Originally posted by Unknown A:so nurse cannot upgrade to be a doctor?? even u in nursing course with gpa 4 all module dist also cannot go to nus medical school???
if can
every one go study nursing in ITE liao ![]()
pls inform me where is the clinic/hospital when u become doctor so I can tell my family not to go there
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:
Are you doing your "A"s or your "O"s now?If you are truly interested in being a doctor, your "A"s must be triple science and maths, and if possible, on H3 standard. nbsp;
Originally posted by Unknown A:so nurse cannot upgrade to be a doctor?? even u in nursing course with gpa 4 all module dist also cannot go to nus medical school???
Originally posted by candiz:if you are not a 4 As student (with at least B for GP / KI), I don't think NUS will even bother to consider you as an applicant
You can go overseas for your medical degree, but please stay there and don't come back, I only want top quality doctors here
if overseas then graduate summa cum laude leh
can anot
or still cannot fight with sg doctor
and are u sure sg doctors all is nus one
Originally posted by Unknown A:oo dunno…. chem engineering harder to get in or medical??
chem engineering dont need interview,medicine need.medicine also requires you to write an essay in 45 min and take a personality test IF you get through the interview round.so i guess medicine is harder to get in.chem engineering requires very good results too,however.
there's an acquaintance of mine,she took Alvls and couldn't get into medicine.so she went to the uni to ask whether there's any chance she can get into the course (she really wants it).they told her that if one takes nursing in poly and get really good grades,then take another aptitude test,she may be able to upgrade to medicine.i don't really know the details,but it doesn't sound very realistic to me.
Originally posted by candiz:You can go overseas for your medical degree, but please stay there and don't come back, I only want top quality doctors here
i think singapore is relaxin the criteria and encouraging more foreign docs / grads to practice here?
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:I have a friend who is a doctor-in training at NUS. His parents told me his school fees were like more than 80k and they have to take lots of loans.
I told them dont bluff. Your child must have scholarships. They told me no...
fees now even more expensive, up to $90k, cos it's now $18k a year, so x 5 = $90k![]()
btw, i found this
Two poly students accepted into NUS medicine course (2007)
FOR the first time, two polytechnic students have been accepted into what is possibly the toughest university course here to get into - the faculty of medicine of the National University of Singapore(NUS).
The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine will take in 250 aspiring doctors this year. It had received 32 applications from 32 polytechnic students and selected Mr Soong Jun Wei and Mr Ron Ng. Both are 20-year-olds from Ngee Ann Polytechnic. Jun Wei graduated with a diploma in biotechnology while Ron has a diploma in biomedical laboratory technology.
Unlike junior college students who apply with A level results, polytechnic students are assessed on their polytechnic results(80 per cent) and O-level grades(20 per cent). But like all other applicants, they had to take an essay test and go through two rounds of interviews. This article from geraldtan.com
The Straits TimesPossible, the chances are like 2 poly students in NUS med faculty's 50 years of history.
Pray hard that you will be one of the next 2 candidates for the next 50 years
Originally posted by candiz:
Idiot, stop telling people to pray hard. They can never get in by praying.
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:
working hard + Praying
mmm... probably want to spend the praying time working....
Originally posted by candiz:btw, i found this
Two poly students accepted into NUS medicine course (2007)
FOR the first time, two polytechnic students have been accepted into what is possibly the toughest university course here to get into - the faculty of medicine of the National University of Singapore(NUS).
The Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine will take in 250 aspiring doctors this year. It had received 32 applications from 32 polytechnic students and selected Mr Soong Jun Wei and Mr Ron Ng. Both are 20-year-olds from Ngee Ann Polytechnic. Jun Wei graduated with a diploma in biotechnology while Ron has a diploma in biomedical laboratory technology.
Unlike junior college students who apply with A level results, polytechnic students are assessed on their polytechnic results(80 per cent) and O-level grades(20 per cent). But like all other applicants, they had to take an essay test and go through two rounds of interviews. This article from geraldtan.com
The Straits Times
June 18, 2007Possible, the chances are like 2 poly students in NUS med faculty's 50 years of history.
http://www.np.edu.sg/lsct/courses/blt/Pages/default.aspx
http://www.np.edu.sg/lsct/courses/mbio/Pages/default.aspx
Just for those interested, the two courses are quite tough.
http://medicine.nus.edu.sg/corporate/app-mbbsadmissionfaq.html
Indeed I am wrong, H3 is not included and triple science is no longer needed, my apologies. But do take note that even your contrast subject will be taken into account...so have fun.
dat lhl going or not? he from CHS right?
Originally posted by youyayu:
i want to be like those doctor that can play with knife that kind leh.
not use inner energy
Originally posted by GHoST_18:i think singapore is relaxin the criteria and encouraging more foreign docs / grads to practice here?
Most of these foreign doctors are based in the government clinics.
Some of them are not up to standard. ![]()
Originally posted by HyuugaNeji:
oh my gosh, do you know what 'sarcasm' is? check up the dictionary
when I say 'pray hard', I was being sarcastic because I don't think he can get in at all, I'm not telling him to literally go 'pray hard'!!
dumb people like you make me laugh![]()
Ok... dun fight dun fight.......