I am in ns now , and planning to study after i ord , have been considering shatec , culinary skills or hospitality , may i know whether they only provide diploma? do they provide adv diploma and degree programme? and does shatec cert give you entry to local uni? because i heard that shatec is also a recognised diploma cert in singapore. I hope i can gain some feedback from this thread. Thanks a lot guys. Would be glad if any current or ex student share their experience in shatec. =)
better sign on army lah
Originally posted by Resentment:I am in ns now , and planning to study after i ord , have been considering shatec , culinary skills or hospitality , may i know whether they only provide diploma? do they provide adv diploma and degree programme? and does shatec cert give you entry to local uni? because i heard that shatec is also a recognised diploma cert in singapore. I hope i can gain some feedback from this thread. Thanks a lot guys. Would be glad if any current or ex student share their experience in shatec. =)
They only have a higher diploma in Hospitality Management, and there are no degree courses.
Shatec diplomas are one of the handful of private diplomas in Singapore recognised by local unis, though it is placed lower than diplomas from local polys.
i think the insitution is at Bukit Batok,..near the swimming pool, once i go there with my gal frens, but after seeing that it was quite run down, my frens decided not to enrol, you can see some of their students smoking outside by the corridors..but i am not saying Shatec is no good, anyway, if you are interested in whatever you like, go for it...there are many university beside local one taking on servicing and hospitality courses..after completing Shatec, the lecturer will recommend you few of these universities..some are as far as France where you learn about wines and rules of dinning..but very expensive, so you got to work and learn at the same time, unless you parents are loaded.
Temasek Poly got open 1 hospitality school at sentosa leh...
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:They only have a higher diploma in Hospitality Management, and there are no degree courses.
Shatec diplomas are one of the handful of private diplomas in Singapore recognised by local unis, though it is placed lower than diplomas from local polys.
so if i have a shatec diploma can i get into uni like nus , ntu or smu? i know sim do allow pte diploma. Wanted to go for sim diploma courses , but i didnt meet the entry requirement. i only got a n lvl cert and a pte dip cert in sports management.
Originally posted by Resentment:so if i have a shatec diploma can i get into uni like nus , ntu or smu? i know sim do allow pte diploma. Wanted to go for sim diploma courses , but i didnt meet the entry requirement. i only got a n lvl cert and a pte dip cert in sports management.
Why don't you just go to their websites and see whether they accept it or not and what courses u are eligible for
Originally posted by Resentment:I am in ns now , and planning to study after i ord , have been considering shatec , culinary skills or hospitality , may i know whether they only provide diploma? do they provide adv diploma and degree programme? and does shatec cert give you entry to local uni? because i heard that shatec is also a recognised diploma cert in singapore. I hope i can gain some feedback from this thread. Thanks a lot guys. Would be glad if any current or ex student share their experience in shatec. =)
if you are serious in studying hospitality or tourism, go to switzerland and study there if money is no object?
Originally posted by marcteng:if you are serious in studying hospitality or tourism, go to switzerland and study there if money is no object?
hmm , dun think i have the money. but anyway i would prefer culinary skills. thanks a lot for your advise though
Originally posted by Resentment:hmm , dun think i have the money. but anyway i would prefer culinary skills. thanks a lot for your advise though
try SIM University. more reputable and bigger size than SHATEC
Originally posted by marcteng:try SIM University. more reputable and bigger size than SHATEC
UniSIM got culinary courses meh?
Originally posted by dkcx:UniSIM got culinary courses meh?
ya. check out SIM as well
Originally posted by marcteng:ya. check out SIM as well
i just checked the website but i cant find the course for culinary arts.
Originally posted by Resentment:i just checked the website but i cant find the course for culinary arts.
Did you checked Unisim as well?
Originally posted by marcteng:Did you checked Unisim as well?
hmm nope , whats the difference between unisim and sim?
Originally posted by Resentment:hmm nope , whats the difference between unisim and sim?
UniSIM is the 4th private Uni. go check their website
okay , i already went to check it out there , and i used the course wizard search thing , and it did have culinary arts , but when i click on it , it says cannot find the thing that i wanted.
www.unisim.edu.sg
Originally posted by marcteng:UniSIM is the 4th private Uni. go check their website
U mean Public i guess
dun.
Originally posted by dkcx:U mean Public i guess
SMU, NTU, NUS are public. UniSIM is private uni la.
those ivy league like harvard, Yale are private Uni in USA.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:dun.
WHAT U MEAN?
Originally posted by Resentment:i just checked the website but i cant find the course for culinary arts.
there is course for diploma in culinary skills , but u need to have interest in it cause the interviewers will know . Class starts at 9am and sometimes end at 7.30pm-8pm , bukit batok , qutie strict because if u being late for class everytime u will have 2 demrit points ( 19 demrit points can get u suspected ) but rarely happen unless ur bad
Originally posted by haha879:
there is course for diploma in culinary skills , but u need to have interest in it cause the interviewers will know . Class starts at 9am and sometimes end at 7.30pm-8pm , bukit batok , qutie strict because if u being late for class everytime u will have 2 demrit points ( 19 demrit points can get u suspected ) but rarely happen unless ur bad
suspected of wat?
got so serious ah.
liddat whr gt justice.
suspended . . . .