The lack of privacy that comes along with having a social networking website account has finally hit me.
My mum's ex-colleague's (also my mum's good friend) daughter, who is my friend on facebook, saw my ROM Solemnization pictures as well as the wedding photos on facebook.
Nothing wrong with that right?
Of course nothing is wrong, unless if the people decide to spread the word and it got back to me. What do i mean by that?
Above mentioned friend, saw the pictures and alerted her mum, who IMMEDIATELY (seriously, no joke, it was IMMEDIATE.) picked up the phone and called my mum to ask her about it.
auntie: "eh, ur son got married already? how come never invite us? is he going to invite us for the wedding?"
mum: "orh no la, he registered his marriage with his girlfriend so they can apply for a new flat.. as for the wedding photos, they're just models only..."
see? with facebook (or the internet, for that matter), you'll have no privacy. Anything you put online, people will just SPREAD THE WORD.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not having a problem with people talking about things that I post online. I put these stuff like my wedding pictures on facebook and on my blog, so as to share my happiness and my joy with my friends. It just gets irritating when people get so EXCITED and keep talking about it, until it gets around to me knowing it.
If you see something I post, and you find it interesting or JUICY (you know what I mean..), I would really appreciate it if you just kept it to yourself or at the very least, don't go around the world screaming about it and making a big issue out of nothing at all.
That is why I refuse to have any fb account.
wat thing on the net is got privacy one?
if u no want other ppl to know, lock it, set a pw... limit access to the ppl u dun mind sharing with....
but then, wats the point of having a social networking account?
got some settings rite if I'm not wrong to allow only who to view your pics, profile, contacts, etc..
Originally posted by Fantagf:That is why I refuse to have any fb account.
yea sometimes having fb (or anything to do with sharing stuff on the internet) takes away a bit of privacy.. it's something we should expect when we share stuff on the net, but it gets a little out of hand when so many ppl shriek and make it sound like a meteor just crashed into earth..
Originally posted by QX179R:got some settings rite if I'm not wrong to allow only who to view your pics, profile, contacts, etc..
yea got, but the thing is, it's the friends whom u have added who make a big issue out of the things u post.. heh. sometimes it just gets damn irritating.
I no fb...
Originally posted by FireIce:wat thing on the net is got privacy one?
if u no want other ppl to know, lock it, set a pw... limit access to the ppl u dun mind sharing with....
but then, wats the point of having a social networking account?
precisely, totally spot on..
that's prolly the dilemma of sharing on the internet.. heh.
then you should not even put up the photos on facebook.
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:
yea sometimes having fb (or anything to do with sharing stuff on the internet) takes away a bit of privacy.. it's something we should expect when we share stuff on the net, but it gets a little out of hand when so many ppl shriek and make it sound like a meteor just crashed into earth..
I am rather a private person so I hardly share. There are already far too many people who love to dig personal info. I hardly come across any singaporeans who respect the privacy of others.
yea got, but the thing is, it's the friends whom u have added who make a big issue out of the things u post.. heh. sometimes it just gets damn irritating.
some pple are juz pure jealous la..
Originally posted by kenn3th:then you should not even put up the photos on facebook.
putting stuff on facebook is fine, with the whole purpose of sharing with friends..
my settings are already set to only friends that can view my photos etc..
its just that sometimes ppl tend to make a molehill out of nothing over things that u post.. really no need for that right? heh.
Originally posted by QX179R:some pple are juz pure jealous la..
cases of sour grapes? LOL.
Originally posted by countingdowntoORD:putting stuff on facebook is fine, with the whole purpose of sharing with friends..
my settings are already set to only friends that can view my photos etc..
its just that sometimes ppl tend to make a molehill out of nothing over things that u post.. really no need for that right? heh.
cases of sour grapes? LOL.
ya, something like dat..
Originally posted by kenn3th:
we are Wary of clones :P long long time ago, in the sou-th.. umm peaceful place of sgforums. there was a cone named stooky and he made a mole hill out of a pack of cai png
BAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Its just a matter of time before the link of my friendster to my facebook to sgforums.
Time is not ripe yet. Soon.
lol
I use FB to play the games there only. I have my security settings up so well no one can find my profile, just ask littlestream.![]()
wah lau, its like tat one la..
u cant change everyone.. but u can change the stuff u post..
Make it private lor and share among the ones that you choose to view. The day you post, should haf thought of it.
speaking of facebook, i've been using it for days and it seens to be eating up my virture memory. both on IE7 and firefox
But the thing with peoples post is, they sometimes say things that dont go through their brain ler..
sexpose people only. diu ma hai ar.. hahaha
Originally posted by Cool-gal:wah lau, its like tat one la..
u cant change everyone.. but u can change the stuff u post..
heh if i change the stuff i post, then the meaning of posting the original thing would be lost, wouldn't it?
lol.
It is a normal reaction that the daughter will tell her mother because the mother is a good friend of your mother mah. Naturally she will be interested.
Eh.. any of you got your mother , fater, or even aunties n uncles add u on facebook or not ? lol!
*shivers*
Party poopers.