I'll be leaving Singapore for Japan soon and will be staying over there from early autmun to early spring.
I have a budget of $200 for winter clothing, I think I'll be needed to get a coat, mitten and a neck scarf.
I think that should cost me $150 and give me a $50 buffer.
I'll be heading to kyushu region so stuffs are generally cheaper than the other parts. Anyone know if it's be any cheaper or expensive if I get it in Japan rather than SG? If so, by how much?
Thanks.
buy here if cheaper
buy here
over there is asspensive until u will need to pawn ur underwear
if temp is going 5 and below, u need thermal wear
which is avg S$60-$70 a set
and if it's a long term stay, u are not going to get just 1 set rite?
in the windy outdoors, u may need to wear down jacket... .which is S$100 onwards.... with real down feathers at at least 90%
if u think u not scared cold, at least u must get a windproof or waterproof double layer jacket...... which range in S$100 also
scarfs, gloves (mittens??!?!?!?) can get at S$20-$30
Get your scarves, mittens and socks & pullover woolen hats from Daiso. They have a small wall selling winter stuff.
Get at least two sets of thermal wear with socks, at least for wearing to sleep, or when you are outdoors often.
Make sure your shoes, pants are bigger size then what you normally wear in Singapore.
Jacket wise, as what FireIce typed. Dont buy it too tight across the body, cos you might want to layer it some more, depending on how you feel about the weather there.
Lastly, bring lots of thin cotton long sleeve tees that absorbs sweat and can dry quickly. I have 1/2 dozen with me for travelling always.
And because my body temp is higher, I only needed to wear a padded vest for messing around with snow in a Canandian ski resort. The arms arent restricted by the padded sleeves.
And make sure your jacket comes with a waterproof hood. Helps to ward off rain and snow from melting into your hair.
Originally posted by Agenda:wow, thanks for the replies people.
Where I will be going is not known to snow often, but i’ll be going up mount aso where it will be negative degree.
Most of my time would be spent indoors when
Well in japan you can buy nicer stuff. But then you may not know where to buy and freeze to death 1st !!!
i stayed in japan for a year - you be spending a lot of more time outdoor then you think - like on trains & train stations and doing more walking then in singapore. It is the wind, even no snow can be very cold. Get a coat that air-tight, will keep you warm.
For me i am a polar bear - even snow it, i can go out in t-shirt and jean :).
Save some money - go japan buy a nice pair of boots, nicer and cheaper there ! you seem to forgot to keep your feet warm.
Go Japan to buy, the stuff there are nicer.
Don't forget to get a electric heater to put at your place.....![]()
Kyushu is a nice place, if you have time, go sightseeing...enjoy!!!
i dont believer ur friends or relatives dont have...
can go borrow...anyway u waste money buy so much winter wear also no use...u dont get to wear it in SG..
but personal things like long johns..best to get your own..
Well, I suggest that you get at least one set from sg.... just in case you cannot find or there very expensive...
Originally posted by alfagal:i dont believer ur friends or relatives dont have...
can go borrow...anyway u waste money buy so much winter wear also no use...u dont get to wear it in SG..
but personal things like long johns..best to get your own..
He's right, ask your relatives and friends. They might have it and willing to lend it to you. Winter wear is really expensive, in singapore/japan. If you want to get really cheap winterwear, consider going to china first and buy em ^^ I went there before and bought about 4 sets of winter wear, total em up cost only S$130+. Super worth it.
ha ha so at the end of the day you buy at both places here and there.
get accessories at daiso...
and mittens?? wtf.. get a pair of gloves for some dexterity
Lol I just realised that mittens are the kind of gloves for baking or collectin from the oven?
Anyway, really nessecary for long johns?
Originally posted by cubehead:
He's right, ask your relatives and friends. They might have it and willing to lend it to you. Winter wear is really expensive, in singapore/japan. If you want to get really cheap winterwear, consider going to china first and buy em ^^ I went there before and bought about 4 sets of winter wear, total em up cost only S$130+. Super worth it.
then the flight and hotel in china is free meh?
Originally posted by Agenda:Lol I just realised that mittens are the kind of gloves for baking or collectin from the oven?
long johns suck. why feel uncomfortable when you can wear an extra layer of clothing?
long johns is the most impt, esp for 5 deg and below (to below 0 deg)
regulates body temperature to keep u warm
dun get the pure wool one
bites ur skin, makes u itch, u would rather go naked
those which are slightly pricier are thinner and more comfy
Originally posted by Agenda:Lol I just realised that mittens are the kind of gloves for baking or collectin from the oven?
LOL.....I think you are refering to the mittens that does not have fingers. Those are good to buy a few size bigger, so you can wear woolen gloves and shove your gloved fingers into the mittens......only when you are planning to do a lot of sub zero outdoor things.
I realised that long johns arent really helpful, whenever you walked into those heated buildings.
But still safer to get them. For when you are planning a full day outdoors. And they worked as decent pyjamas.
I just got a winter coat, gloves, scarf and a sweater. now feeling abit dumb getting the sweater =_=
u can get it cheap there
during summer ![]()
importance WIND proof
do not wear till so thick that your body generate body heat to warm ur thick clothing
Originally posted by Agenda:I just got a winter coat, gloves, scarf and a sweater. now feeling abit dumb getting the sweater =_=
The sweater heavier right?
I've got two, which I do not wear, or even borther to bring overseas after I bought them back to Singapore. I rather my luggage carries lighteweight stuff so i dont have to lug around so much.
You got big rollers luggage? Metal ones are freaking heavier.
Got standby pack in your bags some fake crocs? They are decent enough to wear with socks as and when you need to rush in and out of the house for short errands. And can throw at least a pair into the toliet, so you wont have to step into wet floors at the toliet in stocking feet just to pee.
Im also going to japan in december, i wanna know what to get and where can get cheaper 1. I have never go to such cold country before, so very noob abt it.
cheap one wun keep u warm how?
Originally posted by FireIce:cheap one wun keep u warm how?
then no point liao, because spend a bomb to the trip so when comes to buy winter wear abit budget.
You need to provide a better description of where you are going, how long you intend to stay there, and how much is your budget.
And what activities you might be involved in. Eg, skiing, going near sea area where the winds might be colder, sightseeing where you are either in the tour bus or in houses.