but what if you are stuck in the middle of the escalator, with some inconsiderate people blocking the way, and ur train is going to leave the station by the time u reach the platform?
hence, it is still better for poeple to keep to one side.
but during really busy times such as the peak hour, don't people stand on both sides of the escalator already...?
Originally posted by deathmaster:but what if you are stuck in the middle of the escalator, with some inconsiderate people blocking the way, and ur train is going to leave the station by the time u reach the platform?
hence, it is still better for poeple to keep to one side.
What makes you think those are inconsiderate people? They are just standing there. It is the person who is kan cheong and want to push through who is the inconsiderate one. Did he tell anyone his problems before hand? Do those standing on the escalator know, oh this one got meeting, or late three times already, must give way to him.
If train is about to leave that means passengers already boarded, he rush up also must squeeze into packed train, better wait for the next train. In Singapore next train is only minutes away.
Train platforms should be made the same level as the concourses, no ups no downs, no debates.![]()
Haha interesting to read this thread.
Freakass: well you cant get these few ppl to agree with your position. The ppl out there is even more hard to reason with, especially their different mindsets, ages and backgrounds. Well your calculations make sense and I agree with the timing that it does clear ppl faster if both lanes are used. (Whether they choose to walk or stay still) But the default mindset is somehow already set and there seems to be no clear solution to this issue. Imagine you are on the right n u propose this mathematical reasoning, you will only be met with this bottomline response. 'I dun care how fast the 20-30 ppl at the bottom with me reach the top with me at wat time, i am only caring abt myself. I want to be the fastest to reach the top'
Yes. use the stairs n stuffs. I do know of kiasu ppl who plan their route zhun zhun one. To the extent, they purposely get in at that door of the cabin such that when they alight they will be the first few to access the stairway at their desired station. But most of us are not like them and thus this congestion problem.
You see the main difference now? If most of the travellers had this selfish n non gracious attitude, it is rather difficult to implement a solution whether your solution makes more sense or not. Unless it gets to a point where fines are imposed or there is a job position just to rush ppl off escalotor. You alr start to see those MRT staff acting as Packer alr. Do you think there will one to rush ppl up or down escalator? Might invite more unneccesary problems other than seen as a joke too :)
Just my 2 cents worth of thoughts.