From our Correspondent
In an online poll conducted by MSN (Singapore), only 18% of the respondents indicated they will go to a parade to celebrate National Day on 9th August 2009. (source: MSN)
28% of those poll will prefer to stay at home to play manjong while 26% will leave the country for a quick holiday, with the most likely destination being Malaysia just across the Causeway:
This year’s National Day is on a Sunday which means that the following Monday will automatically be a public holiday.
The government has embarked on a drive to beef up the National Day spirit by hanging flags, banners and other decorations along the roads, public places like the markets and community centers as well as institutions such as schools and neighborhood police stations.
The mainstream media also tries to create a buzz with non-stop updates about the parade previews, speeches of ministers and the usual timely reminder of the “arduous journey” Singapore has been through since achieving independence 44 years ago.
In spite of the publicity blitz in the local media and the relentless efforts of the government to instill a sense of patriotism in its people, most Singaporeans are nonchalant about National Day.
To many, as the polls have shown, it is simply an extended holiday to be spent with family and friends. Even amongst those who attend the National Day parade, they are there to watch the performance rather than to “celebrate” the day with the country’s top leaders.
Young Singaporeans born after 1965 have no bitter memories or experiences of the tumultuous events leading to the nation’s birth.
Singapore was wrecked by a communist uprising, communal riots, and fractious internal politics in the pre-independence years including the traumatic 2 years under the Malaysian Federation from 1963 to 1965 when it was eventually ejected by then Malaysian Prime Minister Tunku Abdul Rahman.
Most Singaporeans are politically apathetic and ignorant after 40 years of continuous one-party rule. Many do not even know the identities of their MPs.
“National Day” is soon becoming a farce with less than one-fifth of the population celebrating it on the island and more than a quarter choosing to spend the day elsewhere.
http://temasekreview.com/?p=11635
August 2, 2009 by admin
From our Correspondent
Every year as 9 August approaches, the grassroots machinery of the ruling party will move into high gear to decorate their respective neighborhoods with the national flags.
Extra workers will be employed to hang the flags along the roads, on the decks of multi-storey car parks, at the markets, shops, schools and at every visible corner of the estate. Of late, banners depicting photos of PAP MPs “celebrating” National Day with the residents hung on roadside lamps are ubiquitous throughout the island. (has anybody wondered how much taxpayers’ money has been spent on these ostentatious displays of “patriotism” to ‘celebrate’ national day?)
Grassroots volunteers will come knocking on every household urging them to hang the national flag at their balconies. The community clubs, schools, government buildings will be completely awashed with the national colors of white and red.
The mainstream media will trumpet the achievements of leaders of the ruling party ad nauseum, remind Singaporeans of the “long” way we have since independence and to get the nation into a celebratory mood with daily coverage of the national day parade previews.
Ironically, the few people who seem to be ‘excited’ about National Day are those from the ruling party and its auxillaries. For ordinary Singaporeans in the streets, it is simply another public holiday and for some, a family trip up north to Malaysia.
Malaysia celebrates its national day three weeks after Singapore’s on 31st August and the difference cannot be more obvious. You will see many families displaying the Malaysian flag proudly outside their homes, on the roof of their cars, along the roads and at the stalls. The outpouring of national pride and joy is spontaneous and not orchestrated.
If the degree of patriotism can be judged solely by the number of flags displayed by citizens, then a majority of us will be “unpatriotic”. Just take a look around your neighborhood and you will not fail to realize that you can count the number of flags hung per HDB block with two hands. There are hardly any flags seen hanging outside the units of condominiums.
Some argued that Singaporeans are shy people who seldom reveal their love for the nation openly. Others attribute it to a gradual erosion of civic consciousness and sense of belonging to the country.
Singapore’s demographics has changed radically in the last decade with the unremitting influx of foreigners which now made up one third of the population, a quarter of which are PRs. How many of them will take up Singapore citizenship? Are they truly loyal to Singapore or are they merely making use of it as a springboard for greener pastures elsewhere?
The continued political hegemony of the ruling party and exclusion of ordinary citizens from participation in nation-building has led to widespread public apathy and indifference with deepening rifts between the ruling elite and the people. Are we really celebrating 44 years of nationhood or 50 years of PAP rule? (The PAP started ruling Singapore effectively in 1959 when they won 43 out of 51 seats in the Legco elections.)
With each passing year, the number of flags being displayed by Singaporeans outside their homes are getting less and less. Patriotism cannot be instilled overnight by the government, grassroots organizations or mainstream media. It is spontaneous feeling of pride and joy emanating from a deep sense of connection with the land of one’s birth.
We started out as a nation of immigrants and now we are being flooded by new migrants. The British colonial government is replaced by another nanny state run by a small exclusive group of elites disconnected with the suffering of the masses. Singapore is still far away from attaining real nationhood.
http://temasekreview.com/?p=11548
From our Correspondent
These photos were taken on 2 August 2009, a week before National Day along Yishun Avenue 2:
As we can see from the photos, the multi-storey carpark is completely decorated with the Singapore flags which is obviously the work of grassroots volunteers.
In stark contrast, the HDB blocks in the vicinity of the car park has few flags hung.
I don't care about National Day starting from last year. What is there to celebrate when the ruling party always claim victory, emphasize is on them on National Day. Moreover, life has not been good and is continuing to go downhill under this bunch of sickos greedy evils.
National Day is as good as PAP Day.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I don't care about National Day starting from last year.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
i stop watching the NDP on tv years ago....lol
Originally posted by mh2:-----------------------------------------------------------------------
I don't care about National Day starting from last year.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
i stop watching the NDP on tv years ago....lol
I rather go out or watch cable
Disgusting to see those faces of evils on screen, so fake!
Judge not by the number of flags put up.
Judge by the number of ballots registered for tickets to NDP.
Judge by the number that turn up at Marina Bay for the NDP.
Some people give a shit about NDP, some don't.
Some people go overseas during the short break, but they will still watch the re-telecast of the NDP somehow, either online or on the TV, if they ever have the chance.
Some people rather go and take the time to relax, go out and chill with their friends, they deserve it. Somehow or rather they have worked hard for the nation through different ways, like studying to ensure singapore's future talent pool or to work and contribute to the economy.
NDP is not about how many flags put up, its about how the citizens are rewarded.
The NDP is not used to thank PAP, its used as a stage, to help Singaporeans celebrate their achievement. Its precisely why our NDPs are so "family-oriented" compared to the communists'.
True patriotism can only be displayed during times of hardship. Not in times of celebrations. I don't give a fuck when the Msians display their flag, no one gives a damn really.
If you can turn such a simple and joyous event to make it look as if Singaporeans are not patriotic, nice try. Nice try trying to make people hate PAP too.
Get your dick sucked fucker. Time to get that little baby turtle out of it's shell and look at things from multiple perspectives, no matter how short it is.
The celebrations are now for the sch children, so called lucky foreign talents to preview, & greedy aunties & uncles who wants the goody bags.
If they dare to remove the goody bags, probably half of the people wont go & squeeze there.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:Judge not by the number of flags put up.
Judge by the number of ballots registered for tickets to NDP.
Judge by the number that turn up at Marina Bay for the NDP.
Some people give a shit about NDP, some don't.
Some people go overseas during the short break, but they will still watch the re-telecast of the NDP somehow, either online or on the TV, if they ever have the chance.
Some people rather go and take the time to relax, go out and chill with their friends, they deserve it. Somehow or rather they have worked hard for the nation through different ways, like studying to ensure singapore's future talent pool or to work and contribute to the economy.
NDP is not about how many flags put up, its about how the citizens are rewarded.
The NDP is not used to thank PAP, its used as a stage, to help Singaporeans celebrate their achievement. Its precisely why our NDPs are so "family-oriented" compared to the communists'.
True patriotism can only be displayed during times of hardship. Not in times of celebrations. I don't give a fuck when the Msians display their flag, no one gives a damn really.
If you can turn such a simple and joyous event to make it look as if Singaporeans are not patriotic, nice try. Nice try trying to make people hate PAP too.
Get your dick sucked fucker. Time to get that little baby turtle out of it's shell and look at things from multiple perspectives, no matter how short it is.
So what is your message??
Just a Propagada for PAP
yeap!! already hung up my singapore flag, flapping in the wind!!
heard that funny man, mark lee is hosting the ndp show.....what an achievement for him as he has come a long way from not able to speak much english at all formerly, ....but yeah kudos to singapore giving him the opportunities n environment to learn it though he could have continued having the good life being an ah beng secured in his comedian n host roles....will be catching him on tv n hoping to catch the fireworks from my house
meanwhile going to enjoy this long weekend n i know all of u guys too.(courtesy of our national day n good governance, haha)....regardless of whichever camp u from...so enjoy it..yeah.!!
Happy National Day!! Majulah Majulah Majulah Singapura!!!!!!
what an achievement for him as he has come a long way from not able to speak much english at all formerly
Strange that dialect chinese, malays and tamils must speak the peranakan's colonial language.
Originally posted by Fantagf:So what is your message??
if you couldn't get what im trying to say, you should read up more. read anything. anything will definitely be helpful to you.
you have to know that those who celebrate National Day may not love the country and those who do not bother with National Day may give their lives for it..
just like those who are hate assholes like CSJ do not necessarily like the MIW.. and those who adore the MIW do not necessarily hate CSJ...
your one-stroke to tar everyone reeks of the same desperation which most wannabe tinpot "revolutionaries" rant about... those who forget the lessons learnt the hard way in every "revolution" will be condemned to repeat them...
Originally posted by the Bear:you have to know that those who celebrate National Day may not love the country and those who do not bother with National Day may give their lives for it..
just like those who are hate assholes like CSJ do not necessarily like the MIW.. and those who adore the MIW do not necessarily hate CSJ...
your one-stroke to tar everyone reeks of the same desperation which most wannabe tinpot "revolutionaries" rant about... those who forget the lessons learnt the hard way in every "revolution" will be condemned to repeat them...
true.
Originally posted by the Bear:you have to know that those who celebrate National Day may not love the country and those who do not bother with National Day may give their lives for it..
Wah kao!!! Oei, the Bear always beats me to spout the logic every time leh. how come? the Bear too effective liao.
not enough to feed myself, where got money to get a singapore flag?
i will just stay home and sleep.
Originally posted by lookslikegod:if you couldn't get what im trying to say, you should read up more. read anything. anything will definitely be helpful to you.
I see no need to do it for your sake.
Don't be too sure I have not been reading.
Flag or no flag life goes on.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Flag or no flag life goes on.
True. Flag or no flag, they continue to earn more and more $ from us.
Of course. Their pay will still be in millions.
That won't change.
Flag or no flag.
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Yup, you put flag doesn't mean you pay less. ![]()
Originally posted by Ah Chia:Of course. Their pay will still be in millions.
That won't change.
Flag or no flag.
What a shame! They pay peanuts to those working in civil service while they pay themselves millions and millions. Good in exploiting ordinary folks. This oppression. The oppression from them has gotten worse. When will the people wake up to the facts and vote against them???
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Yup, you put flag doesn't mean you pay less.
Don't forget about their coming new revenue in forcing people to buy annuity. Great money coming in to alllow more loss in Temasick. hahahahha!
Originally posted by Fantagf:
What a shame! They pay peanuts to those working in civil service while they pay themselves millions and millions. Good in exploiting ordinary folks. This oppression. The oppression from them has gotten worse. When will the people wake up to the facts and vote against them???
Can they wake up?
Or are they just zombies?
no love for our country?