http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_435417.html
IF YOU feel that Singapore seems to be more crowded these days, it's because the population here has hit almost five million.
The Population Trends 2009 report released by the Department of Statistics on Monday, revealed that the Republic's total population as at end June was 4,987,600.
About 75 per cent are Singapore citizens and Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs), otherwise known as Singapore residents, and the remaining 25 per cent are non-residents.
The latest figures indicate a 3.1 per cent growth over the previous year, with the resident population registering a 2.5 per cent jump.
Singapore citizens contributed to this growth with a 1.1 per cent increase to 3.2 million in 2009. This group stood at 3.16 million last year.
Singapore PRs grew to 0.53 million in June, up from 0.48 million in 2008.
The report also showed that the 1.25 million non-resident population grew at a slower rate of 4.8 per cent, compared to growths of more than 10 per cent in the last two years.
The number of resident households has also gone up at the same rate - by 1.7 per cent to an estimated 1,093,100 in 2008.
The average household size was 3.5 persons in 2008, lower than the average household size of 3.7 persons in 2000 and 4.2 persons in 1990.
The proportion of households with two to three persons rose from 28 per cent in 1990 to 40 per cent in 2008, while the proportion of persons living alone has also increased from 5.2 per cent in 1990 to 10 per cent in 2008.
I see lots of foreigners speaking in prc accent, tagalog, hindi, indonesian, vietnamese and thai wherever I go, in mrt and buses. of course the population is going to increase. thats what high rise flats and condos are for, house as many people in a block as possible.
All flocking to Singapore because of the Singapore Dream, but unbeknownst to them it's actually the Singapore Nightmare. ![]()
Oh dear, Singapore turning to rubbish country.![]()
Only 1.5 million more to make it to 6.5 million. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:Only 1.5 million more to make it to 6.5 million.
Which bastard in government came up with that great idea?
Originally posted by angel3070:Which bastard in government came up with that great idea?
It's a good idea if making money is the only thing you consider.
However, it is not good socially especially in a small country like singapore.
But what do us lesser mortals know? ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
However, it is not good socially especially in a small country like singapore.
In the end Singapore as a nation will be destroyed.
Originally posted by angel3070:In the end Singapore as a nation will be destroyed.
lol you are too negative. eternal springs hope is the saying.
Originally posted by yiha093:http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking%2BNews/Singapore/Story/STIStory_435417.html
About 75 per cent are Singapore citizens and Singapore Permanent Residents (PRs), otherwise known as Singapore residents, and the remaining 25 per cent are non-residents.
Hence for every 3 locals, there is one non-resident.
Since there are housewives and elderly grandparents and young toddlers among the 3 locals who dun work, perhaps every morning when you go to work or school, in the mrt, there will be 2 locals to 1 non-resident.
Who would you like to squeeze with? =D
Originally posted by Rooney9:
lol you are too negative. eternal springs hope is the saying.
Only hope is to vote PAP out in next elections.
Originally posted by angel3070:Only hope is to vote PAP out in next elections.
then who take over?
yey! 5m already lor!
I bet the govt are proud with the achievement.
1.5m to go!
and don forget to thanks the new comers who help us to reach population of 5m!
Originally posted by Rooney9:then who take over?
I propose a coaltion government of opposition parties.
Originally posted by angel3070:I propose a coaltion government of opposition parties.
you can guarantee they work? what if they make a hash of it? like using reserves to fund its social programme, like what america is doing now.
Originally posted by Rooney9:like using reserves to fund its social programme,
If it benefits society I don't see why not.
what if they make a hash of it?
What if they don't?
Originally posted by angel3070:If it benefits society I don't see why not.
What if they don't?
using reserves every year? how fast are you going to deplete the reserves? if state if using their reserves recklessly like banks do, look at the state of the banking industry now in wall street.
Originally posted by Rooney9:using reserves every year?
I think this is moving away from topic.I don't think any opposition has talked about using reserves every year.
Temasek and GIC lose billions that I know.
soon the country will overflow and PAP will propose to buy JB. ![]()
Buay tahan, so crowded sia NB.
Originally posted by Agenda:Buay tahan, so crowded sia NB.
We need to add in another 1.5 million more people to make Singapore a more vibrant society. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:We need to add in another 1.5 million more people to make Singapore a more vibrant society.
Don't think the vibrant here literally meant VIBRANT.
More like, molecules in a solid object vibrating to move. Yea, that vibrant.
Country under PAP repressive rule how to be vibrant?
Education system is also stifling and destroys intellectual capacity of people.
No U-Turn Syndrome (NUTS) is a term first coined by Singapore entrepreneur Sim Wong Hoo, to prominently describe the social behaviour of Singaporeans having a mindset of compliance to higher authorities before proceeding with any action.
In his book Chaotic Thoughts from the Old Millennium, he uses a comparison of traffic rules in Singapore to those found overseas, to describe the phenomenon : In Singapore, drivers are not allowed to make a U-turn unless a sign specifically allows them to do so, while in some other countries drivers may make U-turns freely so long as the 'No U-turn' sign is not present. Following that, this analogy is used to explain the red tape he has encountered with hard-nosed bureaucrats, which in turn stifles the very creativity that the Singaporean government has been trying to promote in the recent years.[1]
NUTS is also considered as one of the major criticisms of the rigid Singapore education system, where students are taught from a young age to obey instructions in an unquestioning manner, in a society where grades and paper certification are emphasised at the expense of some life skills.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/No_U-Turn_Syndrome
The only way out for Singaporeans is to vote PAP out in next elections and go for complete reform of society.