Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Talk about cassette, anyone remember the D track? the big cassette that cannot rewind with side A, B, C, D.
What the heck was that!
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
You got see the cartridge type or the two big rolls of tapes on a player before?LOL
That two big roll types very ex one. Better use the vinyl cheaper then. LOL..
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:That two big roll types very ex one. Better use the vinyl cheaper then. LOL..
I think all you tried already lah except bluetooth
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
What the heck was that!
Sorry it's 8 track.

Everytime rewind old projector type music player and sound become like chipmunks
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Sorry it's 8 track.
This, I never seen before!
I think all you tried already lah except bluetooth
bluetooth so common now.
Is that CCR ?
Ok, need to pack up liao.
Should bring the laptop home.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Everytime rewind old projector type music player and sound become like chipmunks
You play 33.3 on 45 so sure sound like chipmunks lah.![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Is that CCR ?
Yup, Creedence Clearwater Revival.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Yup, Creedence Clearwater Revival.
didnt know you are into music also......next time have a lot to talk to you about oldies music.As a matter of fact you can go to Paltalk.com , download it for free and there are so many music rooms to choose from sure to bring back some fond memories.Ok I have to get some sleep catch you guys later.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:didnt know you are into music also......next time have a lot to talk to you about oldies music.As a matter of fact you can go to Paltalk.com , download it for free and there are so many music rooms to choose from sure to bring back some fond memories.Ok I have to get some sleep catch you guys later.
Ok chat another time. Good night.
You guys still get free live chicken for CNY.I am talking about poultry here.
There was a time in the 80s when it was hard to find any homeless people in the streets of Singapore.Like Dog catchers there were people going around Singapore rounding up all destitutes and beggars putting them in a home.On one of our army educational visits I was surprised to find some foreigners in there,spoke to an old man from Thailand who said he didnt have a passport or anyone and he wanted to go home but the caretakers told me he was insane....was he? He just couldnt speak a single word of English.
oh.. did anyone remember the rumours and the urban legends of the Merdeka Bridge?
the rumour was that to build the bridge so that it would not collapse, they needed to bury the heads of 3 children at the foundation..
variations were told as it spread..
and it traumatised a generation of young parents with children at that time
Originally posted by the Bear:oh.. did anyone remember the rumours and the urban legends of the Merdeka Bridge?
the rumour was that to build the bridge so that it would not collapse, they needed to bury the heads of 3 children at the foundation..
variations were told as it spread..
and it traumatised a generation of young parents with children at that time
Better still a friend of mine who used to live in Telok Blangah told me his grandfather did it .No Joke. I don't believe in such things but accidents have known to occur while building bridges using quick cements and people buried in them.
My goodness.....I've heard variations of building bridges and burying children's head. But not merdeka bridge.
Remember those bronze statutes now at Singapore river, of children jumping into the river.
Those urban legends were trying to suggest that those kids were the one buried to build whatever bridge over it. Gives me the goosebumps everytime I walked near those statutes.
8-tracks rock!!
until the compact cassette killed it..
then the CD killed that..
now the iPods are slowly killing the CDs
Originally posted by Short Ninja:There was a time in the 80s when it was hard to find any homeless people in the streets of Singapore.Like Dog catchers there were people going around Singapore rounding up all destitutes and beggars putting them in a home.On one of our army educational visits I was surprised to find some foreigners in there,spoke to an old man from Thailand who said he didnt have a passport or anyone and he wanted to go home but the caretakers told me he was insane....was he? He just couldnt speak a single word of English.
By the 80s, most of the old Singapore were demolished or artificial.
I remembered 1984 National Day rally about LKY talk about economy was like a flying a kite, made me rofl though his son better it again with mee siam mai hum.
Better still a friend of mine who used to live in Telok Blangah told me his grandfather did it .No Joke. I don't believe in such things but accidents have known to occur while building bridges using quick cements and people buried in them.
I remembered there were two famous school boys that went missing in the 80s. If they were alive they should be in the early 40s.
And the disaster of cable cars, Hotel New World and Spyros.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:My goodness.....I've heard variations of building bridges and burying children's head. But not merdeka bridge.
Remember those bronze statutes now at Singapore river, of children jumping into the river.
Those urban legends were trying to suggest that those kids were the one buried to build whatever bridge over it. Gives me the goosebumps everytime I walked near those statutes.
They should build bronze statues at MRT stations of people jumping onto the track to start a new urban legend.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:I remembered there were two famous school boys that went missing in the 80s. If they were alive they should be in the early 40s.
And the disaster of cable cars, Hotel New World and Spyros.
I was called up during the cable cars accident but it was the air force who eventually did the rescue.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I was called up during the cable cars accident but it was the air force who eventually did the rescue.
WAH!
You SOF? ![]()
the cable car one was some giant oil rig thing smashed into the lines.. i think it was the eniwetok or something like that...
at that time lau lee's son was the chief of staff of the army
the spyros accident happened when i was in pri 3 or something like that.. didn't remember much of it but i remember lots of people were in shock..
the hotel new world one, i was in sec school.. walking around in plaza singapura and saw the news on the tvs they were trying to sell, wondering what happened coz there was no sound...
there were a few other incidences too.. like the hijacking of an SIA plane which resulted in the hijackers being turned into mincemeat by the SOF.. that one, one of the medics in my unit was put on standby at Changi side...