Originally posted by Nikar 3:really? u so sure if you happen doors for SG girls, they will smile and even say thank you? good luck, man......hope you come out from your own reality soon.
will be waiting for you in the real world.
don't say doors.......even if you press the lift button and wait for them to come in, how many SG girls will say thank you? it will be good if there's half of them who do that.
of course la....
Yes im sure.
maybe no girls say thank you to you only lor.
Hey, I am in the real world already. ![]()
Why Singaporeans .. when we do something nice for another person. We ALWAYS expect something in return ?
When we open doors for others and they don't say thank you.. we complain about the lack of gratitude.
Can we just do it for the sake of graciousness within ourselves ?
A gracious society, must start with a small group of people.. it's like paying it forward.
Then when more people see you doing it, they may start to do it too.. it will come around and we will benefit from it.
When we grow up and become a parent.. teach our own children to be gracious and they will continue this legacy for the next few generations.
Graciousness is a contagious behavior.
Originally posted by Cool-gal:ermmm, i think politeness mostly came from tourists.
those ang mohs live here long enough will pick up some sporeans style.
basically, ang mohs in their country are very straightforward, so when they are here long enough.
kia su + jia lat = hell.
True. I dont compliment nor am i overtly polite to locals because i know they are just not into it. So i reframe from doing so, its part of doing as the locals do.
Originally posted by jojobeach:Why Singaporeans .. when we do something nice for another person. We ALWAYS expect something in return ?
When we open doors for others and they don't say thank you.. we complain about the lack of gratitude.
Can we just do it for the sake of graciousness within ourselves ?
A gracious society, must start with a small group of people.. it's like paying it forward.
Then when more people see you doing it, they may start to do it too.. it will come around and we will benefit from it.
When we grow up and become a parent.. teach our own children to be gracious and they will continue this legacy for the next few generations.
Graciousness is a contagious behavior.
Sin city is too young for that, and its people dont have a culture of empathy and politeness they are simply just not into it yet. Some might say people here are less human. Give it time
Just yesterday i was on the bus, and there was this whole load of Singaporeans crowding in the front of the bus when the rear end was free. A few commuters and myself could not even get in, and a few Singaporeans on board were smiling at our predicament.
So i yelled out telling them to move inward, telling them (you people) not to wait for a "kindness on the Bus" campaign to come before they modify their attitudes.
Well as expected they didn't do anything, but they did let me move to the rear. So that's about all you can expect from the locals.. Next time i might be more forceful, but frankly it'll do little good if the cultural mentality is set like that, i am no disciplinarian, i just watch with amused sociological interest.
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:
True. I dont compliment nor am i overtly polite to locals because i know they are just not into it. So i reframe from doing so, its part of doing as the locals do.
ohhhh, u ang moh?
living in sg for how long liao?
Actually i would say we are
"Big hearted Snobs"
-We're nice and liberalist and all that good stuff, yet at the same time we don't treat non europeans and non americans and non/australians as equals in our international organizations. God is FAR from the analogy you want to compare us to.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:went to this 7 eleven outlet today to buy something, and me and this ang-moh couple (presumable tourists) were slightly in front of me. both were in their late 50s - 60s.
the wife went in, and i waited for the husband to go in to, but this kind old soul instead open the door for me big-big and gestured me to go in first.
when i saw that, i was so touched i want to cry because you don't see SGreans doing this (if they did, God will call the devil "daddy"). i smiled and told him thank you.
(btw, everything in that Marina square 7-11 costs double the price of elsewhere.....can u beat that???!!!)
i learnt a big lesson today, and can now understand why so many SG girls like them.
it's because they're real men, big-hearted and gracious.
not like tiny SG guys who fight with women to see who can get into MRTs first.
KNN.
and i'm a SG guy btw, though i don't push others to enter MRTs or buses.
Singapore should welcome real men like these so that our population can be more gracious; those gracious and kindness campaigns are useless.
and not reall SG guys too........SG girls must learn from ang-moh girls too......more elegant, more gracious, more big-hearted.
when i compare local girls to foreign ones, they have lots to learn in terms of character.
last time when i was a staff at Watson, the easiest customers to deal with were all ang-mohs; hardest to deal with are PRCs (as expected).
i always avoid PRC customers and favored the ang-moh ones.
this is why ang-mohs are given better / priority service everywhere (on the plane, at restaurants etc), because generally, their race have set a good reputation for themselves and in our hearts and minds.
Why do you think the percentage of Ang Mo guys coming for Asian girl? Cos Asian girls are more loyal n faithful to their partner. Large percentage of Ang mo gals can have more than 15men as friend partners, flings that I believe seldom Asian gals will do....
I personally like Ang Mo for their kind gesture to gals, but when u see how they drank and a fuss at Boat Quay, then u will step 5 steps back
And in your draft, u mentioned SG gals, so I believe you are very unhappy with SG gals, so make sure u dun get a not elegant, not gracious, small-hearted singaporean gals for GF or wife