Yesterday I was at airport immigration and this singaporean airstewardess was talking to a pilot. She was obviously singaporean becaue I heard her talking to the immigration officers using all singaporean words
Next word, she was forcing out a slang with the pilot. WTF? And it sounded damn awkward, I feel embarassed standing next to her.
If the accent she uses sound natural it is fine. Somehow some people unconsciously will switch to speak the other party's sort of accent. It just happen spontaneously. Of course, there are also people intentionally speak with the accent and sound unnatural.
we can adapt so well
u try asking ang moh to speak our singlish with singlish è…”
If you end up going to Brisbane, you have to do the same.![]()
and if u end up in toronto, u have to speak the same otherless they will be clueless with your sg accent!
actually, true.......i've seen almost everyone somehow kind of change their accent a bit when speaking to westerners.......
some of them don't use those curly-tongue caucasian accent, but they somehow change their pitch and tone (low.....suddendly high etc) and exaggerate the words.......dunno how to describe......
it's like, normally, it's "I will give you the documents later."
when they speak to ang-mohs, it's:
"Aye will GIVE (you) the DOG-cuments LAE-ter".
Originally posted by Nikar 3:actually, true.......i've seen almost everyone somehow kind of change their accent a bit when speaking to westerners.......
some of them don't use those curly-tongue caucasian accent, but they somehow change their pitch and tone (low.....suddendly high etc) and exaggerate the words.......dunno how to describe......
but there one sounds so broken lah...
Originally posted by Nikar 3:actually, true.......i've seen almost everyone somehow kind of change their accent a bit when speaking to westerners.......
Because we are Singaporeans, we adapt with the given situations.![]()
When Ang Moh Speak to us... they speak VERY sloowwwly.. and LOUD.
Because they worried we cannot understand English.
Then when they not sure if you can speak English.. they will mumble something in English .. and then when you reply in English " WHAT was that again ?".. they will be happy and speak to you in normal manner.
When in Ang Moh land.. best is wear a T-shirt.. that says " I speak English"
And NO.. we do not need to SLANG our english for Ang Moh to understand.. we just have to NOT use our Slinglish Slang when we speak to them.
Aussie accent still alrite... anit that hard to comprehend.....
wait till u head scottish accent...
but somehow i like irishish accent... used to have this irish ger in the same hostel.... duno why... i just love listening to her eveytime she talk...
arrr... how cha doing mate.
I get the opposite thing. When I talk to Singaporean friends my wife comments that my speech speeds up and I use lah a lot. ![]()
By the way, are we talking slang or accent here?
Better than seeing China people working for SIA....
People.....
Slang means words used in replace of the original word and meaning. Eg. Yo bro, how's it hanging!
Twang means accent.
Dang, it's twang and not slang. TS kena bang. ![]()
talk to you must vomit blood
Originally posted by Gedanken:Dang, it's twang and not slang. TS kena bang.
I love singlish.....
Go die lah!
Si mi Dai ji?
Siam arh!
Why be a pretentious idiot? Just speak proper English without the slang
Originally posted by Man!x:Why be a pretentious idiot? Just speak proper English without the slang
Because sometimes.
The angmohs dont understand us when we do not speak the same twang with them.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
Because sometimes.The angmohs dont understand us when we do not speak the same twang with them.
Hmm, English spoken by Singaporeans are clear and concise already, Spoken correctly, anyone with knowledge of the language, even rudimentary can understand.
No need to bend backwards to accomodate caucasians. If they are so mighty and powerful, they could start by speaking their own language properly
Asians always go over the top to please these people. Thats why some of them have the "Lord" mentality. They think Asia is a place to screw exotic women, cheap food and cheap products to consume and bring back to their pathetic abode so they can brag to their white trash friends that they have been here.
Sometimes, its not a matter of a Singaporean speaking Ang Moh Twang to Ang Mohs.
Whats worse is when Singaporean speaking really horrible ang moh twang to fellow Singaporeans.
talk to idiot must have idiot slang
You talk in their languages, they feel more closer to you.
Originally posted by mumee:You talk in their languages, they feel more closer to you.
Language and slang are two different things.
Originally posted by Man!x:Language and slang are two different things.
I agree.