Do u think learning dialects n its culture will help us to have a better sense of belonging to ur origin?
No, but it sounds a hell lot better than mandarin.
is this for homework?
but my answer is no.
and with regards to how it sounds, i dont think it sounds any better/worse than english/mandarin.
Ler tah ti kai?
No, only provides more alternatives to swear at someone.
yes
so i know wat my grandma is scolding me
Originally posted by Karen Ng:Do u think learning dialects n its culture will help us to have a better sense of belonging to ur origin?
me got praise by my grand parents for knowing how to talk in dialect.
but so people on the HIGHER society side think that dialect is very VULGAR... geez...
Do u think learning dialects n its culture will help us to have a better sense of belonging to ur origin?
Lee Kuan Yew won't allow.
MINISTER Mentor Lee Kuan Yew yesterday reiterated his stand against Chinese dialects, saying that learning dialects adds to a child's burden.
Also, it takes away the child's time and energy from mastering English and Mandarin, he said.
In addition, English and Mandarin differ in their vocabulary, phonetics and syntax and adding on dialects will cause 'negative interferences' in the learning of the two languages, he added.
In defending the decision to promote Mandarin over dialects, he also noted that the value of a language is its usefulness...
http://www.pmo.gov.sg/News/Transcripts/Minister
We can see that those countries where people speaks dialect like Hong Kong and Taiwan, their standard of mandarin and english is quite bad, this is because they speak dialect.
Hong Kong mandarin standard is not good, Taiwan english standard is poor.
Karen, yes, of course.
I don't feel any connection whatsoever with my origins, but I'm definitely interested in dialects as a form of communication and of course the culture. Who's going to say no to knowledge?
I can understand some Teochew but I haven't tried speaking it. I don't recall actually learning it, just overhearing conversations, and yet I can understand them. It puzzles me.
but I'm definitely interested in dialects as a form of communication
Lee Kuan Yew will disapprove.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Lee Kuan Yew will disapprove.
do u think lao yao siew lky can speak hakka?
i know what these thread is leading to,...please dun fall for it..in the end it is still shitty LKY, stupid LKY etc etc...
Uncle, you might as well spell it out now and dun waste our time.
do u think lao yao siew lky can speak hakka?
He already admitted that he cannot.
Spell what out?
Originally posted by Ah Chia:He already admitted that he cannot.
So seems to this ungrateful lao yao siew it is not important to be linked to his root - hakka
So he think he was born a beijing native ah, encourage Mandarin to throw our dialects away. knn
So seems to this ungrateful lao yao siew it is not important to be linked to his root - hakka
That is due to his dirty agenda.
Originally posted by angel7030:i know what these thread is leading to,...please dun fall for it..in the end it is still shitty LKY, stupid LKY etc etc...
shut up, it is time for you to go to be mamapapasan to get your gals work for money for u.
WE all know what you work as. wahahahahahh! or kwee po, or kwee kong! hahahahah
Originally posted by Ah Chia:That is due to his dirty agenda.
Seems his agenda is always for money and himself. knn
Originally posted by Fantagf:shut up, it is time for you to go to be mamapapasan to get your gals work for money for u.
WE all know what you work as. wahahahahahh! or kwee po, or kwee kong! hahahahah
Bingo! i hit the right button..in the end it will be full of anti LKY supporter here praising each other and nothing else...me RUN!!!
Originally posted by angel7030:
Bingo! i hit the right button..in the end it will be full of anti LKY supporter here praising each other and nothing else...me RUN!!!
no it is about angel7030 the or kwee po, or kwee kong getting gals to work for you for money, shame on u, pimp.
Take cover..!!! my fantagf is worst than jakarta bombing..
Originally posted by angel7030:Take cover..!!! my fantagf is worst than jakarta bombing..
Well, u gotta face consequences of your words and behaviour
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Well, u gotta face consequences of your words and behaviour
ok lah ok lah, i go work liao, you take care and becareful ya.
if you really research into the dialect language,i guess it will help us to learn where we come from.. but living in a city, we are all to used to english and it is too time consuming to study the dialect which is not really helpful to assist us earn a living in sg.