Originally posted by Short Ninja:Just like Karaoke,just follow the bouncing ball.
Who invented the karaoke? I fell like kicking him.
There are some people who just can't sing.
So just leave them in the bathroom.![]()
Kara means empty and Oke is short for Orchestra
So literally it is music without a live band>hahaha
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Kara means empty and Oke is short for Orchestra
So literally it is music without a live band>hahaha
Whatever, I feel karaoke ruin many good tunes.
Lunch ready. Bye.
Originally posted by deepak.c:
I live around there so long, never even once patronise them, so I won't know the loss.
You are near yet did not patronise the bakery, as for me whenever I was around that area I will go.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Remembered the cakes and ice creams from Orchard Road Mont D'or was so ever popular.
Was that a local or foreign bakery?
Originally posted by Fantagf:
Was that a local or foreign bakery?
That's the place for nice cakes and icream in Singapore during the 60-70s.
Originally posted by Sheesh!:Made in USSR car which everyone loves to hate : Lada
Mazda was a bad buy.Heavy rain wiper can fall off
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Mazda was a bad buy.Heavy rain wiper can fall off
Must be parts made in Hong Kong.![]()
Originally posted by Sheesh!:My dad learned driving using a Morris Minor, the car with the turn indicator light at the center beam between the front and back window. It can stick out when activated.
I learned my driving using a Datsun 120Y, no power steering. It was like going to the gym, exercising the arms turning the steering wheel.
My dad like to change cars like underwears>LOL but his favorite was a red Ford Capri and had a white strip painted for me just to look like a Starsky and hutch car
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Must be parts made in Hong Kong.
some cars had only one wiper and it was at the center top of the windscreen
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:Shhhhhheeeeeshhhh.....
tooth really hurting. Need to either put in a new filling.....or extract it out altogether.
And the irony is, I am living near the National Dental Centre now.
And I either need a referal letter from polyclinics to have major dental work done at the National Dental Centre....or go to private dentists.
And the polyclinics dont give referrals unless I am really in pain.
Which I am now. And the appointments is bound to be for a few days later. Which means sleeping in pain for the next week.
(&(&#&^$)
If you are having pain I don't think they will book you for such a late appointment. Anyway there are so many private practice dentists around, just find one that is available to solve your pain asap. It is better to see the dentist earlier so that the tooth will have a better chance to be savage.
sorry, I meant a better chance to be saved. ![]()
Banks using bhai jaga who are allowed to sleep on the job in their comfortable 'chapoi' bed
Originally posted by MythosLogos:If you are having pain I don't think they will book you for such a late appointment. Anyway there are so many private practice dentists around, just find one that is available to solve your pain asap. It is better to see the dentist earlier so that the tooth will have a better chance to be savage.
Took a cab to locate a polyclinic with dentist. They tell me must make appointments. Appointment dates is late March and April next year.
I like good cakes and ice cream.
And the Red House Bakery is over-rated. More for those who actually does not have any taste.
The butter cream cakes, than replaced by the fresh cream cakes namely the blackforest cakes was the sign of the 80s.
And strangely now late 90s to now 2000s, the butter cream cakes made a comeback in the form of smaller cut cakes.
I've yet to find really good cream horns, unless the basement bakery shop in Katong Shopping centre decides to make them. And their timing is irregular.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I like good cakes and ice cream.
And the Red House Bakery is over-rated. More for those who actually does not have any taste.
The butter cream cakes, than replaced by the fresh cream cakes namely the blackforest cakes was the sign of the 80s.
And strangely now late 90s to now 2000s, the butter cream cakes made a comeback in the form of smaller cut cakes.
I've yet to find really good cream horns, unless the basement bakery shop in Katong Shopping centre decides to make them. And their timing is irregular.
Just go to a private dentist, it will help to save your tooth.
Red House Bakery used to be at the junction of Bras Basah Road and Victoria Street. Their custard bread is cheap and good. Others' ok only lah. The old lady boss always played mahjong with my mum.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Banks using bhai jaga who are allowed to sleep on the job in their comfortable 'chapoi' bed
Reminds me of the commercial of Chartered Bank slogan then.
Big, Strong & Friendly.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Just go to a private dentist, it will help to save your tooth.
Red House Bakery used to be at the junction of Bras Basah Road and Victoria Street. Their custard bread is cheap and good. Others' ok only lah. The old lady boss always played mahjong with my mum.
I know lah. Looking to extract liao lah. Saving it is going to be more troublesome.
Your time custard bread is good.
My time already, even the Ah Kun kaya Guyu roti toast was better then any of the pastries they have.
For still truly authentic old style baked breads....can still go to the shop at Whampoa , junction of Balestier Road at 5am in the morning for fresh bread.
But even they raised their prices and lessen their fillings. One late night motorcycle ride there to eat their fresh baked bread with char siew filling.........I only kinda only had a bread soaked in char siew sauce and 3 miserly tiny piece of minced meat.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:I know lah. Looking to extract liao lah. Saving it is going to be more troublesome.
Your time custard bread is good.
My time already, even the Ah Kun kaya Guyu roti toast was better then any of the pastries they have.
For still truly authentic old style baked breads....can still go to the shop at Whampoa , junction of Balestier Road at 5am in the morning for fresh bread.
But even they raised their prices and lessen their fillings. One late night motorcycle ride there to eat their fresh baked bread with char siew filling.........I only kinda only had a bread soaked in char siew sauce and 3 miserly tiny piece of minced meat.
Ah Kun kaya standard dropped too much. I now depend on my sis to make some.
Not familiar with Balestier.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Ah Kun kaya standard dropped too much. I now depend on my sis to make some.
Not familiar with Balestier.
All commercialised liao.
How's your stomach with a slice of butter melted into your coffee at Ah Kuns?
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
All commercialised liao.How's your stomach with a slice of butter melted into your coffee at Ah Kuns?
Old time when Ah Kun at Telok Ayer Market isn't that good to start with. There are so many coffee stalls there which are much better. Only Ah Kun commercialise successfully.
There are still many good coffee around, so I don't go to Ah Kun at all.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Old time when Ah Kun at Telok Ayer Market isn't that good to start with. There are so many coffee stalls there which are much better. Only Ah Kun commercialise successfully.
There are still many good coffee around, so I don't go to Ah Kun at all.
They worked on novelty. And then the franchising.
I didnt exactly take coffee, and grandma's house at race course road has a coffee roaster shop next door, so I get to smell local coffee often enough. Mountains of them coffee grounded laid on the plastic canvas on the uneven sand floor walked till so smooth like big river pebbles lining the floors.
And the machines like cement mixers roasting the coffee.......
Reminds me of a poster I read, I think is Ah Yat Coffee shop at Jurong West MRT station: 'Screw the coffee press, we have the socks.' Was hilarious enough.
Most youngsters nowadays probably wont understand about the socks. They may not even have seen the folks behind the counters of such Ah Yat or Ah Kun kopi shops using the socks.
Originally posted by viciouskitty74:
They worked on novelty. And then the franchising.I didnt exactly take coffee, and grandma's house at race course road has a coffee roaster shop next door, so I get to smell local coffee often enough. Mountains of them coffee grounded laid on the plastic canvas on the uneven sand floor walked till so smooth like big river pebbles lining the floors.
And the machines like cement mixers roasting the coffee.......
Reminds me of a poster I read, I think is Ah Yat Coffee shop at Jurong West MRT station: 'Screw the coffee press, we have the socks.' Was hilarious enough.
Most youngsters nowadays probably wont understand about the socks. They may not even have seen the folks behind the counters of such Ah Yat or Ah Kun kopi shops using the socks.
I know a lot about coffee. As a boy, I was taught the different grades of coffee and what sort of coffee, from different production areas from my Indian neighbour, a coffee merchant.
Later in life got to know an Austrian coffee expert that teach me how to make the different blends.
Irony. My prefer drink is tea!![]()