Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
You are the only odd one out. Even the certified nutcases who had stayed before in IMH did their NS properly in my unit. The only pre-requisite for the nutcases to serve is to have their meds on time and on target, else they go amok.If the Hindu priest can eat sanctified dried rations which by right, should last for a whole week, then he could jolly well prepped the rations way ahead of time. Else, why bother to serve the national service in the army? Second, before enlistment(i.e at CMPB), Madana should have enquired as to whether he should be transfered to another service like Police or SCDF due to his religious practices.
If i not wrong CMPB will check biodata first before posting ppl before enlistment.
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:actually, this guy jus wants his food to be brought into the camp and hav keep his turf of hair (sihka) because he is a Full - time priest. It is as simple as that while some of u guys "over-exaggerated" his case.
If muslim can go for friday prayers, sikh is allowed to wear their turban, why cant this guy keep his sihka?
say he chao keng without knowing the whole story. judging him to be a chao keng jus by this post???
and the you say he is a shit stirrer?
and what does jenovah's witness gonna do with this case?
Just by 1 thread, u all can concluded so many things.....
Yeah, right, bring food to camp. but WHAT NEXT? Where the fuck are we, a proclaimed SECULAR republic GONNA DRAW THE LINE?
Hell! lets destroy secularism! See who's got the bigger religious movement around and then whomever wins, be ruled by religion! I dont mind having 4 wives! I dont mind being made an indian first class - Brahmin! I don't mind calling myself a monk and drive a BMW, with properties in Perth, racing horses as pets, handsome boys as my 'personal assistant'! Or a so called 'confusionist scholoar' living in my private 'scholar village' with emperor assigned wives and concubines! Whichever, I can adapt.
But can you and the rest of the citizens?
Originally posted by flapdoodle:I think priest rules are in black and white. SAF has got no case.
yes each religion has their own set of rules, but let me also say that if a particular religion is allowed to be practiced in singapore, it must also accept the singapore system and practices and in this case the saf.
and if a particular rule is of importance, the saf will accomodate that particular religion's request such as muslims having friday prayers, being served halal food, sikhs being allowed to wear their turbans etc.
so im afraid your theory of the saf have got no case just because the priests rules are in black and white does not stand.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Yeah, right, bring food to camp. but WHAT NEXT? Where the fuck are we, a proclaimed SECULAR republic GONNA DRAW THE LINE?
Hell! lets destroy secularism! See who's got the bigger religious movement around and then whomever wins, be ruled by religion! I dont mind having 4 wives! I dont mind being made an indian first class - Brahmin! I don't mind calling myself a monk and drive a BMW, with properties in Perth, racing horses as pets, handsome boys as my 'personal assistant'! Or a so called 'confusionist scholoar' living in my private 'scholar village' with emperor assigned wives and concubines! Whichever, I can adapt.
But can you and the rest of the citizens?
food was allowed to be brought him from the temple for him during his BMT.
Originally posted by Fatum:everyone have their religious convictions too, some of the old catholics I know .... die die must go for morning mass everyday ....
so a kid comes along and say "I also ! " ... he gets everything lah ? ....
so a kid comes along and say "I must go to church and cell meetings 3 times a week ! it's my religious right !" .. so no need night training liao lah ? .....
so a buddhist kid comes along and say "I must niam keng at the temple every morning, cos I'm a novice monk ! it's my religious right !" .... he gets to stay out or skip NS lah ? ....
or a sikh kid comes along and say "I must carry a sword with me at all times, as commanded by my religion, it's my religious right !" ... so how ?!?! (and it has already happened, in canada !)
wah ! ...... good idea to chao keng eh ? ..... play the religious card ... so they won't dare to touch you ? Remember, when you claim some rights for yourself, you're also taking away some rights from others, what is fair to one person would be unfair favouritism for others ....
as to the fellow, I think he should shut up and serve, instead of stirring up shit and making trouble ....
This indian priest only requested to have food from the temple only. He did not chao keng or try to ask for off days to attent religious events. Please get your facts right
Originally posted by Fatum:I assume that we are all men that have served NS before .....
you should know how officers, especially career officers, think ....
would they want to rock the boat unneccessarily ? any sort of complaints, especially from NSFs, would be looked into, and the SAF's first reaction would be to look for faults in the commanders ... most of the time, they would give in (and let the other men steam at such favouritism), than to say no, why risk your career over some NSF who would just fark off from your life after 2 years ? ....you leave them in peace, and they would gladly leave you in peace too ...
so what then ? .... it must be more than meets the eye ... chap must have rocked the boat so severely as to turn his commanders against accommodating him .... thing is ... things like stay outs, nights off, etc, are privileges, not rights, you don't demand, it's not your father's army after all .... squeeze too hard, treat it like they owe it to you, treat it like your father's army, and the SAF will bite back ....
and I can tell you, the chap won't be getting what he wants .... not by stirring up shit like this, not by fanning cyberspace and the press with this pettition and what not ...
Don't assume based on your bias against religion. If you claim that chap rock the boat so severely as to turn his commanders against him kindly show us your evidence
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:food was allowed to be brought him from the temple for him during his BMT.
glad the general realized the tearing up of our constitution and secularism in time and stopped such nonsense!
By all means, go ahead and practise one's religion, BUT NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF OUR OTHER BOYS EFFORTS!!!!!
NEVER, EVER ATTEMPT TO IMPOSE ONE'S RELIGION FOR SPECIAL PRIVILEDGES IN OUR SECULAR SOCIETY, NO MATTER IN WHAT FORM OR HOW SIMPLE IT MAY BE, IN SOMETHING AS PRECIOUS AS DURING THE LEARNING AND TRAINING OF DEFENSE OF OUR NATION - MADE UP OF OUR FAMILIES, RELATIVES AND FRIENDS WHOM WE ARE ALL INTER-CONNECTED IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
We are all that there are to protect ourselves. Everyone counts......
Originally posted by Suffocate:
Don't assume based on your bias against religion. If you claim that chap rock the boat so severely as to turn his commanders against him kindly show us your evidence
ah ... yes ....
someone who's unwilling to fight and wants to shrink from his duties' defending another of the same stripe ? ....
http://sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/368920
read what I said about commanders protecting their own asses ? .... what do you have to say about that then ? ....
it's life and death dude. stop wasting time here. get a lawyer.
shit stain panties
aka guru of affirmative actions
Originally posted by xtreyier:glad the general realized the tearing up of our constitution and secularism in time and stopped such nonsense!
By all means, go ahead and practise one's religion, BUT NOT AT THE EXPENSE OF OUR OTHER BOYS EFFORTS!!!!!
NEVER, EVER ATTEMPT TO IMPOSE ONE'S RELIGION FOR SPECIAL PRIVILEDGES IN OUR SECULAR SOCIETY, NO MATTER IN WHAT FORM OR HOW SIMPLE IT MAY BE, IN SOMETHING AS PRECIOUS AS DURING THE LEARNING AND TRAINING OF DEFENSE OF OUR NATION - MADE UP OF OUR FAMILIES, RELATIVES AND FRIENDS WHOM WE ARE ALL INTER-CONNECTED IN MORE WAYS THAN ONE!
We are all that there all to protect ourselves. Everyone counts......
ok good....
u try to ask all the muslim guys in the army to eat pork???
Originally posted by stellazio:yes each religion has their own set of rules, but let me also say that if a particular religion is allowed to be practiced in singapore, it must also accept the singapore system and practices and in this case the saf.
and if a particular rule is of importance, the saf will accomodate that particular religion's request such as muslims having friday prayers, being served halal food, sikhs being allowed to wear their turbans etc.
so im afraid your theory of the saf have got no case just because the priests rules are in black and white does not stand.
Bro, there are rules a priest have to follow. it is also part of religious doctrines , the same way muslims and sikhs have.. . Dont u get it into yr head?
Originally posted by Herzog_Zwei:
You are the only odd one out. Even the certified nutcases who had stayed before in IMH did their NS properly in my unit. The only pre-requisite for the nutcases to serve is to have their meds on time and on target, else they go amok.If the Hindu priest can eat sanctified dried rations which by right, should last for a whole week, then he could jolly well prepped the rations way ahead of time. Else, why bother to serve the national service in the army? Second, before enlistment(i.e at CMPB), Madana should have enquired as to whether he should be transfered to another service like Police or SCDF due to his religious practices.
How you know that he never enquire on whether he can serve police or scdf?
Originally posted by RaTtY8l:ok good....
u try to ask all the muslim guys in the army to eat pork???
Thanks you agree.
Pork? hey, it aint the only protein, dig it? There's plenty of other sustenance that my muslim brothers -in - arms can forage for in an outright conflict of battles that the priest cannot find unless 'consecreted and prepared within religious sacred precients.
Besides the boy did not claim he cannot carry guns, he finished his BMT too.
Originally posted by xtreyier:Thanks you agree.
Pork? hey, it aint the only protein, dig it?
how about asking the muslim guys to eat non-halal food?
I ggolged up this priest thing and it seems that Brahmins adhere to Dharma
Brahmins have become warriors and eventually restored law and order [{citation needed)] . Brahmins according to Dharma should assume a ruling position because they are the law-makers and preservers of Dharma [{citation needed)] . However, whenever there have been incidents in the history, where the rulers have failed to live up to Dharma, Brahmins have assume power to restore proper law and order
Dharma also refers to the teachings and doctrines of the founders of these traditions, such as those of Gautama Buddha and Mahavira. In traditional Hindu society with its caste structure, Dharma constituted the religious and moral doctrine of the rights and duties of each individual. (see dharmasastra). Dharma in its universal meaning shares much in common with the way of Tao or Taoism.
Originally posted by xtreyier:glad the general realized the tearing up of our constitution and secularism in time and stopped such nonsense!
We are all that there are to protect ourselves. Everyone counts......
His is not a privilege u idiot. its a requirement.He didnt ask for 10 course banquet
The food he asked for is Prasadham, a kind of simple food that is not better than what SAF cookhouse vegetarian side offer. Even normal vegetarian hindus will not eat this everyday. its only offered in temples and its the food of the priests . Here are the pics:
dun be green-eyed can.
u oso can go b religious priest de.
u din get to hv any "special privilege".
& u xpect it to be the same for eberibirdie else.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:His is not a privilege u idiot. its a requirement.He didnt ask for 10 course banquet
The food he asked for is Prasadham, a kind of simple food that is not better than what SAF cookhouse vegetarian side offer. Even normal vegetarian hindus will not eat this everyday. its only offered in temples and its the food of the priests . Here are the pics:
Ya it is a very simple theory which all the SAF supporters here refuse to acknowledge and come out with all kinds of arguments to defend the SAF.
I won't be suprise that these people are superiors in the army who bully their subordinates and are trying to defend their own kind.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:I ggolged up this priest thing and it seems that Brahmins adhere to Dharma
Brahmins have become warriors and eventually restored law and order [{citation needed)] . Brahmins according to Dharma should assume a ruling position because they are the law-makers and preservers of Dharma [{citation needed)] . However, whenever there have been incidents in the history, where the rulers have failed to live up to Dharma, Brahmins have assume power to restore proper law and order
Dharma also refers to the teachings and doctrines of the founders of these traditions, such as those of Gautama Buddha and Mahavira. In traditional Hindu society with its caste structure, Dharma constituted the religious and moral doctrine of the rights and duties of each individual. (see dharmasastra). Dharma in its universal meaning shares much in common with the way of Tao or Taoism.
Buddha did not advocate the caste system in India during that era. In fact he pointed out that by birth, one is not a brahmin or an outcaste, by deeds is one a brahmin and an outcaste. how true.
the caste system is entirely discriminatory system.
Originally posted by Suffocate:
Ya it is a very simple theory which all the SAF supporters here refuse to acknowledge and come out with all kinds of arguments to defend the SAF.
I won't be suprise that these people are superiors in the army who bully their subordinates and are trying to defend their own kind.
The problem with SAF regular ( not the org) is excessive paranoia and ignorance. As usual SAF is run by people, the same sucky people u find else where in the workforce. Their paranoia blinds them from seeing truth to the point that everything becomes questionable to them. I afraid that such mentality during war , the enemies can deceive the SAF ( which has no war expereince) by manipulating it and then finally defeat them in their own ground. I am very sorry , but this is one of the things said in the Art of War - Deception using paranoia. Time and again it has been used in the world wars and before it to great effectiveness...
18. All warfare is based on deception.
19. Hence, when able to attack, we must seem unable;
when using our forces, we must seem inactive; when we
are near, we must make the enemy believe we are far away;
when far away, we must make him believe we are near.
20. Hold out baits to entice the enemy. Feign disorder,
and crush him.
Originally posted by marcteng:Buddha did not advocate the caste system in India during that era. In fact he pointed out that by birth, one is not a brahmin or an outcaste, by deeds is one a brahmin and an outcaste. how true.
the caste system is entirely discriminatory system.
Yes but history gets distorted over time.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:MAYBE THIS BOY IS TRUE WARRIOR.
its his religion. this is in sg not india, although india has abolished the caste system, it is still discriminatory till this day and age. 70% of india are still rural, poor and uneducated.
Originally posted by marcteng:its his religion. this is in sg not india, although india has abolished the caste system, it is still discriminatory till this day and age. 70% of india are still rural, poor and uneducated.
hello there, it has nothing to do wit this case. Do not divert the topic.
Originally posted by flapdoodle:hello there, it has nothing to do wit this case. Do not divert the topic.
subtheme ma lol. even drama and movies got sub plots lol