always buy in jap....
cheaper, nicer and in fashion....
beside, oct only not cold.. ard 15ish.. rather cooling... can do with jeans, one tee under a shirt or long sleeve polo...
Originally posted by FireIce:buy here
over there is asspensive until u will need to pawn ur underwear
if temp is going 5 and below, u need thermal wear
which is avg S$60-$70 a set
and if it's a long term stay, u are not going to get just 1 set rite?
in the windy outdoors, u may need to wear down jacket... .which is S$100 onwards.... with real down feathers at at least 90%
if u think u not scared cold, at least u must get a windproof or waterproof double layer jacket...... which range in S$100 also
scarfs, gloves (mittens??!?!?!?) can get at S$20-$30
most of wat u get here aint really helpful...
beside, jap dun normally drop below 0, unless u are at the north part. The coldest month is in the jan and feb. so unless u gona stay till then, u can forget abt long john lah...
to me, unless it hit -10.. dun bother with long john (thermal wear)....
if u wanna get cheap winter stuff in jap, just go to their uniqlo there... cheap as hell...
else if u still wanna buy some winter cloth here, go to jurong point, there is this store selling cheap winter cloth next to the ice skating ring...
Buy here better, though we have higher GDP per Capita than Japan, but our wages here are not comparable, that's why we will feel that products there are more expensive. ![]()
Originally posted by storywolf:
Well in japan you can buy nicer stuff. But then you may not know where to buy and freeze to death 1st !!!
i stayed in japan for a year - you be spending a lot of more time outdoor then you think - like on trains & train stations and doing more walking then in singapore. It is the wind, even no snow can be very cold. Get a coat that air-tight, will keep you warm.
For me i am a polar bear - even snow it, i can go out in t-shirt and jean :).
Save some money - go japan buy a nice pair of boots, nicer and cheaper there ! you seem to forgot to keep your feet warm.
Good shopping advice.
Originally posted by deepak.c:
Buy here better, though we have higher GDP per Capita than Japan, but our wages here are not comparable, that's why we will feel that products there are more expensive.
You wear Mustapha type of design and come to Japan la.I will make sure I throw stones at you at the Narita Airport arrival hall>hahaha
Originally posted by Agenda:wow, thanks for the replies people.
Where I will be going is not known to snow often, but i’ll be going up mount aso where it will be negative degree.
Most of my time would be spent indoors when
location?
back to topic
buy anything you think you need in sg cos stuff expensive in jap
i ever drink a small cup (100ml) of coffee in jap for around S$45
Now I think I need a windbreaker.. Autumn but wind very cold. Everytime cycle my nose become very cold
Originally posted by Agenda:Now I think I need a windbreaker.. Autumn but wind very cold. Everytime cycle my nose become very cold
Wear a face mask.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:You need to provide a better description of where you are going, how long you intend to stay there, and how much is your budget.
And what activities you might be involved in. Eg, skiing, going near sea area where the winds might be colder, sightseeing where you are either in the tour bus or in houses.
I am going over to hokkaido at dec, but i dont know where i will be heading as is a group activity. Just heard that will be going over for skiing. I saw jacket in Winter Times, it cost ard $200 plus.
Ski jackets, pants and shoes are different.
You can probably rent the whole clothing and shoes thng for the skiing at the resort/ski school.
And since you probably are going for a short holiday trip.
Might be easier for you to borrow some of those puffer jackets from friends and families.
Then you make sure your pants, tees & shoes are suitable for layering with maybe extra 1 sizes above what you wear in Singapore can liao.
$200/- might as well spent on longjohns, thick woolen socks and a balaclava for sleeping.
Maybe can buy along some nice pashmina shawls to cover your neck or just to look relatively graceful in their heated bus and buildings. They are great as gifts too.
Go to Daiso, stock up on pairs of woolen gloves and their heated pads that you can wear under your stocking feet in your shoes and some in yoru pockets to keep your gloved hands warm.
If possible, opt for woolen head covers too. Heat dissapate easily thru the head or hair. Or bring some nice jockey caps along.
The daiso here mainly sell food and kitchen stuff. no travel stuffs lol
Originally posted by Agenda:The daiso here mainly sell food and kitchen stuff. no travel stuffs lol
I meant daiso in Singapore lah.
But hmmm.....so what else is different in Japan's Daiso?
-- 30 posts required --