time consuming to study the dialect which is not really helpful to assist us earn a living in sg.
SINGAPORE is a "freak", because it is lacking in terms of geopolitics, economics, size, population and culture, said former communist leader Fang Chuang Pi, dubbed the "Plen" by Mr Lee Kuan Yew.
He added that, in his assessment, the country had "narrow room for manoeuvre in various areas and will run into difficulties in future".
He gave this assessment of Singapore as an unnatural country, a freak of history, in an interview with Malaysia's Chinese-language newspaper, Nanyang Siang Pau, in which he disclosed that he had discussed the Republic's prospects with the Senior Minister when they met in Beijing in August 1995.
He told Mr Lee: "I said that Singapore was a 'freak', but a 'freak' was often a genius, and most geniuses died young. For in terms of geopolitics, economics, size and population, Singapore is congenitally deficient."
The two men also discussed the issue of culture, he added.
"I said that using a certain language to create a culture, the culture created can at best be a commercial culture, or technology culture, or we may call it pasar culture. It has no roots, and identifies itself with a certain material interest. It is the product of expediency.
"It is like duckweed, floating at the harbour. When it absorbs fertilisers, it will flourish very quickly. But once it rains and floods set in, it will perish," he said in an interview conducted in a restaurant in Haadyai, near the Thai-Malaysian border.
http://ourstory.asia1.com.sg/independence/
http://politics.sgforums.com/forums/1390/topics/368920
Singapore's brain drain
http://www.littlespeck.com/content/peop
Learn dialect and culture have no link, unless you immerse yourself in that culture.
Dialect is culture.
I beg to differ.
Is malay eating with hand considered part of malay culture?
As far as I'm aware, it is.
Is malay speaking malay language considered as part of malay culture?
dialect brings the origin of u...
i can speak sibear good teo chew..
Originally posted by Karen Ng:Do u think learning dialects n its culture will help us to have a better sense of belonging to ur origin?
Dear Karen
you can quote me for your homework if u want to :-)
Yes, I agree, but based on the following definitions of "learning dialects" and "learning it's culture"
learning dialects: other than merely picking up the dialects for conversation, the purpose of dialect learning is to open up one's understanding wrt the correlation between ancient Chinese phonemic system and modern dialectal phonemic system
learning culture: my definition of culture learning even extends to the realms of anthropological, archaelogical and sociological phenomenon of the Chinese culture
therefore, after thoroughly understanding the evolution of ancient Chinese phonemic system and it's relation to the Chinese migratory patterns from an anthropological and archaelogical perspective, you can then say you will have a better sense of belonging to your origin :-)
Originally posted by Cool-gal:dialect brings the origin of u...
i can speak sibear good teo chew..
So I see, you are a teochew ah niah. le hor bor?
Originally posted by Bangulzai:Dear Karen
you can quote me for your homework if u want to :-)
Yes, I agree, but based on the following definitions of "learning dialects" and "learning it's culture"
learning dialects: other than merely picking up the dialects for conversation, the purpose of dialect learning is to open up one's understanding wrt the correlation between ancient Chinese phonemic system and modern dialectal phonemic system
learning culture: my definition of culture learning even extends to the realms of anthropological, archaelogical and sociological phenomenon of the Chinese culture
therefore, after thoroughly understanding the evolution of ancient Chinese phonemic system and it's relation to the Chinese migratory patterns from an anthropological and archaelogical perspective, you can then say you will have a better sense of belonging to your origin :-)
Too cheem oredi lah.
Have to put in layman term.
Don't really understand dialet never mind BUT don't let peopl scold until uou don't know=)
above all, just speak money language and everyone will understand.
Originally posted by angel7030:above all, just speak money language and everyone will understand.
Dialects is also money languages. Any additional languages is additional money languages.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Dialects is also money languages. Any additional languages is additional money languages.
But there are some dialects which are more money language than others. ahahahha, u know what i mean. ![]()
Originally posted by Fantagf:
But there are some dialects which are more money language than others. ahahahha, u know what i mean.
true, true.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:true, true.
hahaha. will talk on that when i get back. bye, going for dinner
DUSHANBE, July 23 (RIA Novosti) - Tajikistan's president has proposed banning the Russian language from being used in public institutions and official documents, a move he said would promote the development of Tajik and bolster patriotism in the country.
Rakhmon urged a new language law to amend 1989 legislation that defined Tajik as the official language and Russian as a language of "interethnic communication," which gave the latter a de facto official status allowing people to use it in dealing with authorities, and receive information and documents in Tajik or Russian.
The new draft law proposed by the president and submitted to parliament obliges all nationals to know Tajik and speak it in official situations and public workplaces.
The president criticized newspaper journalists for a poor knowledge of Tajik, for using clumsy or misleading phrases and terminology, and even making spelling mistakes.
In the Soviet period, Russian was the lingua franca among the various ethnic groups in Tajikistan and other ex-Soviet republics. Many ethnic Russians have fled Tajikistan since the breakup of the Soviet Union and the ensuing civil war, but Russian is still spoken by much of the native population.
Russian is still an official language in Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, and it is also widely spoken in Ukraine and some other parts of the former Soviet Union.
Emomali Rakhmon said in a televised address late on Wednesday.
Lee Kuan Yew, how you expect me to respect you?
All your actions causes me to despise you.
Not too much politics please, this is not "Speakers Corner" section, please keep your agenda checked.
No cross-section polluting.
Please be mindful not everybody like to read your political tirades, thank you.
You are right, this thread is in the wrong forum.
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Is malay speaking malay language considered as part of malay culture?
Is a Chinese speaking English language considered as part of the Western culture?
Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:Is a Chinese speaking English language considered as part of the Western culture?
Already when we studied Sociolinguistics, the answer is an affirmative Yes
The most classical example in Synchronic Linguistics is the notable case of Welsh Colour Scheme Vs English Colour Scheme.
Let's consider as a relatively simple example the colour terminology in English and Welsh (Aitchison 1995, 82). English and Welsh speakers have in the past led fairly similar lives, yet Welsh glas traditionally covers not only the area that English speakers would call blue, but also part of what they woud call green and grey, as shown in the table below.
This example shows that languages may differ even in apparently quite basic areas.
Speaking in a different language which has a different set (called a Linguistic Set) shapes the worldview of one who speaks it. We may agree on the superficial level that Singaporeans speaking English language are still Chinese, but when we engage our cognitive skills in the English language, we have already bought over the English's worldview.
Please feel free to engage the topic with me.
when we engage our cognitive skills in the English language, we have already bought over the English's worldview.
The grammar, syntax, vocabulary of a certain language will have a profound influence on the speaker and will shape his outlook and worldview. That is true.
The ordinary African is very remote from either future preference or infinitely expandable material demands. He generally has preference for the present, and his demands are often nonmaterial and even non-economic, such as his desire for leisure or for social approval. The African has a fair recognition of the immediate past, a dominant concern for the present, and little concern for the future.
Accordingly, his conception of time is totally different from that of the average Western man. The latter sees the present only as a moving point of no dimension that separates the past from the future. The African sees time as a wide gamut of the present with a moderate dimensioned past and almost no future.
This outlook is reflected in the structure of the Bantu languages, which do not emphasize the tense distinctions of past, present, and future, as we do, but instead emphasize categories of condition, including a basic distinction in the verb between completed and incompleted actions that places the present and the future (both concerned with unfinished actions) in the same category.
We do this occasionally in English when we use the present tense in a future sense by saying, "He is coming tomorrow," but this rare use of the present to indicate the future does not blur our conception of the future the way constant use of such a construction does in Bantu.
http://real-world-news.org/bk-quigley/19.html#73
In fact the average asian in the 19th century, did not share the same "outlook" or understanding on time, space, world as a western man. This however has changed through the course of 20th century.
For example General Yamashita's tells us:
Second, I would like you to promote education in science. No one can deny that the level of Japan's modern science, apart from certain minor areas, is well below world standards. If you travel outside Japan, the first thing you notice is the unscientific way of life of the Japanese. To search for truth with Japan's irrational and cliquish mentality is like searching for fish among the trees...
http://japanfocus.org/-Yuki-TANAKA/1753
So Lee Kuan Yew's understanding of language is an extremely shallow one.
In fact most of Lee Kuan Yew's views on human development, behaviour is very nonsensical.
This is not a man of high intellectual capability.
I see Lee Kuan Yew as someone of very limited and shallow intellectual capability.
He has a very poor grasp and understanding on certain social issues.