then for army, such a chore, already that is an element of a mechanized culture, which is inculcated since young.
(Quite a sweeping statement for me to make, but i just want to air my views on the lack of PE in Singapore at a time; i think it may be different now, but still behind the so called 'west')
When you are faced with such remarks, it is hurtful but exploding in a tirade of insults just does not do much. Instead, what you should do is look for stuff you can be proud of in your country. Also trying to ride on the bandwagon of "ASIA" is very shallow... i am sure that most of you Chinese Singaporeans are anti-PRC and try to think of yourself as not "chinese" so much so that you don't want to learn mandarin because you consider it uncool, but then if China sends China-man to Mars, you will immediately have no more reservations about your "chinese-ness", that would be very shallow and i predict that will happen in future =) But then Singapore might have its OWN nationalism and its own distinct culture by then.
Asia is not a union, it is just a region and it has no extensive ties similar to a federal American system nor the European Union, please don't use the term "Asian" as a generalizing picture, it is so shallow. I realize many Yanks make that mistake, calling a Chinese person "Asian." hilarious.
Sexcellent.
never trust ang moh.
try the continuous pots at chit chat... it's fun !
these aussies better not go to china or any asian countries. Cause seriously they will get burn so hard i think we will nuke em before they send their lousy pathetic balless kangeroos after our asses. i throw them koala!
aye~ lehman brothers appears to be aussie leis! woah! those aussie very power uh! hahahaha~!!!
and they better be careful of their looks. Aussies have no market in the world. they rely on our uni grads to make money and u noe wats worse their rugby is just bull shit superbowl is so much better oh oh not to forget... they are plain ugly lor! went there no chio bu one all like kanna car bang left right zzz no wonder the babies come out so cb one. head loose ma father bang mother till kanna car bang so son come out machiam bang bang.
i think it also depends which state you go..
my friends seem to be settling well in perth
Originally posted by Kyutake:and they better be careful of their looks. Aussies have no market in the world. they rely on our uni grads to make money and u noe wats worse their rugby is just bull shit superbowl is so much better oh oh not to forget... they are plain ugly lor! went there no chio bu one all like kanna car bang left right zzz no wonder the babies come out so cb one. head loose ma father bang mother till kanna car bang so son come out machiam bang bang.
aussies got no market, dont think entriely true, because they seem to be self suffiecient.
Hahaha! No need to get so worked up, TS. Just tell him Singaporeans, or asians for that matter, are going to US, Aussie and UK unis and owning :)
And also the reason why Australia's economy managed to avoid collapse is because they rode the coat tails of China's economic wave. Still think Asians are inferior, well think again, matey. G'day.
So wats the big deal about whose white and whose yellow.
Freaking hell,one green alien one day fly into earth and throw a few nuclear at us and start laughing "Stupid humans!Muhaha!"
Then we all send to stone age and see how u guys laugh by then.
aiyah, in the end, their country stil kana bomb ma..
everyone rem the 911 incident rite?
haiz..
dun care abt him la.
just another bo liao kid..
he got afew spelling wrong leh..
911 was not a bomb, it was a plane crashing into the Twin Towers in NYC. Get your facts right.