Edited.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:suspected of wat?
got so serious ah.
liddat whr gt justice.
suspecting is for those who always skip sch , act ah beng , break sch stuff ..but they will dicuss with parents and other teachers before considering of suspection.
If student who didnt meet the minimum score for exam they might* be ask to leave the sch
Originally posted by haha879:
suspecting is for those who always skip sch , act ah beng , break sch stuff ..but they will dicuss with parents and other teachers before considering of suspection.If student who didnt meet the minimum score for exam they might* be ask to leave the sch
so they is stil innocent until proven guilty rite.
Originally posted by Resentment:so if i have a shatec diploma can i get into uni like nus , ntu or smu? i know sim do allow pte diploma. Wanted to go for sim diploma courses , but i didnt meet the entry requirement. i only got a n lvl cert and a pte dip cert in sports management.
since when shatec dip can go local uni?
Originally posted by bryanw:since when shatec dip can go local uni?
i dunno , i heard from someone , if it is a relevant course.
Originally posted by Resentment:i dunno , i heard from someone , if it is a relevant course.
SHATEC got partnership with RMIT and other foreign universities to do a third year course if u got their diploma.
Originally posted by marcteng:
SHATEC got partnership with RMIT and other foreign universities to do a third year course if u got their diploma.
that means you cannot enter local uni? except for sim? i know there is also a culinary arts course in sim but i cant find any info about it.
Originally posted by Resentment:that means you cannot enter local uni? except for sim? i know there is also a culinary arts course in sim but i cant find any info about it.
http://www.sim.edu.sg/sim/pub/pgm/sim_pub_pgm_list.cfm?id=511
There you go.
i doubt shatec diploma can go local uni. local unis dont offer hospitality bachelor degrees i think, as such it is not relevant course. anyway shatec diploma drop standard alot i heard.
Originally posted by bryanw:i doubt shatec diploma can go local uni. local unis dont offer hospitality bachelor degrees i think, as such it is not relevant course. anyway shatec diploma drop standard alot i heard.
hmm how come standard dropped?
Originally posted by Resentment:hmm how come standard dropped?
well shatec shortened the diploma last time 3 years now 2years 7mth i think. the hotel attachment was one year but shortened to 7mth and in this industry practical experience is very important. many students kpkb got bullied during hotel attachment work hours too long, PH and weekends must work and asked to work OT. they just join shatec cos they have no interest in this industry and their o level grades cant go anywhere, they refuse to repeat o levels.
thus many students dropout halfway during the course lost interest. some dropout during hotel attachment got sacked for too many mc, bad attitude. dont forget shatec is not sponsored by the govt and the course fees are almost 17k cash compared to previous years of 12k plus. shatec depends on their students for business. in addition, some of the students expect supervisory positions too fast after graduation instead of putting in a honest hard day of work.
eventually most hotel mgmt, accomodation and F&B students leave this industry to join other industries or use their diploma as stepping stone to study other courses in unis overseas with less exemptions compared to poly diploma of cos. the staying power is the culinary students they really display passion.
Originally posted by bryanw:
well shatec shortened the diploma last time 3 years now 2years 7mth i think. the hotel attachment was one year but shortened to 7mth and in this industry practical experience is very important. many students kpkb got bullied during hotel attachment work hours too long, PH and weekends must work and asked to work OT. they just join shatec cos they have no interest in this industry and their o level grades cant go anywhere, they refuse to repeat o levels.thus many students dropout halfway during the course lost interest. some dropout during hotel attachment got sacked for too many mc, bad attitude. dont forget shatec is not sponsored by the govt and the course fees are almost 17k cash compared to previous years of 12k plus. shatec depends on their students for business. in addition, some of the students expect supervisory positions too fast after graduation instead of putting in a honest hard day of work.
eventually most hotel mgmt, accomodation and F&B students leave this industry to join other industries or use their diploma as stepping stone to study other courses in unis overseas with less exemptions compared to poly diploma of cos. the staying power is the culinary students they really display passion.
i plan to take culinary skills anyway. So its still a good idea to join shatec right? unless the standard of the course have also been dropped for culinary arts.
Originally posted by Resentment:i plan to take culinary skills anyway. So its still a good idea to join shatec right? unless the standard of the course have also been dropped for culinary arts.
culinary skills dropout rate is lower. but also many fuck. cos not many can stand working in a kitchen, they want aircon. and burns and cuts are part and parcel of the job, in addition to many fuck when its busy and service staff outside fuck the orders up.
Originally posted by bryanw:
culinary skills dropout rate is lower. but also many fuck. cos not many can stand working in a kitchen, they want aircon. and burns and cuts are part and parcel of the job, in addition to many fuck when its busy and service staff outside fuck the orders up.
i thought being a chef working in a kitchen for long hours is part and parcel of their job? maybe those ppl are just not cut out to be chef
practical experience in shatec training and commercial rests are not really the real deal when compared to working in hotel and rests' kitchens. outside in the working world is the real experience. starting from the bottom, wont be surprised your chef ask you to chop veg first before you can cook. and pay low. $1k plus around there.
Originally posted by Resentment:i plan to take culinary skills anyway. So its still a good idea to join shatec right? unless the standard of the course have also been dropped for culinary arts.
Shatec's culinary arts standard is still considered higher than local polys' standard by many people.
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Shatec's culinary arts standard is still considered higher than local polys' standard by many people.
hallo? poly dont have culinary skills at all.....
http://www-bus.tp.edu.sg/bus_home/bus_courses/bus_ft_courses/bus_diploma_in_ccm.htm
got la in tp , but i dun have o lvl only if not i go for that liao.
Originally posted by Resentment:got la in tp , but i dun have o lvl only if not i go for that liao.
go study at at switzerland lar lol. if not study at shatec for diploma, then once u finished it, go RMIT and study for a 1 year degree course there.