Well to the TS...
You're definately spot on with your mathematical equation. The station will clear out faster if both sides of the escalator are occupied.
However, what we're dealing with here are problems with social behaviour.
I just don't see how a mathematical solution will solve problems that stem from behaviour attributes.
Unless you can GUARENTEE me that people will always be punctaul, you can wipe off this "kiasu" attitude from people and no one will ever be running up the escalator ever, then I'll agree with you.
I usually stand on the right because I hold on the escalator with my right hand. I simply let people pass if they say "excuse me" nicely.
Why done we just wake up earlier?![]()
I am more wary of early bird, they then to peek at gal skirt up the escalator, now i wear 3 underwears
in a hurry during peak hours? STAIRS IS THERE FOR YOU. do not keep left on escalator. i support.
eh..what up doc?
Now this is GREAT... This topic has set some people thinking... We have some people here who gave very good arguments and explanations.
There is actually no clear conclusion but I think we can actually achieve a win-win situation for this. We can still follow the "stand on the left unless in a hurry" rule in order to work towards a gracious society. But on the other hand, if it is crowded, please do not insist on keeping to the left and clog up the entrance of the escalator. Just walk up the right side of the escalator briskly.. Well unless you have a sprained ankle or if you are old or if you are pregnant, etc.
Get my point?
Here's a reason to NOT keep left, to not be western and civilized =)
It's a courteous protocol from what i understand, taken from airports and now onto your trains as you people become more affluent.
I am quite surprised to find locals keeping left in public on escalators. Some even stand on the right, but they are alert and are mindful to give way for people rushing up.down in a hurry. Good on ya'll
Originally posted by LordoftheLamers:Here's a reason to NOT keep left, to not be western and civilized =)
It's a courteous protocol from what i understand, taken from airports and now onto your trains as you people become more affluent.
I am quite surprised to find locals keeping left in public on escalators. Some even stand on the right, but they are alert and are mindful to give way for people rushing up.down in a hurry. Good on ya'll
we are mindful just because we dun wan a stupid rush for nothing guy to knock into us and make us fall together with him. And we are also mindful of getting molested. You think we really give way ar??? siao!
Angel....is the pic in the avatar....is you...?
This "Stand On The Left" rule is another case where the minority have their way over the majority. This is largely due to our newspapers. They were selective.
When the rule was first "debated" over the newspaper forum, most of the letters printed were for the motion. The "For" letters outnumbered the "Against" letter. My letter was not published. I wrote against the idea, citing our climate, the length of our escalators, the diverse range of passengers, i.e young students, families, elderly, courting couples, etc., who uses our MRT system. Furthermore, I also stated that the escalators move more people faster without the rule.
The For lobbists gave only two reasons, being late for an appointment, and its being done in "other" countries. Yet their letters were published ad nausem.
This led the SMRT to implement the "Stand On The Left" rule for their escalators on a "trial" basis. Then the people forgets.
Now the majority, stand aside for the few tardy people who are late.
Originally posted by angel7030:I am more wary of early bird, they then to peek at gal skirt up the escalator, now i wear 3 underwears
That's gross...sweaty. Ewww..... ![]()
Originally posted by mancha:This "Stand On The Left" rule is another case where the minority have their way over the majority. This is largely due to our newspapers. They were selective.
When the rule was first "debated" over the newspaper forum, most of the letters printed were for the motion. The "For" letters outnumbered the "Against" letter. My letter was not published. I wrote against the idea, citing our climate, the length of our escalators, the diverse range of passengers, i.e young students, families, elderly, courting couples, etc., who uses our MRT system. Furthermore, I also stated that the escalators move more people faster without the rule.
The For lobbists gave only two reasons, being late for an appointment, and its being done in "other" countries. Yet their letters were published ad nausem.
This led the SMRT to implement the "Stand On The Left" rule for their escalators on a "trial" basis. Then the people forgets.
Now the majority, stand aside for the few tardy people who are late.
The escalators in the MRTs tend to be faster than normal mall escalators anyway.
How much time do you actually save from one end of the escalator to the other end if you walk up on the right?
5 seconds?
You are right when you say this thing was implemented because "some other country was also doing it" ![]()
Originally posted by freakass:Now this is GREAT... This topic has set some people thinking... We have some people here who gave very good arguments and explanations.
There is actually no clear conclusion but I think we can actually achieve a win-win situation for this. We can still follow the "stand on the left unless in a hurry" rule in order to work towards a gracious society. But on the other hand, if it is crowded, please do not insist on keeping to the left and clog up the entrance of the escalator. Just walk up the right side of the escalator briskly.. Well unless you have a sprained ankle or if you are old or if you are pregnant, etc.
Get my point?
We get it, but reality speaks the ultimate truth. Unless stg is done to change it, you might still witness the same situation everyday.
Actually, all it takes is someone to slip and fall while walking up the escalators, causing a chain domino reaction with all the people behind him and people will write to the media questioning why this was implemented.
As it is, people have gotten hurt when things like slippers got caught in the sides of the moving escalator. ![]()
ppl say std left, u std left.
stop being geh kiang can.
so whr do u oways std?
I stand left.
If my gf with me, she stand left also, but either 1 step higher or lower.![]()
u c, u c.
ditzy is such a gd boy.
y cant u learn frm him.
Originally posted by Meat Bao:Angel....is the pic in the avatar....is you...?
U asked 100 times liao, why dun you come down to my usual Bugis starbuck coffee this afternoon, i will be lazing around there with some of my gal frens watching stupid sg guys,..i got a tattoo on my left forearm, crown of thorn with a 666. You should able to recognise me from my avatar. And i can also recommend some of my gal frens to you.
Bring your money hor
Ladies and Gentlemen,
Let me just give you all an analogy of escalator, very simple, escalator was invented to make people travel up more easier and less tiring by just standing and held on to the handrail. If someone is going to rush up the stairs, i suggest he/she please climb the stairs beside each escalator, it total defeated the usage of such invention and yet he or she dare to expect people to give way?? Go fly kite lor
for guys, be serious hor, dun quote anal ya
of coz u can dictate dat if the escalator is urs.
Originally posted by charlize:Actually, all it takes is someone to slip and fall while walking up the escalators, causing a chain domino reaction with all the people behind him and people will write to the media questioning why this was implemented.
As it is, people have gotten hurt when things like slippers got caught in the sides of the moving escalator.
Happened at tanjong pagar MRT recently isn't it ?
Originally posted by Stevenson101:Happened at tanjong pagar MRT recently isn't it ?
Did it?
Didn't see any media reports on it. ![]()
Originally posted by kalez:
lovely idea... but please think of you GF that is on the heels please :)
that's sweet
but gals are not so useless on heels.