opening door or keeping door open only mah....
rather common sight in other country.....
let me put this nicely: i see lots of extremely naive people.
I guess end of the day, you gotta see them in their own habitat to make a conclusion.![]()
tht is basic courtesy mah... its jus tht SGreans very kiasu everything must 1st.. they like queueing up for free gifts but for taking bus and mrt, they dun queue up... izit tht they can't tink? maybe must impose a fine.. and for those caucasians, nvr judge a book by its cover...
I guess the graciousness and the open hearted-ness of caucasians are overrated, have you seen the ugly sights of them? well maybe you haven.
Talking about graciousness and all Im surprised that no one mentioned the Japanese, but than again I believe its the culture and the environment that we are brought up in that shape our behaviour.
to nikar:
hey!!u SIAO ARRRR!!SMALL THING LIKE DAT N U START CALLIN HIM GOD!!
U WANT TO HAVE PLENTY BABIES WIV DOORMAN ISIT?
well, apparently, in terms of graciousness, 've never met a bad ang-moh all my life.
refering to my watson job experience again last time at Holland V where there's a lot of ang-mohs (some tourists but most are expats).......there was never a bad one despite me encountering hundreds of them in that period.
say, if a product is sold out, they will smile warmly, thank me and walked away.
locals and PRC's reaction? the average ones just walk off, the bad ones keep harrasing me and the extreme ones (a few) wanted to see my supervisor. KNN.
and there was this ang-moh guy who wanted to buy a microwave oven at watson (promotion last time). He wanted to take out the thing to see and i agreed.
and he was the one who seem to be guiding me instead of the other way round! lol
Him: now, let's take a look at this......what do we have here?
And he slowly unpack everything himself and seeing that i was so busy (1 - 2 PM peak period at watson), he packed everything neatly back under my nose. awesome.
best example is this ang-moh girl at the bank. both she and me were going towards the door and we were at the same footing, and since i'm a guy, it would be shameful to squeeze her out of the way and fight for the door, so i quickly open the door for her.
the reaction? a warm "thank you" + smile.
i can say 99 / 100 SG girls won't give you this reaction......they will think you're some freak trying to pick them up. NO KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!
oh, btw, saw this SG office guy in tie and briefcase dashing for the MRT seat after the previous person got up, even though there were some girls around him. well done!!!
i'm not saying all ang-mohs are angels, but asians generally have much to learn from them in terms of graciousness. of course, they should learn filial piety and confucian, moral values from asians. that's an area they're weak in, since Western society doesn't seem to talk about filial piety, righteousness and all these stuff.
To Minigun:
the word "god" means nothing to me, so i can just it anywhere i like to express my meaning. to me, the word "god" means someone who is of a higher standing compared to the average man on the street.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:
best example is this ang-moh girl at the bank. both she and me were going towards the door and we were at the same footing, and since i'm a guy, it would be shameful to squeeze her out of the way and fight for the door, so i quickly open the door for her.
i can say 99 / 100 SG girls won't give you this reaction......they will think you're some freak trying to pick them up. NO KIDDING!!!!!!!!!!!
no le.... when i open the door for the sg girls, they rape me le.... more better then some stupid smile
kk lame joke aside, like i said ts.... they are living in our country so basically they want to feel like home and wanted to be welcomed here anytime. u will never know wats their true color is when u see them in their own country
I have met both good and bad angmo. The good ones more than the bad ones.
Originally posted by theme_and_guess:kk lame joke aside, like i said ts.... they are living in our country so basically they want to feel like home and wanted to be welcomed here anytime. u will never know wats their true color is when u see them in their own country
that's logical, but then, i'm just a no-body, i was alone at the time, and i'm like 3 heads smaller than that guy.....even if he wanna suck-up, he would suck-up to those pretty ladies or fierce-looking toughies mah.
pffft angmoh? go for genie chuo heart. she is the most big and kind hearted princess ever been born
Originally posted by Nikar 3:
the wife went in, and i waited for the husband to go in to, but this kind old soul instead open the door for me big-big and gestured me to go in first.
it's because they're real men, big-hearted and gracious.
Go to Clarke Quay at night and you won't find the gracious "angmohs", maybe at galleries, but even then not likely.
Singapore should welcome real men like these so that our population can be more gracious; those gracious and kindness campaigns are useless.
Campaigns are insulting to Singaporeans. Being gentle and nice and kind should be something innate and human, and it seems the "angmohs" are like that simply because we have a longer culture/history of fighting each other, stealing, pillaging and conquest in europe, genocide and wars hence we see the need to be all "nice to each other today," so that we don;t fight. That's my constructivist answer to explain it, it is not a naturally innate thing, but it is moulded through time and history.
and not reall SG guys too........SG girls must learn from ang-moh girls too......more elegant, more gracious, more big-hearted.
I dont know about all those qualities, it really could be the opposite. But sg girls need to grow larger and thats it... i am not disputing personalities, it sucks that you would say that. Sg girls don't sleep around as much and there are less instances of slag calling in Sin in schools than in brit schools, which is a good thing.
this is why ang-mohs are given better / priority service everywhere (on the plane, at restaurants etc), because generally, their race have set a good reputation for themselves and in our hearts and minds.
They are only given priority service by the oriental customer service providers in my experience, which sucks, because your point shows that you "singaporeans" discriminate in service. The australian and british flight attendants do not discriminate, they treat everyone like crap ha! (Except 1st class).
I remember in 89 one time when i was flying SIA, we were with some Hong Kong partners (Chinese guys), and at the end of my flight, my children were given toys, but not my Chinese partner's children, and so we got so furious "its as if my children get toys because they are white, and do only white children like toys and comfort?" NO, i am a foreigner and i hate how asian people have that favouritism. Especially, when i walk into a bank with an Indian man, it really sucks.
You want to talk about hearts and minds. You are an example of a Singaporean with a 3rd world mentality, you need to change that.
Originally posted by Fantagf:I have met both good and bad angmo. The good ones more than the bad ones.
I met more bad ones than good ones, maybe coz I was in their natural habitat.![]()
Originally posted by EarlNeo:opening door or keeping door open only mah....
rather common sight in other country.....
A much more common sight is drunk and disorderly and cliquish
albeit the cliquish part i blame singaporeans for not integrating us. But it is much more common to see drunk and disorderly and sleeze in pubs.
Originally posted by ditzy:I met more bad ones than good ones, maybe coz I was in their natural habitat.
hee hee heee. dats y i always wonder how we will be treated if we go to their countries to stay, study.
where about are u?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
hee hee heee. dats y i always wonder how we will be treated if we go to their countries to stay, study.where about are u?
I am in singapore?![]()
to nikar:
say what??u let customer unpak n pack all by himself??in ang mo culture worldwide(usa,oz,england etc).....u would have been scolded by boss himself.they would call u poor quality n stuff .
asian americans etc are also very kind.....more kinder than ang mo too.
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:A much more common sight is drunk and disorderly and cliquish
albeit the cliquish part i blame singaporeans for not integrating us. But it is much more common to see drunk and disorderly and sleeze in pubs.
nah.. itis the junkies and homeless that are a common sight....
Originally posted by MINIGUN2000:
asian americans etc are also very kind.....more kinder than ang mo too.
O RLY?
i bet i can prove you wrong.
SUCKER!!
oh wait. i already did.
oh. are you being specific with the 'american' bit??
Just like any other races around the world, there are both good and bad westerners.
If all westerners are nice and kind, you wouldn't hear news about shootouts, murders and rape in the western countries already. Of course, the same goes for any other race, anywhere else in the world.
Hence, it will be foolish to stereotype, given that anyone can change from being good to evil and vice-versa.
On a side note, the only people whom I known as truly totally evil as a group will have to be Al Qaeda. : D
Originally posted by ditzy:Goodness gracious, 1 old caucasian couple, and the old man opens the door and lets you in first, and you feel like this whole world doesn't owe you already.
If I did the same, you'll probably get down on your knees and kowtow to me.
Originally posted by Nikar 3:well, apparently, in terms of graciousness, 've never met a bad ang-moh all my life.
refering to my watson job experience again last time at Holland V where there's a lot of ang-mohs (some tourists but most are expats).......there was never a bad one despite me encountering hundreds of them in that period.
say, if a product is sold out, they will smile warmly, thank me and walked away.
locals and PRC's reaction? the average ones just walk off, the bad ones keep harrasing me and the extreme ones (a few) wanted to see my supervisor. KNN.
and there was this ang-moh guy who wanted to buy a microwave oven at watson (promotion last time). He wanted to take out the thing to see and i agreed.
and he was the one who seem to be guiding me instead of the other way round! lol
Him: now, let's take a look at this......what do we have here?
And he slowly unpack everything himself and seeing that i was so busy (1 - 2 PM peak period at watson), he packed everything neatly back under my nose. awesome.
oh, btw, saw this SG office guy in tie and briefcase dashing for the MRT seat after the previous person got up, even though there were some girls around him. well done!!!
i'm not saying all ang-mohs are angels, but asians generally have much to learn from them in terms of graciousness. of course, they should learn filial piety and confucian, moral values from asians. that's an area they're weak in, since Western society doesn't seem to talk about filial piety, righteousness and all these stuff.
To Minigun:
the word "god" means nothing to me, so i can just it anywhere i like to express my meaning. to me, the word "god" means someone who is of a higher standing compared to the average man on the street.
You sure or not?? This is sooooooooooooooo common la. 99/100 ?
This is just basic courtesy man. Like wtf ![]()
Originally posted by genie-chou <3:pffft angmoh? go for genie chuo heart. she is the most big and kind hearted princess ever been born
she dunno who the fuck are u
too bad
Originally posted by Lorry`:best example is this ang-moh girl at the bank. both she and me were going towards the door and we were at the same footing, and since i'm a guy, it would be shameful to squeeze her out of the way and fight for the door, so i quickly open the door for her.
You sure or not?? This is sooooooooooooooo common la. 99/100 ?
This is just basic courtesy man. Like wtf
really? u so sure if you happen doors for SG girls, they will smile and even say thank you? good luck, man......hope you come out from your own reality soon.
will be waiting for you in the real world.
don't say doors.......even if you press the lift button and wait for them to come in, how many SG girls will say thank you? it will be good if there's half of them who do that.
ermmm, i think politeness mostly came from tourists.
those ang mohs live here long enough will pick up some sporeans style.
basically, ang mohs in their country are very straightforward, so when they are here long enough.
kia su + jia lat = hell.