I will be going oversea for further studies for 3 years. If you were me, what will you want to do before u leave home?
Some people would go eat all the sg food they like since 1 of the things most people who leave sg misses is the food here which is something harder to get.
I would say time with friends and family are still possible through the internet these days even if face to face contact can never replace online contact.
Spend more time with family, gf and close friends.
Eat all the local food that i like.
Visit the places that i like to go.
i 'll do what i can in singapore which cannot be found overseas
Originally posted by rlsh07:spend time with family n frens
Right, I will do the same.
then also, while your spending time with ur gf or family or friends in Singapore, take video down.... then u can bring them along.... watch the videos when u miss them.
Enjoy what you like here, you're gonna miss them.
I fear TS go there don't want to come back after that... ![]()
Originally posted by ---Max---:I will be going oversea for further studies for 3 years. If you were me, what will you want to do before u leave home?
so i assume ur a guy then...do rmb to do ya deferment since it's for 3 yrs...and if u wanna avoid NS all together stay put at the country dun come back till 40 yrs old..
Besides getting your documentation ready.
One thing I would do, is scan all those local food recipe books into a portable hardrive.
If possible, send your photographs for scanning and keeping into the portable hard drive too. Same with whatever documents you have.
And bring the portable hard drive along!
And for heavens sake, convert all your hokkien, chinese, teochew, hindi, melayu CDs and DVDs into your hard drive and mp3!
Then take time to go to Beach Road Army market, get yourself some americanised dog tags to wear on body, buy some army kit bags aka parachute bags and pack it into your luggage. Eat the tulang, eat the local food there too.
Got your International Driving Permit? Got your CNCC?
Cancelled your mobile phone and internet subscription yet?
Then call up all your long lost family and friends, go makan, go drink kopi with them and exchange as much email addy, messenger ids and facebook addies and telephone numbers as possible.
Bring your camera and take lots and lots of pictures. You can sort them out later when you are in another country.
3 years is not a life sentence and before you even realise it you will be back as the oldest recruit in your BMT.
buy tamilflu, mask and condom
taste as much local food as u can....
i got stuck in uk for 8th years....
by the time i am back.. i know how to cook lasksa, chicken rice, roast belly pork, dumpling, currys, etc....
still, it dun beat the having it here at hawker stalls
oh, u didn't took the express class meh??? wha lau 8 years, must have failed too much and need to take sub papers...
Originally posted by EarlNeo:
still, it dun beat the having it here at hawker stalls
No need chopping, grating, washing and standing there stirring at the cooking food. Not to mention having to do washing up.
OF COURSE LAH!
prepare and lend how to make bak ku teh.. and local delight like laksa.. go there can cook yourself when you miss sg food. Oh important must learn to cook chicken rice. will get famous when you know how to cook there and many friends will come over to eat your sg chicken rice. Then you won't be lonely there.
Anyway, we still do not know which country you are going.
So just in case you can't get these stuff readily.
Stop by Daiso and buy these.
1. Bento box
2. mini silicon bowls and saucers that will fit into your bento box to hold chilli paste or some dish separator.
3. Boiled egg shaper
4. Rice shaper
5. silicon pancake or sunny side up egg mould
And go thru a book on how to make bentos.
Just in case you are going to a country where pack food to your school will keep your budget low.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
No need chopping, grating, washing and standing there stirring at the cooking food. Not to mention having to do washing up.
OF COURSE LAH!
actually, all thsoe chopping, grating, washing, etc still okie.....
the worse thing ish.....
after doing all those shit.....
the end product end up tasting like shit too.....
Originally posted by angel7030:oh, u didn't took the express class meh??? wha lau 8 years, must have failed too much and need to take sub papers...
i guess me just aint that smart as u or as loaded as ur dad....
then again... atleast i am in uk for 8yrs.... wat abt u?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Anyway, we still do not know which country you are going.
1. Bento box
2. mini silicon bowls and saucers that will fit into your bento box to hold chilli paste or some dish separator.
3. Boiled egg shaper
4. Rice shaper
Just in case you are going to a country where pack food to your school will keep your budget low.
wah lau, by the time, before he left, i think he may change his mind to become a jap cook specialise in bento box dishes, making more money than a degree holder
Originally posted by EarlNeo:actually, all thsoe chopping, grating, washing, etc still okie.....
the worse thing ish.....
after doing all those shit.....
the end product end up tasting like shit too.....
Happened to me once.
Emptied a whole bottle of chicken rice paste into the rice cooker.
Rice came out saltier then the dead sea.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Anyway, we still do not know which country you are going.
1. Bento box
3. Boiled egg shaper
4. Rice shaper
me think u can skip all this.... coz most places.... u can find chinese.... and when there are chinese... there is sure to have a mini china town....
hence u can find all these easily there.... cook book, u can find online.... think, u might wanna bring some home cook paste... like certain chill paste etc.... those are a treasure to find... if u are into those
Originally posted by angel7030:
wah lau, by the time, before he left, i think he may change his mind to become a jap cook specialise in bento box dishes, making more money than a degree holder
can also consider branching out to doing tiffin services.
who knows......he might be in whichever country more then 10 years earning big bucks with this suggestion while doing his further studies.