Ask you all ah....
I want to sign up for a foreign language. Really keen to learn. Checked out the school, course fees and stuff. Even worked out my sums.
When I was about to sign up, I realised that I don't really have time for that cuz of my workload. Often either have to stay back and clear a lot of things, or become very tired cuz of back to back meetings.
So I have to postpone my this plan. But still I am very keen to learn. So I am thinking of learning from home first.
Last time I used to see a lot of those CDs and books that come with CDs that allow ppl to learn at own pace at home one. The title usually comes with something like "Learn Spanish Now" or something similar to that. But now, I go shop around, I don't see that anymore.
Any idea where I can find those?
Try borders or kinokuniya
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Try borders or kinokuniya
checked liao. Dun have.
Popular also dun have.
library?
can download one
haha
i downloaded french and spanish liao
Originally posted by Ajen:library?
Library? I always find libraries have tonnes of books that are not useful to me...hehe
checked liao. Dun have.
HMV?
Originally posted by Honeybunz:checked liao. Dun have.
Popular also dun have.
Popular @ Bras Basah have loads of them. The 2nd level of Bras Basah, which is the 1st level of Popular, go in, turn right, walk straight until you see "Languages" section, all there
Cost around $50 ~ $80 oso haf
i see lots at Times bookshop at Raffles Place
my boss was trying to learn Korean
it comes with a book and CD
oh ok... I will check out those places.
Thanks! :)
Look out for euroTalkinteractive CD series also.
It is found at Courts, John Little, Popular
Single Disc Languages include Hindi, Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, Bengali, Malay, Indonesian, Chinese, Cantonese, English, Spanish, Italian, French, Korean, Arabic, Japanese etc etc
Packaged Disc Languages include Malay, Indonesian, Chinese, English, Spanish, Italian, French, Arabic, Japanese, Korean etc etc
added:
no book included. purely CD interactive
single disc cost ard $18. packaged disc cost ard $50
Times bookshop? I actually saw the CDs a few weeks back, it still said it can be converter into your MP3 Player or your ai pah! (ipod)
popular dun have meh? I saw a few leh, Learn Spanish, Indonesian and German, and etc. Blue colour book in Popular. Maybe u need to go and see again.
also depends how serious u wan lor. if u really want to get to know the culture and the language and speak informally, u have to sacrifice more time to the study. but if u only wanna know just a few sentences, learn how to have simple conversation. I guess use books n cd should be okay la. :)
I remember seeing John Little (at Jurong Point) or BHG (at Bugis Junction) have. So many their outlets and other departmental stores will have... those larger ones that have many different sections.
heheheh
thanks everyone for giving me info.
I siao siao placed an order on www.fluenz.com liao. Tried purchasing over amazon, cannot. Very impulsive hor?
What to do? I have relatives who only speak Spanish and a bit of mandarin. I hope I can communicate with them a bit more. They are nice and humble ppl :)
Thanks again, everyone.
Don't waste your money, buying language CDs or tapes.
Check out YouTube first and then see you can pick up the language by yourself.
Usually you can't.
For languages you need to practice, with someone else, not by yourself.
can download one, serious
Deutsche Sprache? Oder? I kann ein bisschen Deutsch, weil ich an der Nationaluniversität Singapur gelernt habe. :D
Nihongo? Demo, watashiwa nihongo ga jyotsu arimasen ne :(
Wasuremashita :(
Originally posted by Honeybunz:Ask you all ah....
I want to sign up for a foreign language. Really keen to learn. Checked out the school, course fees and stuff. Even worked out my sums.
When I was about to sign up, I realised that I don't really have time for that cuz of my workload. Often either have to stay back and clear a lot of things, or become very tired cuz of back to back meetings.
So I have to postpone my this plan. But still I am very keen to learn. So I am thinking of learning from home first.
Last time I used to see a lot of those CDs and books that come with CDs that allow ppl to learn at own pace at home one. The title usually comes with something like "Learn Spanish Now" or something similar to that. But now, I go shop around, I don't see that anymore.
Any idea where I can find those?
Get the "Spanish for Dummies" book. It's book and CD. Book is in yellow.
But uhmm you dont have to buy them. Cuz you could get the above off the net :P
Yes, with the audio and the book. Everything. I am learing Spanish too.
Guess the downside is that you cant carry around like a book. But i guess most of your time spent on learning is at home? so download is ok la..
I used to learn German. What the use. I did not use it. Now all give back to Franc Boli.
Originally posted by eagle:can download one, serious
Deutsche Sprache? Oder? I kann ein bisschen Deutsch, weil ich an der Nationaluniversität Singapur gelernt habe. :D
Nihongo? Demo, watashiwa nihongo ga jyotsu arimasen ne :(
Wasuremashita :(
i know jap
我打æ»ä»– bananaCoke des
Originally posted by bananaCoke:i know jap
我打æ»ä»– bananaCoke des
des is the equivalent of "la", "lor", "leh" in Singaporean context. It is not really a Japanese word.
desu
'u' is pronounced silently
Ima hirugohan o tabemasu!!!
itadakimasu!
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:des is the equivalent of "la", "lor", "leh" in Singaporean context. It is not really a Japanese word.
des is like a period in jap
Originally posted by mh2:des is like a period in jap
What I mean ( albeit in a humourous way ) is that bananacoke doesn't actually knows Japanese and is actually trying to bluff his way through.
eerrr i purchase learn thai CD and DVD from popular before and i do notice there a lot of other lanuage for u to learn
maybe u didnt look far enough ???